July 15th, 2015
07:42 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 31 & 32

Culinary Journeys 

Food Market in Seoul, South Korea/ Credit: ED JONES / Getty

Food Market in Seoul, South Korea/ Credit: ED JONES / Getty

Friday 7 August at 1630 BST / 1730 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET

Saturday 8 August at 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 9 August at 0130 BST/ 0230 CET

Tuesday 11 August 1030 BST / 1130 CET

Wednesday 12 August 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

Culinary Journeys continues in August, with a programme featuring Edward Kwon, a Korean chef whose career has been spent moving through high-end hotel kitchens.

The chef has now settled down in Seoul, South Korea, where he has launched an arsenal of restaurants in an attempt to expose his country to a variety of different cuisines, yet his main mission still remains to globalise Korean cuisine.

Kwon's journey takes him south, outside of Seoul, down to the UNESCO City of Gastronomy, Jeonju. Here Kwon explores how the ten flavours of Jeonju shaped one of Korea's most famous dishes, Bibimbap.

Along his journey, Kwon meets chef Yu Inja from the restaurant Goong, with a hands-on lesson to see how a simple combination of ingredients won over the palates of Korea, which could win over the rest of the world.

@chefedwardkwon

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/travel/journeys

#CNNFood

 

Human to Hero

Tom Daley on this week’s CNN Human to Hero

Tom Daley

Wednesday 29 July at 2230 BST / 2330 CET

‘Human to Hero’ airs within World Sport

CNN’s ‘Human to Hero’ gets to the heart of what it means to be a sporting star, exploring the dedication, determination and inspiration involved for the world's best athletes.

Since hitting the international spotlight in 2008 as Great Britain’s youngest competitor at the Olympic Games, Tom Daley has seen his career go from strength to strength. The 10-metre platform diver reveals to the programme the fear he feels when walking towards the diving board, before he hits the water at 36 miles per hour.

The 2009 World Champion who won Bronze on home soil at the 2012 London Olympics often makes as much of a splash in the pool as out of it.  He talks to ‘Human to Hero’ about life in the public eye and the strength and motivation he has found since the loss of his father in 2011.

@TomDaley1994

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/sport/human-to-hero

#CNNHumantoHero

 

Living Golf

Putting on the green / Credit: Scott Halleran / Getty

Putting on the green / Credit: Scott Halleran / Getty

Thursday 6 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 8 August at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 9 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET 

Saturday 15 August 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 16 August 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

‘Living Golf’ in August explores putting, reviewing its importance in the game, as the countdown begins to an upcoming ban which will forever change it. From New Year 2016, players will no longer be able to anchor putters in professional competition.

Bernhard Langer and Padraig Harrington, who have both used the anchoring technique, speak to ‘Living Golf’ about the ban and discuss how they will adapt to it.

Also featuring in the programme is short game guru Dave Pelz, whose purpose-built short game garden in Texas is a great place to find out a few essential secrets to pitching and putting.  Golf historian Brian Symonds also appears on this month’s show; with over 4000 putters, he is the world’s biggest collector of the club.

‘Living Golf’ also examines the impact of Jordan Spieth, the US golfer who has dominated 2015 thanks mainly to his masterful short game.

@JordanSpieth

@CNNLivingGolf

@ShaneODonoghue

cnn.com/golf/


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.