August 21st, 2015
09:33 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 37 and 38

Make, Create, Innovate

A Nuytco 'Exo-Suit'

CREDIT: Nuytco Research 'Exo-Suit'

Saturday 19 September at 13:45 BST / 14:45 CET

Sunday 20 September at 01:15 BST / 02:15 CET and 06:45 BST / 07:45 CET and 19:45 BST / 20:45 CET

Monday 21 September at 02:15 BST / 03:15 CET

Wednesday 23 September at 10:45 BST / 11:45 CET and 17:45 BST / 18:45 CET

Saturday 26 September at 06:45 BST / 07:45 CET and 19:45 BST / 20:45 CET

Sunday 27 September at 01:15 BST / 02:15 CET and 13:45 BST / 14:45 CET

Monday 28 September at 02:15 BST / 03:15 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

‘Make, Create, Innovate’, hosted by Nick Glass, explores a world that mankind knows very little about in September – our oceans. The second episode of the new series takes a closer look at the technology that is helping advance underwater exploration.

The programme travels to Vancouver to meet Phil Nuytten, inventor of the ExoSuit – a hard metal diving suit that allows wearers to plunge down to depths of up to 1,000 feet. Nicknamed the ‘Iron-Man’ of the sea, the ExoSuit is allowing divers, scientists and even archaeologists to explore the world’s oceans like never before.

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ also meets Sylvia Earle, legendary oceanographer and heroine of the seas. Sylvia talks to the programme about her 50-year career beneath the waves, and we find out more about her latest mission to take mankind to the deepest, darkest depths of the ocean floor.

The news round-up also continues, looking at the latest happenings in the worlds of science and technology.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/

#MakeCreateInnovate

@SylviaEarle

 

The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future

Host Sumnima Udas

Host Sumnima Udas

Thursday 17 September at 09:30 BST / 10:30 CET

Friday 18 September at 04:30 BST / 05:30 CET

Saturday 19 September at 05:30 BST / 06:30 CET and 16:30 BST / 17:30 CET

Saturday 26 September at 12:30 BST / 13:30 CET

Sunday 27 September at 05:30 BST / 06:30 CET

Monday 28 September at 04:00 BST / 05:00 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

‘The Silk Road: Past, Present, Future’ continues in September, with a voyage through the ancient lands of the Sultanate of Oman, on the Arabian Peninsula.

Host Sumnima Udas explores a country with an epic history of maritime trade. Oman’s geographical location between Asia and Africa meant it occupied a unique and strategic place along the Silk Road. Omani towns and ports provided safe harbours where peaceful trade and exchange could take place between sailors, merchants and travellers from across the world.

Now, the country is revitalising those ancient trade links and embarking on ambitious projects aiming to put itself firmly back on the map. Udas looks at how Oman is expanding its transport links, including building an impressive six new runways and four new regional airports in just a decade.

The programme also explores the long relationship that the people of Oman have had with the sea. Udas takes to the waters of the Indian Ocean to find out how the country is rekindling this bond, through establishing ‘Oman Sail’. ‘Oman Sail’ is a not-for-profit organisation which teaches young Omani’s how to sail – helping the country re-connect with its maritime heritage, and increasing its reputation as a global sailing destination.

cnn.com/thesilkroad

@silkroadcnn

@sumnimaudas

 

CNN World Rugby

Host Alex Thomas

Host Alex Thomas

*NEW*

Starts Friday 11 September:

Fridays at 23:30 BST / 00:30 CET

Saturdays at 03:00 BST / 04:00 CET, 08:30 BST / 09:30 CET and 14:30 BST / 15:30 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

The Rugby World Cup is one of the biggest sporting events on the planet – millions across the globe will tune in to the tournament from September, which involves 20 countries from five different continents battling it out for sporting glory.

In a special series of weekly programmes, ‘CNN World Rugby’ brings fans all the action from the Rugby World Cup 2015, including matches, interviews with the biggest players, and exciting features.

This eventful nine-week journey culminates at the Rugby World Cup Final – which will take place at the home of English rugby, London’s 82,000-seater Twickenham Stadium.

In the first episode, host Alex Thomas, CNN’s sports anchor and a rugby expert, will visit Rugby school where the game was first inspired by William Webb Ellis, who broke the rules of an ancient school game by picking up the ball and running with it – the rest is history.

‘CNN World Rugby’ will give viewers a closer look at the events of the Rugby World Cup 2015, finding out more about the passion, skill, and camaraderie that make rugby an unmissable sport for legions of fans across the world.

cnn.com/sport

@alexthomascnn

@rugbyworldcup

#RWC2015


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.