January 19th, 2016
12:33 PM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 5 and 6

Buenos Aires In 24 Hours

'In 24 Hours' host James Williams

'In 24 Hours' host James Williams

Wednesday 3 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 6 February at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Sunday 7 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Saturday 13 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Sunday 14 February at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

 

The Argentine capital, Buenos Aires, offers visitors a wealth of culture, history and luxury.

In the third episode of CNN’s new travel show, ‘In 24 Hours’, host James Williams (pictured) unveils the unique destinations that the city has to offer.

From sunrise to sunset and into the night, ‘In 24 Hours’ takes viewers to the places only a privileged few ever get to experience.

Williams begins his day immersed in the café culture of Buenos Aires, heading for coffee and breakfast at Café Tortoni. This French-style cafe opened in 1858, and has always been a favourite haunt of the cultural elite.

After breakfast, he takes a private helicopter ride, arriving in style at one of Argentina’s finest polo clubs, Puesto Viejo. Here, Williams gets a polo lesson from expert Santiago de Astrada on how to play one of Argentina’s most popular sports.

Next, a trip underground to the urban archaeology site, El Zanjon, to get a sense of the hidden and secret history behind Buenos Aires. ‘In 24 Hours’ dives into some of the myths and secrets of city’s past inhabitants with the man who discovered the site, Jorge Eckstein.

Wine is serious business in Argentina. It’s hard to find a more luxurious setting for a wine tasting in than one of the most beautiful gardens tucked away in Central Buenos Aires, Palacio Duhau. Chief sommelier Natalia Escudero guides Williams through the subtle differences in taste by region and with the influence of gold and crystal goblets.

Before heading out to sample the nightlife of Buenos Aires, Williams goes to Salon Berlin, for a classic haircut and shave from the one of the most sought-after barbers in Buenos Aires. One of the salon’s regulars, Francisco de Urquiza, joins Williams to discuss the evolving fashion and styles of Argentina.

To complete his evening, Williams joins fashion journalist Sofi Alurralde for an exclusive dining experience at the restaurant Tarquino, with acclaimed chef Dante Liporace.

The show also includes travel tips from Argentinian Ignacio “Nacho” Figueras, one of the highest ranked polo players in the world and the face of Ralph Lauren’s Black Label.

 @nachofigueras

#CNNTravel

https://www.instagram.com/cnntravel/

https://www.instagram.com/salonberlin/?hl=en

@CNNTravel

 

CNN Business Traveller  

'CNN Business Traveller' host Richard Quest

'CNN Business Traveller' host Richard Quest

Thursday 11 February at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET

Friday 12 February at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Saturday 13 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 5 March at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Sunday 6 March at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET

Monday 7 March at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

 

This month ‘CNN Business Traveller’ heads to the airport lounge to discover what is offered to travellers before they board their planes.

The lounge has become the ultimate place to spend time away from the hustle and bustle of busy main terminals. Flyers are able to pamper themselves with spa treatments, gourmet foods and hot showers.

From opulent and exclusive to the most innovative and inclusive, 'CNN Business Traveller' uncovers the airport lounge arms race which is bidding for traveller’s patronage. As some airlines step up their lounge services with private terminals, independent companies are also entering the market showing that the airport lounge is not only for the elite.

Turkish Airlines’ approach is explored by the programme: its lounge in Istanbul is one of the largest and most impressive in the world, boasting approximately 60,000 square feet for lounging, dining and entertainment. ‘CNN Business Traveller’ examines whether Turkish Airlines has found the perfect formula to keep passengers happy.

‘CNN Business Traveller’'s study of lounges also includes Cathay Pacific, whose re-branded facilities in Hong Kong are being leveraged as a branding tool. Lufthansa’s First-Class lounges in Frankfurt, meanwhile, are equipped with personal assistants and vehicles to take travellers straight to their planes.

The programme also meets Swiss Airlines’ CCO Markus Binkert, who reveals details of the company’s different lounges, from First Class to Business.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/business.traveller

@richardquest

@TurkishAirlines

@cathaypacific

@FlySWISS

 

Living Golf

‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue interviews the new CEO of the European Tour, Keith Pelley

The new CEO of the European Tour, Keith Pelley interview by‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue

Thursday 4 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 6 February at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 7 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 13 February 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Sunday 14 February 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

 

In February, ‘Living Golf’ reports from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, to cover the first big tournament of 2016, The EurAsia Cup featuring players from Europe and Asia.

The team format is a chance for Europe’s captain Darren Clarke (pictured) to test his leadership skills ahead of the all-important Ryder Cup in September. The programme meets the Northern Irish player to hear his views on captaincy and his plans in 2016.

While covering the tournament, ‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue interviews the new CEO of the European Tour, Keith Pelley. With fierce competition from the USA’s PGA Tour in terms of attracting players and prize money, Pelley has strong views on what both the Tour and the game need to do to compete in 2016.

The programme looks at the rise in the popularity of golf in Asia. The increased popularity of the game has generated a wealth of talent from the region. ‘Living Golf’ examines the reasons for this success in the pro game, with O’Donoghue meeting two of India’s greatest players, Jeev Milkha Singh and Anirban Lahiri.

The programme  has a particular focus on the development of Malaysia as a golf travel destination, and looks at how the country is attracting players in an increasingly crowded marketplace.

@DarrenClarke60

@anirbangolf

@CNNLivingGolf

@ShaneODonoghue

cnn.com/golf/

 

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.