December 1st, 2015
12:18 PM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 50 and 52

Defining Moments 2015

Migrants arriving on Greek island of Kos. Credit: Dan Kitwood / Getty

Migrants arriving on Greek island of Kos. Credit: Dan Kitwood / Getty

Friday 25 December at 0100 GMT / 0200 CET and 0800 GMT / 0900 CET

Thursday 31 December at 1600 GMT / 1700 CET and 2300 GMT / 0000 CET

Friday 1 January at 0700 GMT / 0800 CET and 1400 GMT / 1500 CET and 1900 GMT / 2000 CET

Duration: 60 minutes

2015 has been another year of terror, as ISIS expands its reach beyond Iraq and Syria, staging attacks in Lebanon, Egypt and France. It was a year in which the Syrian refugee crisis intensified across Europe; in the U.S. there was victory for marriage equality and the start of 2016 presidential campaign. CNN has been there on the frontlines in Paris, Athens, Havana and across the globe, as every major event has unfolded. ‘Defining Moments’ looks back at the most riveting and talked about stories of the year.

CNN anchors and correspondents Michael Holmes, Isha Sesay, Robyn Curnow, Paula Newton and Samuel Burke reveal their own defining moments of the year, discussing the stories that moved them and the events that made 2015 another unforgettable year.

@IshaSesayCNN

@holmescnn

@RobynCurnowCNN

@paulanewtonCNN

@samuelcnn

 

CNN Republican Presidential Primary Debate

CNN GOP DEBATE

Wednesday 16 December at 0200 GMT / 0300 CET

In December, CNN hosts the fifth Republican presidential primary live debate held in Las Vegas.

The debate provides qualified Republican presidential candidates ample time to respond to questions about how they would govern as the next President of the United States and Commander-in-Chief.

The debate is moderated by CNN’s Wolf Blitzer, with CNN correspondent Dana Bash and talk radio host Hugh Hewitt serving as questioners.

@wolfblitzer

@DanaBashCNN

 

Fight for Freedom: Confronting Modern-Day Slavery

‘Fight for Freedom: Confronting Modern-Day Slavery’

‘Fight for Freedom: Confronting Modern-Day Slavery’

Thursday 31 December at 1100 GMT / 1200 CET and 2100 GMT and 2200 CET

Friday 1 January at 1600 GMT / 1700 CET

Saturday 2 January at 0100 GMT / 0200 CET

Duration: 60 minutes

In a special panel programme, Harvard University and the CNN Freedom Project join forces in the fight against human trafficking in America: 'Fight for Freedom: Confronting Modern-Day Slavery’.

Human trafficking is not an issue that happens “over there” – an evil afflicting the world’s developing nations. It is also rooted at the heart of the United States. There are currently tens of thousands of victims being held against their will across the U.S.

Bringing together five leading figures in the fight to end modern slavery, CNN’s Richard Quest moderates a discussion that examines the battle on the front lines of Main Street America. What is being done to put an end to this trade in human life? What is being done to dismantle the international networks that run this global criminal enterprise? What are the most effective ways to rescue and rehabilitate its victims?

Academy Award-winning actress and UNODC Goodwill Ambassador Mira Sorvino; Carr Center Program on Human Trafficking and Modern Slavery Director Siddharth Kara; Founder and CEO of Girls Educational and Mentoring Services Rachel Lloyd; Former U.S. Ambassador and Chair of Hunt Alternatives Swanee Hunt; and President of Commission United Against Human Trafficking Rosi Orozco all take part in the special panel event.

The Freedom Project is supported by The Essam and Dalal Obaid Foundation (EDOF).

@MiraSorvino

@richardquest

@siddharthkara

@GEMSGIRLS

@SwaneeHunt

@rosiorozco

@EDOForg

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/world/freedom-project

 

Open Court

Serena Williams and Caroline Wozniacki, Credit: CLAUS FISKER / Staff

Serena Williams and Caroline Wozniacki, Credit: Claus Fisker / Getty

Thursday 17 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT and 1830 CET

Saturday 19 December at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 20 December at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 27 December at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Sunday 28 December at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

As the tennis year draws to a close, ‘Open Court’ profiles two of the biggest names in the game: Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams (pictured left). Djokovic and Williams have dominated their respected 2015 seasons: both finished number one in the world and both won three majors each.

‘Open Court’ sits down with Serena Williams following her exhibition against Caroline Wozniacki (pictured right) in Herning, Demark. Williams discusses the strength of her friendship with former world number one Wozniacki and looks towards the 2016 season. ‘Open Court’ also hears from Wozniacki herself, who beat Williams in two sets 6-3, 6-4, in front of her home crowd.

The programme also features an exclusive interview with Williams’ father Richard Williams, who provides CNN’s Don Riddell insight into one of the most successful families in tennis history.

@serenawilliams

@DjokerNole

@donriddellCNN

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

@cnnopencourt

@TheRealPatCash

#CNNOpenCourt

 

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ looks at the effects of stress. Credit: Peter Macdiarmid / Getty

‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ looks at the effects of stress. Credit: Peter Macdiarmid / Getty

Wednesday 16 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 19 December at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Sunday 20 December at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Saturday 26 December at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Sunday 27 December at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’, in December explores the science of stress.

From the stress of trauma and grief, to the common stress factors in our daily lives, the programme examines what stress does to the body - and what can be done to combat it. ‘Vital Signs’ discovers that even just thinking about stress differently can change the way the human body and mind reacts to it.

‘Vital Signs’ also meets John Thurman, a former U.S. Army lieutenant colonel who thought that the Pentagon in Washington D.C. would be a safe place to work. Then 9/11 happened. Thurman survived the attack on the Pentagon, and spent a week in the hospital recovering, but his fight didn’t end there. He suffered from PTSD long after the attack until a friend suggested yoga. Thurman’s life changed and now he’s helping others find the same comfort.

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/specials/vital-signs

https://twitter.com/drsanjaygupta

 

The Circuit

The Circuit reviews Mercedes’ 2015 F1 season Credit: Clive Mason / Getty

The Circuit reviews Mercedes’ 2015 F1 season Credit: Clive Mason / Getty

Friday 25 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET

Saturday 26 December at 0300 GMT / 0400 CET and 1430 GMT / 1530 CET

Sunday 27 December at 0430 GMT/ 0530 CET

Tuesday 29 December at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Wednesday 30 December at 0930 GMT/ 1030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In December, ‘The Circuit’ relives Mercedes’ 2015 Formula One season, looking back over the double-championship winning year.

Host Amanda Davis heads to the home of Mercedes in Stuttgart, Germany, behind the scenes at Mercedes’ end of season Stars & Cars event at the Mercedes-Benz Arena.

Mercedes are celebrating another hugely successful season after clinching the Constructors’ Championship and the driver’s title with Lewis Hamilton (pictured). The title is Hamilton’s third, after winning in 2008 and 2014, bringing him level with Jackie Stewart’s legacy.

 cnn.com/the-circuit/

@AmandaJDavies

#CNNTheCircuit

 

The Silk Road: Past, Present Future

 ‘The Silk Road Past, Present Future’ explores Scandinavia

‘The Silk Road Past, Present Future’ explores Scandinavia

Thursday 17 December at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET

Friday 18 December at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Saturday 19 December at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 26 December at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Sunday 27 December at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET

Monday 28 December at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In December, ‘The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ continues its 9-month journey along the old caravan routes between China and Italy, this month exploring Scandinavia.

Vikings conjure up images of fierce warriors with horned helmets who ruled the seas and raided towns. However, unknown to many, The Vikings were the international tradesmen of their time. ‘The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ meets Professor Marianne Vedeler from Norway's Museum of Cultural History to understand how she is uncovering the secrets of the Viking’s trading past using today’s modern technology.

The Vikings were amazing sailors who managed to conquer the seas and navigate the globe both East and West, trading, raiding and settling on new lands. Hundreds of years later, the shipping industry is still as crucial with over 90 per cent of the world’s trade done by sea. But the Viking legacy still lives on in Denmark. ‘The Silk Road’ visits the home of the world's largest shipping company, Maersk, to explore how their research is revolutionising the shipping industry.

The luxury commodity amber, also known as the Gold of the North, was traded by Vikings with merchants on the Silk Road. Today, demand for amber is at its highest ever and in the past two years, the price of amber in Denmark has gone up ten-fold due demand from the Vikings ancient trading partner, China.

‘The Silk Road’ takes a closer look at the search and origin of amber and the revival of this ancient trade, meeting amber cutter and shop owner Frants Kristensen and entrepreneur Jim Lyngvild, both of whom are benefiting from the resurgence of the amber trade.

cnn.com/thesilkroad

@silkroadcnn

 

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.