October 6th, 2015
12:55 PM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 43 & 44

OPEN COURT

Andy Murray, Davis Cup Semi Final. Credit: Mark Runnacles / Stringer

Andy Murray, Davis Cup Semi Final. Credit: Mark Runnacles / Stringer

Thursday 22 October at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 24 October at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 25 October at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 31 October at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Sunday 1 November at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month ‘Open Court’ reports around the Davis Cup final, which in late November will see two unlikely suitors competing, Great Britain verses Belgium. The last time Great Britain won the Davis Cup was 1936 and Belgium have never won the tournament.

‘Open Court’ host Pat Cash meets Andy Murray (pictured) ahead of the opportunity the Davis Cup presents him with: to add one of the tennis’ greatest prizes to his trophy cabinet, which already contains an Olympic gold medal and a Wimbledon Championship. Why does the Davis Cup title means so much to him? Cash attempts to discover the reason.

David Goffin, the Belgium number one, is the man who stands between Murray and Davis Cup glory,‘Open Court’ hears from him in Belgium as he prepares for the final.

The programme also takes a closer look at grass roots tennis in Great Britain and Belgium, discovering what Judy Murray is doing to put more racquets in the hands of children across the country. There’s also the chance to find out what former world number one Justine Henin is doing to further tennis in her native Belgium.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

@andy_murray

@judmoo

@cnnopencourt

@TheRealPatCash

#CNNOpenCourt

 

VITAL SIGNS

Gracie Hussey, white jersey in header against another girl, playing before her head injuries

Gracie Hussey, white jersey in header against another girl, in a time before her head injuries

Wednesday 21 October at 1030 BST / 1730 BST and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 24 October at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Sunday 25 October at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Saturday 31 October at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Sunday 1 November at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Duration 30 minutes

This month on ‘Vital Signs,’ CNN's Dr. Sanjay Gupta examines the impact of concussion in the most popular youth sport, football. As technology advances, more is being understood about concussion and the brain than ever before, but there's still a long way to go. Why are girls more likely to have a concussion than boys? And why is football near the top of the list?

The programme meets Gracie Hussey (pictured), a 16 year old girl from Memphis, Tennessee who is unable to play football since suffering two diagnosed concussions. Gracie’s first concussion was at the age seven. Years of repeated blows to the head have landed her in this position; her hands shake, her headaches persist, and the fainting feeling comes at least once a day. To combat this, Gracie takes 11 pills a day. It’s a story all too common surrounding the world's "beautiful game."

 

HUMAN TO HERO

Kohei Uchimura

Kohei Uchimura

Wednesday 21 October at 1230 BST / 1330 CET

‘Human to Hero’ airs within World Sport

CNN’s ‘Human to Hero’ gets to the heart of what it means to be a sporting star, exploring the dedication, determination and inspiration involved for the world's best athletes.

This edition features Kohei Uchimura (pictured), the Japanese five-time Olympic medallist considered by many as the greatest gymnast of all time.

One of the Japanese characters in Kohei Uchimura’s name comes from the word ‘Pacific’. His parents hoped he would one day find success and cross the ocean and even the modest 26-year-old admits that he has surpassed their expectations. The five-time Olympic medallist is the only athlete to have won the world championship all round individual title five consecutive times. In 2011, his beautiful and precise routines took on a deeper meaning after the Tohoku earthquake and tsunami, as Uchimura was determined to try and inspire hope through his performances.

Now Uchimura’s sights are firmly set on the future and the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, where he only has one goal:  to win gold in front of his home crowd.

@kohei198913

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/sport/human-to-hero

#CNNHumantoHero

 

THE SILK ROAD: PAST, PRESENT, FUTURE

Sumnima Udas

Host Sumnima Udas

Thursday 22 October at 0930 BST / 1030 CET

Friday 23 October at 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Saturday 24 October at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET

Saturday 31 October at 1130 GMT / 1230 CET

Sunday 1 November at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Monday 2 November at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In October, ‘The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ continues its 9-month journey along the old caravan routes between China and Italy, exploring modern innovation and commerce in the United Arab Emirates.

In Dubai, ‘The Silk Road’ presenter Sumnima Udas (pictured) discovers the burgeoning uses of commercial drones and unmanned robotics are not just for hobbyists any longer. The programme explores the expanding business applications for drones, from inspecting power stations to collecting mapping data in remote desert areas, and sees how start-ups are developing the use of robots for big business.

The programme also explores the growing art market in the Gulf.  From Doha to Kuwait to Abu Dhabi, the region is home to some of the biggest art collectors and buyers around the world.  The programme takes a tour of one of Dubai’s hubs for contemporary art, Al Serkal Avenue and gets a rare sneak preview of Abu Dhabi’s future Louvre museum, still under construction.

 

MAKE, CREATE, INNOVATE 

‘LifePaint’ by Volvo

‘LifePaint’ by Volvo

Saturday 24 October at 1345 BST / 1445 CET

Sunday 25 October at 0115 GMT / 0215 CET and 0545 GMT / 0645 CET and 1845 GMT / 1945 CET

Monday 26 October at 0115 GMT / 0215 CET

Wednesday 28 October at 0945 GMT / 1045 CET and 1645 GMT / 1745 CET

Saturday 31 October at 0545 GMT / 0645 CET and 1845 GMT / 1945 CET

Sunday 1 November at 0015 GMT / 0115 CET and 1345 GMT / 1445 CET

Monday 2 November at 0215 GMT / 0315 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

In this edition of ‘Make, Create, Innovate’, host Nick Glass explores efforts to make roads safer – some 1.24 million people were killed on the road globally according to the WHO in 2010.

The programme looks at ‘LifePaint’ (pictured) an innovative spray which looks normal under daylight, but at night it lights up, making the invisible, visible. The programme discovers how ‘LifePaint,’ developed by the Swedish car company Volvo, was first used to make deer more visible on Finnish roads.

‘Make, Create Innovate’ also reports from the ITS World Congress and Exhibition, the world’s largest event in intelligent transport systems and services. The programme examines efforts to develop autonomous and connecting cars that remove the one element that can’t be controlled or calibrated: humans.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/

#MakeCreateInnovate

 

THE CIRCUIT 

AUTO-PRIX-F1-MEXICO Credit: RONALDO SCHEMIDT / Staff

AUTO-PRIX-F1-MEXICO Credit: RONALDO SCHEMIDT / Getty

Friday 30 October at 1530 GMT / 1630 CET

Saturday 31 October at 1930 GMT / 2030 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 1 November at 0230 GMT / 0330 CET

Tuesday 3 November at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET

Wednesday 4 November at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month, ‘The Circuit’ explores the return of the Mexican Grand Prix, taking place on the first weekend of November. After a 23-year absence due to poor track conditions, host Amanda Davies visits the revamped circuit, close to the sprawling capital, Mexico City.

The programme meets man-of-the-moment, 25-year-old Mexican driver Sergio Perez, as he looks forward to his first home race. Born in Guadalajara, Perez has gone from strength to strength since his first F1 race in 2011.

Also ‘The Circuit’ features former Mexican Grand Prix winners Nigel Mansell and John Surtees, who reveal what challenges the current crop of drivers face at this high-altitude circuit.

@SChecoPerez

cnn.com/the-circuit/

@AmandaJDavies

#CNNTheCircuit


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.