February 15th, 2016
07:48 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 9 and 10

Sydney In 24 Hours

Surfer Stephanie Gilmore with 'In 24 Hours' host James Williams

Surfer Stephanie Gilmore with 'In 24 Hours' host James Williams

Wednesday 2 March at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 5 March at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Sunday 6 March at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Saturday 12 March at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Sunday 13 March at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1830 GMT / 1930 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

The journey to Sydney can be long for many global travellers, but the city sure knows how to make it work it; a metropolis uniquely laid back and luxurious all at the same time

In the fourth episode of CNN’s travel series, ‘In 24 Hours’, host James Williams (pictured right) unveils some unique destinations which the city has to offer.

As morning dawns, Williams sets sail with the winner of the 2015 Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, Paul Clitheroe and his crew while taking in a perfect Sydney sunrise in the harbour.

From boat to car, Williams experiences a ride in a 1977 Porsche 911 Carrera taking in the scenery while driving the cult classic through some of Sydney's most beautiful locations.

Such unique modes of transport may not compare with hands-on experience of some of Australia's most unique animals at the Symbio Wildlife Park. There, Williams meets famed koala Imogen, who became an international sensation in 2015 when a video of her eating eucalyptus leaves went viral.

In the afternoon, Williams is beach bound to meet CEO of Australian hospitality industry company Merivale, Justin Hemmes. With a fortune estimated in the millions, Hemmes had his hand in shaping the social scene of Sydney. Accompanying Hemmes, Williams learns both the business and creative process which went behind one of his latest establishments, Coogee Pavilion.

Next, what could be more Australian than surfing? Six-time world champion Stephanie Gilmore gives Williams a one-on-one surf lesson on Sydney's world famous Bondi Beach.

In the evening, Williams visits Sydney's ultimate icon, the Opera House. There, he goes beyond any chef's table and steps into the kitchen with famed chef Peter Gilmore at his new restaurant, Bennelong. Williams concludes ‘Sydney in 24 Hours’ with a customised behind-the-scenes tour of the Opera House with special surprises around every corner.

#CNNTravel

@Steph_gilmore

https://www.instagram.com/jameswilliamscnn/

https://www.instagram.com/cnntravel/?hl=en

@justinhemmes

https://www.facebook.com/symbiozoo/?fref=nf

 

Living Golf

‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue at the 16th hole at the Phoenix Open

‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue at the 16th hole at the Phoenix Open

Thursday 3 March at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 5 March at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 6 March at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 12 March 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Sunday 13 March 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 2130 GMT / 2230 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In March, 'Living Golf' reports from Scottsdale, Arizona for the craziest week on the golfing calendar, the PGA Tour’s Phoenix Open.

With over 500,000 spectators expected, it’s the most attended event in the game. The tournament is especially famous for the 16th hole (pictured), a par 3 surrounded by thousands of vociferous fans which creates an atmosphere unlike at any other golf event.

‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue finds out what makes the so-called ‘greatest show on grass’ so different.

O’Donoghue catches up with Phil Mickelson, ex-Arizona State alumni and three-time Phoenix Open winner, to get his thoughts on the event and the region.

With almost guaranteed sunshine and over 200 courses in the area, there are few better locations in the world to play golf. Courses weave through deserts, cacti and mountain ranges to produce an aesthetic like no other in the game. O’Donoghue joins golf travel writer Joe Passov to play Boulders, one of the standout clubs in Scottsdale.

Arizona is home to a vibrant Native American community who have used golf to its advantage. In building courses on tribal lands, profits are ploughed back into development programmes. O’Donoghue meets a tribal leader at We-Ko-Pa Golf Club to see how communities are benefiting from the game.

O’Donoghue also visits Topgolf in Scottsdale, one of 30 driving ranges across the US which are transforming how today’s generation play the game. With a focus on entertainment, music, food and drink, nearly 500,000 people visited a Topgolf venue in 2015, hitting over 22 million balls. O’Donoghue joins the millennials to see what makes this type of golf so attractive.

Unsurprisingly, many professional golfers have decided to base themselves in Scottsdale. O’Donoghue heads to the home of one such player, two-time major winner Cristie Kerr to find out about her life away from the tour.

 @CNNLivingGolf

@ShaneODonoghue

cnn.com/golf/

@MickelsonHat

@joepassov

@WMPhoenixOpen

@CKGolferChic

 

The Circuit

In March, 'The Circuit' host Amanda Davies visits Renault's French HQ

'The Circuit' host Amanda Davies visits Renault's French HQ

Friday 11 March at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET and 2330 GMT / 0030 CET

Saturday 12 March at 2030 GMT / 2130 CET

Sunday 13 March at 0130 GMT / 0230 CET

Tuesday 15 March at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET

Wednesday 16 March at 0330 GMT / 0430 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In March, ‘The Circuit’ goes behind-the-scenes of Renault to preview the season, as its former champions prepare for their return to the grid in 2016.

‘The Circuit’ has been granted exclusive access to Renault’s French HQ. Host Amanda Davies meets Renault’s new drivers Kevin Magnussen and Jolyon Palmer and accompanies them on a tour of their top-secret engine department.

The programme also looks ahead to the first race in Melbourne, Australia, with Red Bull’s former Australian F1 driver Mark Webber.

@JolyonPalmer

@KevinMagnussen

@RenaultSportF1

@AmandaJDavies

#CNNTheCircuit

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/motorsport/

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.