PREVIEW: CNN INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMME INFORMATION WEEKS 33 & 34
Japanese chef Shinobu Namae featured in August's episode of 'Culinary Journeys'
July 29th, 2016
07:07 AM ET

PREVIEW: CNN INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMME INFORMATION WEEKS 33 & 34

Culinary Journeys: Shinobu Namae

Thursday 18 August at 0930 BST / 1030 CET

Friday 19 August at 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Saturday 20 August at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET

Saturday 27 August at 1230 BST / 1330 CET

Sunday 28 August at 0530 BST / 0630 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In August, ‘Culinary Journeys’ explores Japan's rich history of hospitality with two Michelin-star chef, Shinobu Namae (pictured).

One of the traditions at the heart of Japanese hospitality is the tea ceremony. Namae has introduced this ritual at his own Tokyo restaurant, L'Effervescence, and he meets with a tea master to understand the significance of this ritual.

‘Culinary Journeys’ travels with Namae to Japan's original capital, Kyoto ,which still remains a cultural cornerstone of the country. Alongside tea producer Marukyu Koyamaen, Namae tastes the highest quality green powdered tea known as Matcha, as he learns about the delicate balance it takes to grow the best tea possible.

As tea is such an integral part of the traditional multicourse meal known as Kaiseki, Namae visits famed chefs Yoshihiro Takahashi and Hisato Nakahigashi to discover how tapping into seasonality is part of creating unforgettable culinary experiences for their guests.

Namae then returns to Tokyo to visit Terada Honke, a sake brewery that has been in operation for more than 300 years. As Namae picnics amongst the rice fields with friends, he honours the ingredients and craftsmanship of Japan with a childhood favourite food and a final cup of Matcha tea.

#CNNFood
#CNNTravel
http://edition.cnn.com/specials/travel/journeys
@Namae_San
Namaesan on Instagram

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

David in cave

CNN International's David McKenzie exploring the Grootboom Cave

Wednesday 17 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 20 August at 0630 BST / 0730 CET

Sunday 21 August at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Saturday 27 August at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Sunday 28 August at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In August, ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ reports from Johannesburg, South Africa, exploring the Grootboom Cave, just outside the city.

The path to the caves is slow and cumbersome, hindered by head-to-toe protective suits. As David McKenzie (pictured) discovers, the suits are the only things standing between safety and exposure as thousands of bats live inside the cave.

As the Grootboom Cave is so close to Johannesburg, any number of the bats could potentially be carrying a deadly pathogen. Known as zoonotic, these are diseases that can jump from animals to humans, which are responsible for viruses like SARS and MERS.

McKenzie also visits the CDC Headquarters in Pretoria.

At a time where international travel has connected the world more than ever before, it takes a coordinated, global effort to prevent a widespread outbreak. McKenzie hears about the CDC’s work in following virus hunters as they work to protect members of the public.

cnn.com/vital-signs
@DrSanjayGupta
@McKenzieCNN

Open Court

Agassi_1

Eight-time Grand Slam winner, Andre Agassi, speaks to 'Open Court'

Thursday 18 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 20 August at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 21 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 27 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 28 August at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

‘Open Court’ in August prepares for the final grand slam of the year, the US Open by interviewing two champions who have lifted the trophy at Flushing Meadows.

Hosted by Pat Cash, ‘Open Court’ in August prepares for the final grand slam of the year, the US Open interviewing two champions who have lifted the trophy at Flushing Meadows.

‘Open Court’ sits down for a rare interview in Croatia with two-time US Open winner and Grand Slam great Andre Agassi (pictured). Ten years on since his retirement, the programme catches up with Agassi to see how he’s adjusted to life off the court.

The programme also speaks to Agassi’s wife, 22-time Grand Slam winner and five-time US Open Champion, Steffi Graf.

Speaking on the sidelines of the Rio Olympics, ‘Open Court’ hears Graf’s thoughts on Serena Williams’ attempts to break the record they both currently share.

In New York, ‘Open Court’ visits one of the US Open’s original courts at Forest Hill in Queens, where the tournament was held until 1978.

‘Open Court’ travels to Rhode Island to see first-hand how the US Open trophies are made, following the process from start to finish.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash
#CNNOpenCourt
@AndreAgassi
@USOpen
@OfficialSteffiGraf

The Circuit

Rio Preview

Manor F1 driver Rio Haryanto

Friday 19 August at 1630 BST / 1730 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET

Saturday 20 August at 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 21 August at 0130 BST / 0230 CET

Tuesday 23 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET

Wednesday 24 August at 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

With the summer break in Formula One now on, ‘The Circuit’ in August recaps on the season so far featuring former drivers David Coulthard and Mark Webber, who give their own personal highlights.

The programme meets Indonesia’s first ever Formula One driver Rio Haryanto (pictured), who reveals some unique challenges that come with the achievement.

‘The Circuit’ also profiles the mechanics, often unsung heroes in the sport, who’ve been working their magic at Haas F1 in Oxfordshire, England.

The programme also looks ahead to one of the most iconic races on the Formula One calendar, the Belgian Grand Prix at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, through the lens of F1 photographer Darren Heath.

@AmandaJDavies
#CNNTheCircuit
cnn.com/motorsport/
@TheRealDCF1
@AussieGrit
@RHaryantoracing
@HaasF1Team
@F1Photographer

Eco Solutions

(Photo by Mario Proenca/Bloomberg via Getty Images)

The Alqueva Dam in Portugal (Photo by Mario Proenca/Bloomberg via Getty Images)

Saturday 20 August at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Sunday 21 August at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Wednesday 24 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 / 1830 CET

Saturday 27 August at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Sunday 28 August at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

CNN International’s new series ‘Eco Solutions’, explores the innovations helping to counter the world’s rapidly growing effects on the environment.

Hosted by Isa Soares, the second episode of the series focuses on Portugal, a country using unique energy production methods.

In May 2016, the Portuguese nation ran for four and a half days using clean energy alone. Replacing finite fossil fuels and its carbon emissions is a long-held goal of global governments, and some nations are blessed with an abundance of natural resources.

Portugal shines because it is turning its fortunes around: huge investment in onshore wind and hydro has buoyed the network.

‘Eco Solutions’ visits the Alqueva Dam where green energy is stored and released on demand, ensuring a seamless supply of renewable energy when all sectors are firing.

‘Eco Solutions’ also meets the people behind Coopérnico, a solar cooperative encouraging individuals to install solar panels. The dream is that the summer sun will help power the Portuguese into a brighter future, even exporting clean energy to its neighbours.

www.cnn.com/ecosolutions
@IsaCNN

Make Create Innovate

NakaMats20

Inventor Yoshiro Nakamatsu (pictured, top row and centre)

Saturday 20 August at 1345 BST / 1445 CET

Sunday 21 August at 0115 BST / 0215 CET; 0645 BST / 0745 CET and 1945 BST / 2045 CET

Monday 22 August at 0215 BST / 0315 CET

Wednesday 24 August at 1045 BST / 1145 CET and 1745 BST / 1845 CET

Saturday 27 August at 0645 BST / 0745 CET and 1945 BST / 2045 CET

Sunday 28 August at 0115 BST / 0215 CET and 1345 BST / 1445 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

In August, ‘Make Create Innovate’ reports from Japan, perhaps the most inventive country in the world.

The programme meets the nation’s most prolific inventor; Yoshiro Nakamatsu (pictured, top row and centre), also known as Dr. NakaMats.

The 88-year old scientist-turned-inventor has more than 3000 patents to his name including the floppy disk and the kerosene pump. After being diagnosed with cancer, Nakamatsu is now trying to invent his way out of his illness.

‘Make Create Innovate’ learns that Nakamatsu has once again turned to his creative mind by devising his own treatment regime, whilst looking to help educate the next generation of Japanese inventors.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate
#MakeCreateInnovate

Winning Post

Aly + Gerhard Schöningh owner of Hoppegarten

'Winning Post' host Aly Vance with Gorlsdorf owner Gerhard Schöningh

Saturday 20 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 21 August at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Thursday 25 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 27 August at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 28 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In August, ‘Winning Post’ experiences the splendour of the Hoppegarten in Germany, host to the prestigious Grosser Preis von Berlin. A highlight of the German racing calendar, this is where Germany's horse lovers descend on mass to the beautiful, lush green race track.

Located just outside the capital city, the track has been home to some of the greatest racing classics since 1868. Since German reunification in 1990 its fortunes have been mixed, but new investment has emerged and host Aly Vance (pictured, right) meets the old and new guard of the track as they come together to put the Hoppegarten back on the racing map.

‘Winning Post’ also reports from Gorlsdorf, one of Germany’s oldest studs to meet the owners, the Bischoff family, spending time with Gerhard Schöningh (pictured, left), a London based German banker, the new owner.

Vance meets one of Germany’s most up-and-coming jockeys, Dennis Schiergen who explains his love of the track alongside Artur Boehlke, who began work as a messenger at Hoppegarten in 1948.  Boehlke explains how life used to be in the former German Democratic Republic to Vance.

@AlyVance1
@CNNWinningPost
CNN.com/WinningPost
@Renntag
@DennisSchiergen

tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.