PREVIEW: CNN INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMME INFORMATION WEEKS 29 & 30
'Winning Post' host Aly Vance at Chantilly
June 30th, 2016
12:07 PM ET

PREVIEW: CNN INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMME INFORMATION WEEKS 29 & 30

Winning Post

Saturday 23 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 24 July at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Thursday 28 July at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 30 July at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 31 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

‘Winning Post’ in July, hosted by Aly Vance (pictured) examines the heartlands of racing, questioning what it is that sets Ascot, Chantilly and Newmarket apart.

The five days of Royal Ascot attract racing enthusiasts from around the globe and, whilst it has never claimed to be a ‘Heartland of Racing’ as such, it is considered by most to be the most prestigious meet of the year.

A national institution, with Queen Elizabeth II in attendance every day, Vance examines how Royal Ascot became the centrepiece of the British social calendar and a spectacle of fashion and style.

‘Winning Post’ looks at the highlight of the final day’s racing, one of the world’s greatest international sprint races – the Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

Chantilly is known as the ‘Capital of the Horse’ and this is down not just to the area’s prevalent history but also the extensive areas of the region set aside exclusively for the training of thoroughbred racehorses.

Vance visits the Grand Stables, next to the Chateau Chantilly, to discover more about the area’s racing origins, before reporting from Chantilly’s most glamorous race of the year, the all-fillie Prix de Diane.

Post-race day, Vance also catches up with well-known local French trainer Nicolas Clement, to find out what it is about the region’s facilities that makes it one of the world’s best training centres.

‘Winning Post’ also reports from Newmarket, a place which calls itself the birthplace of thoroughbred horse racing. The programme compares the training facilities with those in Chantilly by attending the renowned Jockey School, where Vance goes out on the gallops with a group of students.

Vance picks up some riding tips before attending the final day of the July Festival for the Darley July Cup, whose winner is often acknowledged to be the best sprinter in Europe.

@AlyVance1

@CNNWinningPost

CNN.com/WinningPost

@Ascot

@NewmarketRace

@FranceGalop

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Sanjay getting in 1953 Chevy

Wednesday 20 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 23 July at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Sunday 24 July at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Saturday 30 July at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Sunday 31 July at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

In July, ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ reports from Havana, Cuba, a place synonymous with classic cars, architecture, music, and increasingly, healthcare.

Host Dr. Sanjay Gupta (pictured, right) travels to Havana to learn more about the Cuban healthcare system as US-Cuba relations improve, and examining how the future could potentially benefit both nations.

Despite being one of the poorest countries in the world, Cuba's healthcare is relatively strong in many ways. From a big emphasis on screenings and preventative care, to vaccine innovations, ‘Vital Signs’ learns that Cuba has a lot to offer the medical field.

Gupta explores day-to-day healthcare by doing the rounds with a family doctor through the streets of Havana's historical neighbourhoods and then tours the city in a classic American car.

‘Vital Signs’ also visits the Center for Molecular Immunology, where Gupta meets researchers who have created CimaVax, a lung cancer vaccine which has sparked interest in the United States.

cnn.com/vital-signs

@DrSanjayGupta

Make, Create, Innovate

MCI CERN

Saturday 23 July at 1345 BST / 1445 CET

Sunday 24 July at 0115 BST / 0215 CET; 0645 BST / 0745 CET and 1945 BST / 2045 CET

Monday 25 July at 0215 BST / 0315 CET

Wednesday 27 July at 1045 BST / 1145 CET and 1745 BST / 1845 CET

Saturday 30 July at 0645 BST / 0745 CET and 1945 BST / 2045 CET

Sunday 31 July at 0115 BST / 0215 CET and 1345 BST / 1445 CET

Duration: 15 Minutes

In July, ‘Make, Create, Innovate’ reports from Geneva, Switzerland, to visit the heart of the most famous and probably least understood scientific research centre in the world – CERN.

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ delves into the very heart of the Large Hadron Collider to meet the scientists behind one of the biggest discoveries of the past 10 years, the Higgs Boson.

The programme explores how the science at CERN is spanning out into the wider world, and gets a sneak peek at their new focus – an enigmatic substance they think could unravel the mysteries of the universe.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate

#MakeCreateInnovate

@CERN

Open Court

(Credit: Leon Neal/AFP/Getty Images)

(Credit: Leon Neal/AFP/Getty Images)

Thursday 21 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 23 July at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST and 2330 CET

Sunday 24 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 30 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 31 July at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

The best tennis players in the world will soon be on their way to Rio for the Olympic Games.

In July, ‘Open Court’ previews the tournament from the host city.

Host Pat Cash takes a tour of the Olympic Tennis Center, seeing first hand where the players will compete for Olympic glory.

The matches will be held within an arena named after Brazil’s best-ever female player, Maria Bueno. Cash catches up with the 76-year-old Grand Slam champion, who reveals how important it is to see the Olympics – and tennis – come to Brazil.

‘Open Court’ also hears from Teliana Pereira, who is currently Brazil’s highest ranked female player.

Many of the biggest names in tennis have competed on the Olympic stage.

‘Open Court’ hears from gold medallists Andy Murray, Stan Wawrinka, Venus Williams, Serena Williams, Andre Agassi and Steffi Graf on what winning gold meant to their careers.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

@cnnopencourt

@TheRealPatCash

#CNNOpenCourt

@TelianaPereira

CNN World Rugby

(Credit: Patrick Hamilton/AFP/Getty Images)

(Credit: Patrick Hamilton/AFP/Getty Images)

Friday 29 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET

Saturday 30 July at 0300 BST / 0400 CET and 1430 BST / 1530 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

In July’s edition of ‘CNN World Rugby’, all eyes are on the Olympics in Rio as the programme looks at the final preparations ahead of Rugby Sevens' debut at the Games.

‘CNN World Rugby’ focuses on the hopes for Fiji, the favourites and number one seeds. The programme gets a slice of life on the Fijian islands with Ben Ryan (pictured, centre) and his team as they prepare to make history.

‘CNN World Rugby’ also follows Team GB as they try to combine three nations into one, to make the Brits a force to be reckoned with at the Games.

#CNNWorldRugby

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/sport/world-rugby

@BenjaminRyan

@FijiRugby

 


Topics: CNN • CNN International • CNN Preview • Sanjay Gupta
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.