August 7th, 2015
09:45 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 35 & 36

Culinary Journeys

Hélène Darroze

Hélène Darroze

Friday 4 September at 1630 BST / 1730 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET

Saturday 5 September at 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 6 September at 0130 BST / 0230 CET

Tuesday 8 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET

Wednesday 9 September at 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Duration 30 minutes

CNN’s ‘Culinary Journeys’ continues in September, with a programme featuring the doyenne of French cuisine, chef Hélène Darroze.

Cooking runs in the blood of Darroze, who says she was “born in a kitchen and grew up in a pan”. She sharpened her culinary skills in the kitchen of maestro Alain Ducasse, at a time when women were few and far between in the world’s great restaurants.

Darroze now divides her time between her Michelin-starred restaurants in Paris and London, and was recently awarded the 2015 Veuve Clicquot World's Best Female chef title. Her culinary footprint has inspired a new generation of female cooks – as well as a character in the 2007 Pixar animated film ‘Ratatouille’.

On this month’s programme, Darroze swaps the boulevards of Paris for the gothic alleyways of Edinburgh, as she embarks on a Culinary Journey to Scotland. Along her journey she joins local chef Tom Kitchin to sample a dish whose name alone stirs Scottish taste buds, but can strike fear into the faint-hearted: haggis.

@HeleneDarroze

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/travel/journeys

#CNNFood

 

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Sunday 23 August at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Saturday 29 August at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Sunday 30 August at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Duration 30 minutes

Polio has been eradicated in 99% of the globe, with just three countries remaining on the list. One of those countries, Nigeria, has just surpassed a big milestone: its first year without a single case of polio. Nigeria is the last remaining country in Africa to eliminate the disease- meaning its eradication could lead to a polio-free continent.

In August’s episode of ‘Vital Signs’, Dr. Sanjay Gupta ventures to the farthest reaches of northern Nigeria in search of the last remaining children in need of polio vaccines. Join Dr. Gupta and a team of healthcare workers as they find out more about the polio story in northern Nigeria, and the challenges faced in the heroic efforts to vaccinate every child.

Along the way, Dr. Gupta will also bust some of the common myths that deter parents from vaccinating their children. In northern Nigeria, the lessons learned will lead to a healthier future for all.

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/specials/vital-signs

https://twitter.com/drsanjaygupta

 

Make, Create, Innovate 

An iCub robot designed by Tony Prescott

An iCub robot designed by Tony Prescott

Wednesday 26 August at 1045 BST / 1145 CET and 1745 BST / 1845 CET

Saturday 29 August at 0645 BST / 0745 CET and 1945 BST / 2045 CET

Sunday 30 August at 0115 BST / 0215 CET and 1345 BST / 1445 CET

Monday 31 August at 0215 BST / 0315 CET

Duration 15 minutes

This month marks the new series of CNN’s ‘Make, Create, Innovate’, the science and technology programme that tells the stories behind the inventions and technological breakthroughs that are reshaping the world.

The first episode of the series explores efforts to develop robots with artificial intelligence which mimic that of the human brain. Host Nick Glass travels to California and Sheffield to find out more.

In California, the programme visits IBM’s research facility, meeting the man behind the company’s ‘brain-inspired’ microchip that could make computers work and think like humans.

In Sheffield, UK, ‘Make, Create, Innovate’ meets Tony Prescott, a man who is striving to develop a robot which can think for itself.

Also on this new edition of the show is the introduction of the news round-up, a new segment looking at all the interesting happenings in the world of science and technology.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/

#MakeCreateInnovate

@IBMResearch

@tonyjprescott

 

The Circuit

Susie Wolff

Susie Wolff

Friday 28 August at 1630 BST / 1730 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET

Saturday 29 August at 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 30 August at 0130 BST / 0230 CET

Tuesday 1 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET

Wednesday 2 September 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Duration 30 minutes

Formula 1 is a sport that is dominated by men: only five women in the sport’s 65 year history have started a race. This month, CNN’s ‘The Circuit’ explores the role women are playing in Formula 1. Host Amanda Davies meets some of the sport’s female stars, and finds out more about the efforts to inspire a generation of young girls hoping to make it into a Formula 1 cockpit.

The programme meets Williams’ test driver Susie Wolff in Barcelona, discussing how close she is to getting a place on the grid, along with Williams’ Deputy Team Principal, Claire Williams, who talks about her fight to get to the top.

Also on the show is Danica Patrick, perhaps the most famous woman in the world of motorsport, who reveals to the programme her potential future in Formula 1. Lotus’ development driver Carmen Jorda then takes ‘The Circuit’ on a Formula 1 work-out.

 cnn.com/the-circuit/

@AmandaJDavies

 #CNNTheCircuit

 

CNN Equestrian 

EQUESTRIAN-GER-CHIO / Credit: PATRIK STOLLARZ / Stringer

EQUESTRIAN-GER-CHIO / Credit: PATRIK STOLLARZ / Stringer

Saturday 29 August at 1830 BST / 1930 CET

Duration 30 minutes

The German city of Aachen has a legendary history in the equestrian world. It has staged more international equestrian championships in its show grounds than any other site in the world, and is considered one of the greatest outdoor equestrian venues.

This year, for the first time ever, the city will host five equestrian disciplines in one venue at the FEI European Championships – vaulting, jumping, dressage, driving and reining.

In this special edition of CNN Equestrian, Christina Macfarlane heads to the event in Aachen to take a closer look at each of the five disciplines, and speaks to those hoping for a podium place.

@chrissymacCNN

cnn.com/equestrian

#CNNEquestrian

 

Talk Asia 

Benedict Cumberbatch

Benedict Cumberbatch

Thursday 3 September at 0930 BST / 1030 CET

Friday 4 September at 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Saturday 5 September at 0300 BST / 0400 CET and 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET

Saturday 12 September at 1230 BST / 1330 CET

Sunday 13 September at 0530 BST / 0630 CET

Monday 14 September at 0400 BST / 0500 CET

He's Hollywood's man of the moment. From starring in the Academy Award winning ‘The Imitation Game’, to the hugely successful TV adaption of Sherlock Holmes, Benedict Cumberbatch is captivating audiences around the world.

This month, CNN’s ‘Talk Asia’ catches up with the actor in Shanghai, where he opens up about his legions of superfans and the British invasion of Hollywood.

Cumberbatch, who is frequently named the ‘sexiest man alive’, tells CNN’s Anna Coren about his childhood, his charity work, and his new films. The star also reveals what he really thinks about his female admirers, known as ‘Cumberbabes’, and talks about meeting his Chinese fan base who describe him as ‘Juan Fu’ or ‘Curly Blessing’.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/asia/talk-asia

@amcoren

 

Living Golf

The Vestfjord with the mountains of Lofoten, Norway.

The Vestfjord with the mountains of Lofoten, Norway

Thursday 3 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 5 September at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 6 September at 1730 BST / 1830 CET 

Saturday 12 September at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 13 September at 0730 BST / 0830 CET

Duration 30 minutes

This month, CNN’s ‘Living Golf’ profiles the popularity of golf in Scandinavia. Host Shane O’Donoghue travels to the region to meet some of its golfing stars, and to explore the relationship between Sweden, Denmark and Norway in history, culture and sport.

First, the programme travels to Gothenburg to meet the European captain for this year’s Solheim Cup, Swede Carin Koch, to find out how she is handling the pressure before the tournament in September.

‘Living Golf’ then travels to Helsingor in Denmark, to witness the rivalry between Scandinavian countries in a one off event between Denmark’s Thomas Bjorn & Thorbjorn Olesen vs. Sweden’s Henrik Stenson & Jonas Blixt.

Finally, ‘Living Golf’ meets Norway’s biggest golfing star, Suzann Pettersen, at The Lofoten Golf Club- a stunning new course on the Norwegian coast settled between steep mountains, white sandy beaches and small fishing villages, boasting 24 hour tee times during the summer.

@CNNLivingGolf

@ShaneODonoghue

@suzannpettersen

@SolheimCup2015

cnn.com/golf/

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.