May 14th, 2013

The Votes Are in! CNN iReport announces award recipients

CNN iReport reveals the honorees for the 3rd Annual CNN iReport Awards which recognize outstanding contributions to the network’s global participatory news community.  Representing a mix of punditry, videos and emotional personal essays, recipients have been chosen from more than 100,000 iReports submitted in 2012. The honorees were determined by a combination of an esteemed panel of judges, online voters and the CNN iReport staff.

Also, for the first time ever, the iReport team unveils honorees in a new category called Excellence on the Web, highlighting examples of the best in citizen journalism outside of iReport in 2012.

…and the honorees are:

Category Recipients

Breaking News

Egyptian Revolution Rages On, Hasan Amin

Original Reporting

One Breath – Story of a free diver, Nicolas Rossier


My Tribute to those lost in Newtown, Richard Huffman

Compelling Imagery

Secret lives of swimmers, Judy Starkman

Personal Story

I speak about autism because I can, Sam Wessels

In-depth Storytelling

Superstorm Sandy stories, Carlos Chiossone

Community Choice

The shoe cobbler, Erik Olsen

CNN iReport Spirit Honorees

Jannet Walsh

Misael Rincón

Rachel Cauvin

Jim Jorstad

Lia Ocampo

Jim Brenneman
Excellence on the Web

Jersey Shore Hurricane News: Justin Auciello, Facebook

@aiww: Ai Weiwei, Twitter

SyrianDeveloper: Mike Blackhatoviche, Instagram

San Diego fireworks, loud and up close: Dan W. Roy, YouTube

Humans of New York: Hurricane Sandy: Brandon Stanton, Tumblr

Wright’s Law: Zach Conkle, Vimeo