October 30th, 2015
01:36 PM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 47 and 48

**NEW** New York In 24 Hours

New York City. Credit: Afton Almaraz / Getty

New York City. Credit: Afton Almaraz / Getty

 

Wednesday 9 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 12 December at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Sunday 13 December at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Saturday 19 December at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Duration 30 Minutes

Busy travellers have little free time in their schedules, so moments must be memorable.

CNN International’s new 30 minute travel show, ‘In 24 Hours’ descends on a vibrant city each month to experience a perfect day's down time.

From morning until after hours, host James Williams brings viewers unique and exclusive experiences. From New York to Hong Kong, CNN offers its audience the chance to take a look at the world's latest hotspots before they pop into the travel guides.

The iconic and sophisticated city of New York is the first featured city in the programme, opening with a flyover of the island of Manhattan via high-end helicopter service, Blade. This service works like Uber—customers are able to order a helicopter with the app and fly anywhere in the city in minutes.

Thousands of people pass through Grand Central Station terminal every day but few know that there is a hidden tennis court inside. Once owned by Donald Trump, ‘New York In 24 Hours’ visits this space, which was previously a 65-foot AstroTurf ski slope and a recording studio for American TV network CBS.

Another unique spot is found underground: a secret train platform beneath the Waldorf Astoria hotel. Track 61 is not open to the public but Grand Central Station tour guide Danny Brucker gives VIPs private tours. This long abandoned track was opened in the late 1930s and was famously used by President Franklin D Roosevelt as a private way into the opulent Waldorf Astoria hotel. Williams explores the bullet proof train car and armor-plated Pierce Arrow car that are still inside.

Also on the show is a visit to a new penthouse at the Mark Hotel, which opened in September 2015. This two-storey penthouse is the largest in the U.S. at more than 1100 square meters including a 200 square meter terrace with a breathtaking view of Central Park. This hotel is designed for the elite traveller, offering amenities like a special agreement with Berdorf Goodman that allows the high-end department store to open at any time of day or night for a client's request.

For many visitors to New York, a Broadway show is a must, but not everyone can see a show before opening night. ‘New York In 24 Hours’ is invited to a preview of ‘School of Rock’, Andrew Lloyd Webber’s return to Broadway. The show opens on 6 December, but ahead of time, Williams has a private preview of the show, meets some of the cast and has an interview with the legendary composer, at the Winter Garden Theater, where Lloyd Webber’s hit musical ‘Cats’ played for almost 18 years.

Michael White is one of the leading chefs in the New York City culinary scene. Head chef and owner of the Altamarea Group, he has 10 fine dining restaurants across New York, New Jersey and Hong Kong, and has also earned two Michelin stars for Marea and one Michelin star for Ai Fiori. White's new restaurant, which opened in September, is Vaucluse. His foray into French food is already making a splash in the city, making it one of the hottest dinner spots in town. Williams has dinner with White, prepared by the chef himself and finds out the secret behind a bourgeoning New York food dynasty.

Finally, Williams walks up an unassuming staircase and passes through a door with no sign to find one of Manhattan's most upscale speakeasies, a hot trend in New York City nightlife where drinks are only available to those in the know. Inspired by Woody Allen's ‘Midnight in Paris’, Dear Irving brings out the glamorous side of American History. From the Abraham Lincoln Room to the JFK Room to the Gatsby Room, Williams goes inside this vintage inspired speakeasy where lead bartender Meaghan Dorman crafts a special drink that embodies the city of New York, complete with hand carved ice cubes.

Also on ‘In 24 Hours’ each month, a celebrity will provide insider recommendations about each city. In the launch programme, renowned chef Anthony Bourdain reveals his New York secrets and favourite hotspots.

@Bourdain

 

Open Court

Sania Mirza & Martina Hingis. Credit: Clive Brunskill / Getty

Sania Mirza & Martina Hingis. Credit: Clive Brunskill / Getty

Thursday 19 November at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT and 1830 CET

Saturday 21 November at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 22 November at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 28 November at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Sunday 29 November at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Duration 30 Minutes

In November, ‘Open Court’ reports from Singapore for the WTA Finals with the very best in women’s tennis.

The competition in Singapore featured Maria Sharapova, Petra Kvitova, Simona Halep, Garbine Mugurza, Angelique Kerber & Flavia Pennetta, Agnieszka Radwańska and Lucie Safarova. ‘Open Court’ reports from the finals for the very first time, and host Pat Cash interviews the winner.

Also in the programme, CNN’s Mallika Kapur travels to Hyderabad, India, to interview India’s first-ever female number one, Sania Mirza, who teamed up with Martina Hingis in doubles to form a winning combination. The show finds out how Mirza beat the odds in her country and became the most successful WTA player to come from India. Mirza discusses the privilege she feels at being the first Indian tennis player to reach world number one in doubles.

Also ‘Open Court’ hears stories of ‘on court coaching,’ a practice the WTA has allowed uniquely for seven seasons, unlike the ATP or any of the Grand Slams. Cash finds out why this is, sees how it works, and finds out what the future holds for the practice.

@MirzaSania

@WTAFinalsSG

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

@cnnopencourt

@TheRealPatCash

#CNNOpenCourt

 

The Silk Road: Past Present Future

Host Sumnima Udas

Host Sumnima Udas

Thursday 19 November at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET

Friday 20 November at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Saturday 21 November at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 28 November at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Sunday 29 November at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET

Monday 30 November at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET

Duration 30 Minutes

‘Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ continues its nine-month journey along the old caravan routes between China and Italy, this time exploring Armenia and Georgia on a road trip through the remote Caucasus Mountains.

In Armenia, presenter Sumnima Udas (pictured) discovers that Yerevan, the capital, is quickly becoming a regional hub for digital technology and innovation.  Udas meets several local tech startups that are developing everything from cutting-edge mobile apps to locally-made tablets, both of which are exported across the globe.

The programme also explores Armenia’s rich tradition of carpet-weaving.  The centuries-old craft is now a multi-million dollar industry, and Udas profiles the country’s largest carpet manufacturer, which has dozens of factories around the world.

She also drives north to Tbilisi, to learn more about Georgia’s historical role on the old Silk Road, before continuing further east to Kakheti, Georgia’s lush wine-producing region. There, Udas meets several winemakers during the region’s annual grape harvest, and finds out why many believe Georgia is the world’s cradle of wine.

cnn.com/thesilkroad

@silkroadcnn

@sumnimaudas

 

The Circuit

Niki Lauda and host Amanda Davies

Niki Lauda and host Amanda Davies

Friday 27 November at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET and 2330 GMT / 0030 CET

Saturday 28 November at 2030 GMT / 2130 CET

Sunday 29 November at 0130 GMT / 0230 CET

Duration 30 Minutes

This edition of ‘The Circuit’ comes from the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, ahead of the final race of the season. Mercedes chairman Niki Lauda (pictured right) sits down to breakfast with ‘The Circuit’ host Amanda Davies (pictured left) to reflect on another stellar campaign for his team, winning both the drivers and constructors’ titles.

Also on the show are Sebastian Vettel, Nico Hulkenberg and Daniel Ricciardo, who share their season highlights, as the programme follows the arrival of the F1 cars by cargo plane to the circuit.

 cnn.com/the-circuit/

@AmandaJDavies

#CNNTheCircuit

@NicoHulkenberg

@danielricciardo

 

Make Create Innovate

Brain telepathy Credit: MAURICIO LIMA / Getty

Brain telepathy Credit: MAURICIO LIMA / Getty

Saturday 21 November at 1345 GMT / 1445 CET

Sunday 22 November at 0115 GMT / 0215 CET and 0645 GMT / 0745 CET and 1945 GMT / 1845 CET

Monday 23 November at 0215 GMT / 0315 CET

Wednesday 25 November at 1045 GMT / 1145 CET and 1745 GMT / 1845 CET

Saturday 28 November at 0645 GMT / 0745 CET and 1945 GMT / 2045 CET

Sunday 29 November at 0115 GMT / 0215 CET and 1345 GMT / 1445 CET

Monday 30 November at 0215 GMT / 0315 CET

Duration 15 Minutes

In November, ‘Make Create Innovate’ explores the technologies that could revolutionise the way people communicate.

With Apple and Samsung both investing in hologram technology, holography could be the future. ‘Make Create Innovate’ host Nick Glass meets Professor David Fattal, an inventor of a micro-projector system that could bring holograms to smartphones.

‘Make Create Innovate’ asks: why beam someone into a phone, when thoughts can be beamed directly into someone else’s brain? Rajesh Rao, a scientist who successfully demonstrated ‘telepathy’ is possible tries a new, dramatic experiment: He attempts to work out what Glass is thinking, based on his thoughts during a game of ’20 Questions’.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/

#MakeCreateInnovate

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.