October 16th, 2015
12:13 PM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 45 and 46

CULINARY JOURNEYS

René Redzepi

René Redzepi

Friday 6 November at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 7 November at 2030 GMT / 2130 CET

Sunday 8 November at 0130 GMT / 0230 CET

Tuesday 10 November at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET

Wednesday 11 November at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Duration 30 minutes

This month, ‘Culinary Journeys’ features one of the most visionary chefs in the world of international gastronomy: René Redzepi of Noma fame. Inspired by a childhood memory, Redzepi embarks on a gastronomic journey from Denmark to Turkey to explore an iconic dish: the baklava.

Over the past decade, Redzepi has been at the very forefront of the New Nordic movement, with his constant experimentation and near-obsession with local, seasonal and raw ingredients. Noma's menu may be at the mercy of the harsh climate of the north, but Redzepi's ability to distil the region's landscape into innovative dishes has turned his fine dining establishment into one of the world's best.

The half-Danish, half-Macedonian chef considers himself a 'gastronaut', an explorer of the edible world who famously connects with nature through foraging – a passion that often takes him beyond the forests, fields and beaches around Copenhagen.

During his first-ever visit to Istanbul, Redzepi explores the tastes and sights of the city that straddles the Bosphorus; guided by friend and local chef Mehmet Gürs, he travels south of the city, to Gaziantep, considered the home of baklava.

‘Culinary Journeys’ follows Redzepi back to Copenhagen and his kitchen at Noma, where he puts his own twist on the delectable Middle Eastern treat.

@ReneRedzepiNoma

#CNNFood

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/travel/journeys

 

LIVING GOLF

GolfBoard Credit: ROBYN BECK / Getty

GolfBoard Credit: ROBYN BECK / Getty

Thursday 5 November at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 7 November at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 8 November at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 14 November at Saturday 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Sunday 15 November at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

‘Living Golf’ in November travels to California, US, for the start of the 2015/2016 PGA Tour. The first PGA tournament of the new season is The Frys.com Open, held in Napa, Northern California. ‘Living Golf’ profiles the event to see how the PGA plans every detail of the opening tournament.

Host Shane O’Donoghue heads to the Hollywood hills to see how golf has been represented in the history of film. The programme looks back to 'Caddy Shack' (1980), staring Bill Murray, and ahead to future golf films that are making it onto the silver screen.

While in LA, O'Donoghue meets one of the greatest surfers of all time, Laird Hamilton, who has invented the GolfBoard (pictured), a motorised board on wheels that can carry golf clubs while players ride or ‘surf’ down the fairway.

The small Southern Californian city of Carlsbad is at the very centre of the global golf industry.  What Silicon Valley is to high-tech business, Hollywood is to film, so Carlsbad is to golf. ‘Living Golf’ finds out why so many golf manufacturers are based there and about the intense rivalry that exists between them.

@LairdLife

@CNNLivingGolf

@ShaneODonoghue

cnn.com/golf/

 

 CNN Business Traveller

Host Richard Quest

Host Richard Quest

Thursday 12 November at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET

Friday 13 November at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Saturday 14 November at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Duration 30 minutes

‘CNN Business Traveller’ in November travels to Lima, Peru, which in early October saw the annual World Bank / IMF meeting taking place. Host Richard Quest (pictured) explores how Peru’s economy is bucking the global trend as it goes from strength to strength.

Quest sits down with CEOs of the country’s major air carriers – Nani Garrués of LAN Peru and Felix Antelo of Avianca Peru – to learn how they are balancing regional and domestic needs. Also on the programme is Juan Stoessel, the CEO of Peru’s largest hotel group, Casa Andina, who explains how the company are seeking to expand locally before taking on Latin America.

Quest also heads to Cusco, the gateway to one of the new Seven Wonders of the World – Machu Picchu (pictured) – to visit the country’s finest hotel, The Monasterio, to discover how a country known for backpacking does luxury.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/business.traveller

@richardquest


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.