Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 7 and 8
CNN’s ‘Winning Post’ is joined by British sports presenter and journalist Aly Vance (nee Rowell) as the new host of the network’s monthly flat-racing show.
February 2nd, 2016
06:37 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 7 and 8

Winning Post

New 'Winning Post' host Aly Vance

New 'Winning Post' host Aly Vance

Saturday 20 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Sunday 21 February at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Thursday 25 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 27 February at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 28 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

 

Duration: 30 Minutes

 

In February, CNN’s ‘Winning Post’ is joined by British sports presenter and journalist Aly Vance (nee Rowell) as the new host of the network’s monthly flat-racing show.

In her first programme as host, Vance (pictured) explores horse racing in South Africa, reporting from the continent’s newest and richest horse race, the CTS Million Dollar and the long-running J&B Met: races as famous for haute couture as the horses themselves.

The programme also visits an eco-equine estate; golfer Gary Player’s stud farm and goes frog-hunting at the nature reserve that envelopes SA’s oldest race course, Kenilworth.

‘Winning Post’ also witnesses top South African trainer Justin Snaith giving his famous charge, Futura, a work-out on Cape Town’s golden sands.

@AlyVance1

@CNNWinningPost

CNN.com/winningpost

 

Make Create Innovate

Future of Fish Stocks / Credit: JOE KLAMAR / Getty

Future of Fish Stocks / Credit: JOE KLAMAR / Getty

Saturday 20 February at 1345 GMT / 1445 CET

Sunday 21 February at 0115 GMT / 0215 CET and 0645 GMT / 0745 CET and 1945 GMT / 2045 CET

Monday 22 February at 0215 GMT / 0315 CET

Wednesday 24 February at 1045 GMT / 1145 CET and 1745 GMT / 1845 CET

Saturday 27 February at 0645 GMT / 0745 CET and 1945 GMT / 2045 CET

Sunday 28 February at 0115 GMT / 0215 CET and 1345 GMT / 1445 CET

Monday 29 February at 0215 GMT / 0315 CET

 

Duration: 15 Minutes

 

This month, ‘Make Create Innovate’ explores how food and technology is changing the way people eat.

Dan Watson is a 30 year-old mechanical engineer-turned-product designer based in London. Watson has developed an innovative approach to help solve a growing problem of sustainability in fish stocks. His nets contain special portals which attract undesirable fish and those from endangered lists using special wavelengths of light. These fish are then able to escape the net and help replenish the population.

The programme also reports from Barcelona, Spain, to explore how food-preneur, Marius Robles and his Re-Imagine X group, are re-imagining the future of food with everything from 3D printed meals to a nutrition paste that could replace normal meals.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/tech/make-create-innovate

 

CNN On The Road India

Mumbai, India / Credit: Gareth Copley / Staff

Mumbai, India / Credit: Gareth Copley / Staff

Friday 26 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 27 February at 1430 GMT / 1530 CET and 2030 GMT / 2130 CET

Sunday 28 February at 0130 GMT / 0230 CET

Monday 29 February at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Tuesday 1 March at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Wednesday 2 March at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET and 0930 GMT / 1030 CET

 

Duration: 30 Minutes

 

CNN's ‘On the Road’ series explores the culture, heritage and customs of countries across the world. From popular culture and cuisine to design, innovation and technology, the series highlights the qualities and attitudes that make each country unique.

In February, ‘On the Road’ visits India, a country where even a lifetime of journeys would not be enough to take it all in.

‘On the Road India’ embarks on a journey to explore the country’s future by meeting some of the children who will build it. India arguably has the world’s greatest endowment: the largest number of children and youth anywhere in the world.

The programme ventures through schools and temples, cricket grounds and Bollywood to meet young Indians shaping what will soon become the youngest country on earth.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/world/on-the-road

 

CNN World Rugby

Sonny Bill Williams / Credit: Shaun Botterill / Getty

Sonny Bill Williams / Credit: Shaun Botterill / Getty

Friday 19 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET

Saturday 20 February at 0300 GMT / 0400 CET and 1430 GMT / 1530 CET

Monday 22 February at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Tuesday 23 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Wedneday 24 February at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET

 

Duration: 30 Minutes

 

CNN International’s new series ‘CNN World Rugby’ takes viewers on a global journey through all aspects of the sport, with host Alex Thomas travelling far and wide to seek out stories from grassroots rugby while also meeting stars of game.

The second programme of the series comes from Australia and New Zealand, with events in Wellington and Sydney.

‘CNN World Rugby’ in February keeps an eye on the stars of the 15-man game – including the All Blacks’ Sonny Bill Williams (pictured) and the Wallabies’ Quade Cooper – as they begin their transitions into the lung-busting sevens format.

The programme also looks at some of the rule changes being considered for the sport and asks whether the 6-point try is on the horizon.

@alexthomascnn

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/sport/world-rugby

@SonnyBWilliams

@QuadeCooper

@chrissymacCNN

 

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

‘'Vital Signs' host Dr. Sanjay Gupta

‘'Vital Signs' host Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Wednesday 17 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 20 February at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Sunday 21 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Saturday 27 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Sunday 28 February at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

 

Duration: 30 Minutes

 

In February, ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ investigates the world of animal-assisted therapy. From lowering stress and anxiety to reducing the risk of heart disease, a host of animals have been scientifically proven to help human health.

The programme meets Casper, a dog who works with countless doctors and nurses who tend to sick children. Dr. Gupta (pictured left) sees first-hand how the dog supports the needs of patients at the Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta, Georgia, where he is based.

The programme also reports from Medical Detection Dogs, an organisation based in Buckinghamshire, England. ‘Vital Signs’ sees how dogs are trained to use their powerful scent of smell to help doctors detect cancer.

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/specials/vital-signs

@drsanjaygupta

 

The Silk Road: Past Present Future

Venice, 'The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future'

Venice, 'The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future'

Thursday 18 February at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET

Friday 19 February at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Saturday 20 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET

Saturday 27 February at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Sunday 28 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET

Monday 29 February at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET

 

Duration: 30 minutes

 

In February, ‘The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ concludes its nine-month journey along the old caravan routes between China and Italy.

For the past nine months, ‘The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ has been on a journey of breath-taking beauty east to west – re-tracing the route and visiting some of the historic hubs of trade. From silk farms in China to Turkey’s olive groves, the programme has examined how these places have not only survived but indeed thrived, now centres for innovation and modern exchange.

The journey comes to an end in Italy, a country once made rich from its maritime trade.

The final voyage beings in Venice, the birthplace of merchants like Marco Polo whose exotic tales from the east strengthened trade all those centuries ago. The programme meets the engineers behind the Italian technology that’s saving the ‘floating city’ from flooding.

The programme travels to Lake Como, a town still famous for the precious commodity the Chinese merchants first traded – silk. Today, 85 per cent of Italy’s silk and around 70 per cent of Europe’s silk is made in Como. ‘The Silk Road’ visits a silk production factory which supplies to brands such as Valentino and Salvatore Ferragamo to see how business has evolved and finds out more about Italy’s vision to rejuvenate the industry and breed locally-grown silk worms.

‘The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ climaxes in Milan, business capital of Italy. In 2015, and for the second time in its history, Milan hosted Expo, a World Fair for countries all over the world to share ideas and knowledge. 140 countries came to the Milan Expo to show off ideas like the supermarket of the future and the world’s first algae canopy – an alternative food source for the worlds growing population. It’s a modern-day equivalent of the ancient exchange that took place along the old Silk Road all those centuries ago, the ultimate manifestation of a cultural and commercial exchange of ideas.

cnn.com/thesilkroad

@silkroadcnn

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.