CNN International adds Rugby and Formula E shows to its sports line-up
January 22nd, 2016
06:17 AM ET

CNN International adds Rugby and Formula E shows to its sports line-up

CNN International is launching two new action-packed monthly shows on Formula E and rugby – CNN’s Supercharged and World Rugby shows. These programmes will extend the network’s wide range of premium sports coverage spanning golf, sailing, horse racing, equestrianism, skiing, Formula 1 and tennis as well as comprehensive sports news in the flagship CNN World Sport.  

World Rugby on CNN will take viewers on a global journey through all aspects of the sport.  As Rugby Sevens prepares for its Olympics debut in Brazil in August, presenters Alex Thomas and Christina Macfarlane will follow the contenders throughout the Sevens World Series during a series of fast-paced tournaments in Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the U.S., Hong Kong, Singapore, France and England. The show will also include the 15-a-side game, its major competitions and the continued development of women’s rugby. The show will travel far and wide to seek out stories from grassroots rugby as well as meet the stars of the sport. The first monthly show, airing on 23 January, will feature a look ahead to the rugby year and follow the road to Rio from the tiny Scottish town of Melrose, where the game of Rugby Sevens was created by a local butcher in the 19th century.

“After a very successful CNN run during the 2015 Rugby World Cup, we’re pleased to relaunch the World Rugby show with a broader view for 2016, a year that marks rugby’s return to the Olympic Games,” said Bill Galvin, Senior Vice President of CNN Sports Programming and Development.  “The unquestioned growth of rugby across the globe creates a natural fit for CNN’s worldwide audience.  We look forward to capturing the spirit of the sport, from the pitch to the fan experience, from the local level to the major events.”

Supercharged brings a brand new sport to CNN International – the FIA Formula E Championship – the primary all-electric motorsport series and one of the most exciting new sports in the world. Fronted by tech and motorsport presenter Nicki Shields in her first role for CNN, the show will travel to some of the most glamourous cities in the world to get close to the action in the race-day paddock. Each show will feature highlights of the latest Formula E race but will venture beyond the circuit to focus on the cutting-edge sustainable technology powering the cars, how a new sport is being built from the ground up and the wider story of promoting cleaner practices in sport and the wider world. The series opener, airing on 13 February, will cover the Buenos Aires ePrix from Argentina and will welcome newcomers to the sport with an all-you-need–to–know briefing.

Segments from both shows will also air in CNN World Sport and be supplemented by extra coverage, interviews and explainers on motorsport and rugby microsites on CNN.com.

“CNN is as passionate about sports as our audience,” said Ellana Lee, Senior Vice President and Managing Editor, CNN International. “As two sports with a global footprint and bristling with interesting stories, rugby and Formula E are ideal additions to our pantheon of sports programming. Supercharged is a fascinating concept that combines coverage of Formula E with reportage on green tech and sustainability, while the World Rugby show will allow our viewers to experience everything that this exciting and growing sport has to offer. The combination of sports coverage with original reporting about everything from grassroots sport to tech innovation will be a winning formula.”

 

Episode one of CNN World Rugby airs at the following times on CNN International:

Saturday 23 January at 0300 GMT / 0400 CET and 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Sunday 24 January at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET

Monday 25 January at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET

Thursday 28 January at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET

Friday 29 January at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

 

Episode one of Supercharged airs at:

Saturday 13 February at 2030 GMT / 2130 CET

Sunday 14 February at 0130 GMT / 0230 CET and 0830 GMT / 0930 CET

Monday 15 February at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Tuesday 16 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET

Wednesday 17 February at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

 

Notes to Editors:

About CNN International

CNN’s portfolio of news and information services is available in seven different languages across all major TV, digital and mobile platforms reaching more than 400 million households around the globe. CNN International is the number one international TV news channel according to all major media surveys across Europe, the Middle East and Africa, the Asia Pacific region and Latin America and recently expanded its U.S. presence with its launch on CNNgo. CNN Digital is a leading network for online news, mobile news and social media. Over the years CNN has won multiple prestigious awards around the world for its journalism. CNN has 42 editorial offices and more than 1,100 affiliates worldwide through CNN Newsource.  CNN International is part of Turner, a Time Warner company.

 

For more information, please contact:

Dan Faulks

Director, Communications,

CNN, EMEA

Tel: + 44 20 7693 1362

dan.faulks@turner.com


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.