September 4th, 2015
11:07 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 39 and 40

Human To Hero

Dan Carter

Dan Carter

Wednesday 23 September at 1230 BST and 2230 BST

‘Human to Hero’ airs within World Sport

This episode of ‘Human to Hero’ profiles rugby superstar Dan Carter (pictured), as international attention is drawn to the Rugby World Cup 2015.

Carter spent the days and nights of his childhood playing rugby in his back yard in New Zealand, after his father built him goalposts for his eighth birthday. The hard work paid off: the 33-year-old is now the most capped fly-half for the All Blacks, and the highest points scorer of all time in Test match (Rugby Union).

Despite a career hampered by injury, Carter has fought his way to the top through practice and positive thinking, and has twice picked up the prestigious IRB Player of the Year title, in 2005 and 2012.

Now, as his time with the All Blacks comes to an end, Carter is hoping to make his childhood dreams come true by becoming part of the first New Zealand team to win the World Cup title overseas.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/sport/human-to-hero

#CNNHumantoHero

@rugbyworldcup

#RWC2015

@DanCarter

 

Leading Women

Marillyn Hewson

Marillyn Hewson

Wednesday 23 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 26 September at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Sunday 27 September at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

CNN’s ‘Leading Women’ connects viewers to extraordinary women of our time, meeting women at the top of their field, exploring their careers, lives and ideas.

This month, the programme meets Marillyn Hewson (pictured), CEO of global defence, security and aerospace firm, Lockheed Martin.

Hewson is the first female CEO of the American-based company, the largest defence contractor on the planet which counts some of the world's governments and top armed forces among its customers.

Hewson talks to 'Leading Women' about how it feels to be responsible for leading 112,000 employees; the valuable lessons she has learned from her parents, and the nagging voice of self-doubt which she feels may have held her back in her early career.

Hewson also talks about the efforts to seize the imaginations of a generation of girls to get them interested in science, technology, engineering and maths careers.

@CNNIwomen

@LockheedMartin


CNN Equestrian

Christina Macfarlane

Christina Macfarlane

Saturday 3 October at 1830 BST / 1930 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In October, ‘CNN Equestrian’ covers two of the biggest events on the equestrian calendar: the Blair Castle International Horse Trials, set against a stunning Scottish backdrop, and the Furusiyya FEI Nations Cup Jumping finals, taking place in Barcelona.

Host Christina Macfarlane (pictured) is on the ground at both events, speaking to some of the best riders as they compete for podium places. Macfarlane also goes behind-the-scenes to find out more about the work that goes into creating some of the equestrian world’s biggest events.

@chrissymacCNN

cnn.com/equestrian

#CNNEquestrian

#FEI

@myfei_home

 

The Circuit

Fernando Alonso

Fernando Alonso

 Friday 25 September at 1630 BST / 1730 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET

Saturday 26 September at 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 27 September at 0130 BST / 0230 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

During the Japanese Grand Prix, ‘The Circuit’ in September focuses on the most successful team at the legendary figure-of-eight Suzuka circuit – McLaren. ‘The Circuit’ meets some of McLaren’s biggest stars including Eric Boullier, Fernando Alonso (pictured) and Jenson Button.

The programme follows Alonso’s hunt for the next driving star at his new academy; meets McLaren Team Principal, Boullier, who talks about his plans to get the team firing all cylinders in the second half of the season; and catches up with driver Jenson Button as he arrives in Tokyo ahead of the race.

cnn.com/the-circuit/

#CNNTheCircuit

@eboullier

@alo_oficial

@JensonButton


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.