January 8th, 2016
10:20 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 3 and 4

The Silk Road: Past, Present Future

‘The Silk Road’ goes behind the scenes at one of Turkey’s famous TV dramas, Paramparca

‘The Silk Road’ goes behind the scenes at one of Turkey’s famous TV dramas, Paramparca

Thursday 21 January at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET

Friday 22 January at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Saturday 23 January at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 30 January at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Sunday 31 January at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET

Monday 1 February at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

‘The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ continues its nine-month journey along the old caravan routes between China and Italy in January, this time exploring Turkey.

Straddling two continents, Turkey has always been a vital point of passage for goods passing between Asia and Europe. The old Silk Road has left its legacy in an economy dependent on international trade. Throughout the country – in agriculture, industry and media – a modern silk road has been forged, creating a new global market for Turkish products.

‘The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ heads to Bursa, the historic Ottoman capital, where its ancient silk market is still a bustling hub for textile commerce. Nowadays, Bursa is nicknamed the "Detroit of Turkey" as it is at the epicentre of Turkey’s booming auto manufacturing sector. ‘The Silk Road’ reports from the factory floor of Tofas – one of the biggest car plants in Bursa – manufacturing 1200 cars a day.

The programme travels to coastal Ayvalik and its beautiful hillside olive groves, to witness the olive harvest. As the pickers sing and dance, ‘The Silk Road’ discovers more about the ancient trade in olive oil and the new international market for olive oil soap.

The programme also visits Istanbul to experience a city electric with culture, both ancient and modern, filming behind the scenes at the production of one of Turkey’s famous TV dramas ‘Paramparca’, which stars Nurgül Yeşilçay (pictured). Second only to America, Turkish soap operas garner higher audience figures than any other nation. Hugely popular in Latin America, Asia and the Middle East, these shows are spreading Turkish culture along the old trade lines, but this time, broadcast into the homes of millions.

cnn.com/thesilkroad

@silkroadcnn

 

Open Court

Pat Cash with Lleyton Hewitt

Pat Cash with Lleyton Hewitt

Thursday 21 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT and 1830 CET

Saturday 23 January at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 24 January at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 30 January at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Sunday 31 January at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Tuesday 2 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

In January ‘Open Court’ gears up for the first grand slam of the season, the Australian Open.

The last time there was a home grown winner at the Australian Open was 1976 so Australia tennis fans are hungry for another.

‘Open Court’ examines the group of rising stars who could be good enough to win it, along with a nod to the past with Mark Edmondson, the last Australian to win the Open. Edmondson won the event in 1976 ranked 212th in the world, still the lowest-ranked winner of a Grand Slam tournament since the ATP rankings were introduced in 1973.

‘Open Court’ explores Edmondson’s victory when he beat the defending champion John Newcombe in what is considered one of the greatest upsets of all time.

The programme also catches up with Australian number ones Bernard Tomic and Samantha Stosur in Sydney, who hold the best chances for home success. Before the show finishes, host Pat Cash bids a personal farewell to Lleyton Hewitt (pictured right). The former world number one and two-time Grand Slam champion is finishing his tennis career with a 20th appearance at the Australian Open.

@lleytonhewitt

@bambamsam30

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

@cnnopencourt

@TheRealPatCash

#CNNOpenCourt

 

Vital Signs

Trek Medics in Tanzania

Trek Medics in Tanzania

Wednesday 20 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 23 January at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Sunday 24 January at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Saturday 30 January at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Sunday 31 January at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

In January, "Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta" explores the future of medicine in technology. In many ways, the future is already here. From drones delivering biological samples for testing to robots providing a virtual escape for sick children in the hospital, it’s clear that technology is already playing a big role in what’s next for medicine.

The programme meets Marko Hingi of the Tanzania Rural Health Movement to discover an example of technology being used alongside medicine. In Hingi’s hometown of Mwanza, Tanzania, traffic accidents are frequent and often fatal, but there is also poor emergency response infrastructure. When Hingi found out about “Beacon" and Trek Medics, he knew the technology could help. Beacon is a software program that provides the foundation for emergency response systems in places that don't have one, and it’s already saving lives.

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/specials/vital-signs

@drsanjaygupta

 

Make Create Innovate

MCI looks at the future of transport Credit: Christopher Furlong / GettyThe British Crown Prosecution Service have declared that the devices are illegal as they are are too unsafe to ride on the road, and too dangerous to ride on the pavement.

MCI looks at the future of transport Credit: Christopher Furlong / Getty

Saturday 23 January at 1345 GMT / 1445 CET

Sunday 24 January at 0115 GMT / 0215 CET and 0645 GMT / 0745 CET and 1945 GMT / 1845 CET

Monday 25 January at 0215 GMT / 0315 CET

Wednesday 27 January at 1045 GMT / 1145 CET and 1745 GMT / 1845 CET

Saturday 30 January at 0645 GMT / 0745 CET and 1945 GMT / 2045 CET

Sunday 31 January at 0115 GMT / 0215 CET and 1345 GMT / 1445 CET

Monday 1 February at 0215 GMT / 0315 CET

Duration: 15 Minutes

In January ‘Make Create Innovate’ examines the future of transport, exploring what the future of getting from A-to-B might look like.

Host Nick Glass meets Portuguese scientist and Chief Operating Officer of Tekever, Ricardo Mendes, who is developing a technology that could allow humans to operate planes, trains and automobiles using mind control.

The programme also reports from Germany to explore the lab of scientist Professor Ludwig Schultz from the Institute of Metallic Materials in Dresden. Schultz is working on Quantum Levitation which involves using liquid nitrogen to supercool superconductors, using them to allow a hover-board or even a train to levitate.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/

#MakeCreateInnovate

 

Winning Post

The Gran Premio Jose Pedro Ramirez features this week on ‘Winning Post’

The Gran Premio Jose Pedro Ramirez features this week on ‘Winning Post’

Saturday 23 January at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Sunday 24 January at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Thursday 28 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 30 January at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 31 January at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

This month ‘Winning Post’ reports from South America, a continent steeped in horse racing culture.

The Gran Premio Jose Pedro Ramirez is one of Uruguay’s greatest races. ‘Winning Post’ visits the racecourse Maronas to see the action before setting off on a journey across the continent to explore the region’s pedigree.

The journey includes a trip to one of Uruguay’s best horse-training facilities and a profile of Invasor, the most successful and well-known horse that has come from South America. The programme also visits Haras Cuatro Piedras, the breeding farm where Invasor is currently standing at stud.

@CNNWinningPost

CNN.com/winningpost

 

Leading Women

Nancy Pelosi Credit: Chip Somodevilla / Getty

Nancy Pelosi Credit: Chip Somodevilla / Getty

Saturday 23 January at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Sunday 24 January at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Duration: 15 Minutes

CNN’s ‘Leading Women’ connects viewers to extraordinary women of our time, meeting women at the top of their field, exploring their careers, lives and ideas.

This month, the programme profiles Nancy Pelosi, the Democratic Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Considered one of the most powerful women in American politics, Pelosi was the first female Speaker of the House and the first woman to be third in line for the presidency.

She shares with ‘Leading Women’ it is like wielding such political power and the added difficulties of doing what, she thinks, is best for the American people. Pelosi also opens up about the effects of growing up in the world of politics and how much the world’s children influence her role as a leader.

 @NancyPelosi

@CNNIwomen


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.