June 30th, 2015
01:24 PM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 29 & 30

Open Court 

Elena Baltacha Wimbledon 2013 Credit: Dennis Grombkowski / Getty

Elena Baltacha Wimbledon 2013 (Photo by Dennis Grombkowski / Getty)

Thursday 16 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 18 July at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 19 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 25 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 26 July at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

July’s ‘Open Court,’ is a Wimbledon special with host Pat Cash reflecting on how the most prestigious grass court tournament played out. A former Wimbledon champion himself, Cash will look at who took home this year’s trophies and explore the prestige that comes with the tournament win.

Also, the programme will remember Elena Baltacha (pictured). The former British Number One died last year from liver cancer at the age of 30, but her legacy is burning bright. ‘Open Court’ travels to the Elena Baltacha Academy of Tennis, an organisation that provides high quality programmes for both young girls and boys. The organisation was set up by Baltacha to give those less fortunate the opportunity to play tennis. Baltacha’s widower Nino Severino, talks to CNN about Elena’s legacy. 

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

@cnnopencourt

@TheRealPatCash

#CNNOpenCourt

@EB_AT

 

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Derrick Coleman speaking to CNN

Derrick Coleman speaking to CNN

Wednesday 15 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 18 July at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Sunday 19 July at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Saturday 25 July at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Sunday 26 July at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month’s ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ explores the most common sensory disorder affecting 360 million people worldwide: hearing loss and deafness.

From revolutionary research about the brain’s relationship with sign language, to the next generation of hearing implants for children, ‘Vital Signs’ looks at how people around the world are breaking down the sound barrier.

One of those affected is National Football League and Super Bowl champion Derrick Coleman (pictured), who CNN meets at a game of football he is organising for children in Tacoma, Washington. When he was growing up, Coleman, who plays for the Seattle Seahawks, was called “Four Ears”. He couldn’t hide his bulky hearing aids but also couldn’t hear without them. Coleman didn’t let this affect his progression in the NFL as he focused on the one thing he felt leveled the playing field: American Football. He reveals his journey to the top of the American sport, on 'Vital Signs'.

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/specials/vital-signs

https://twitter.com/drsanjaygupta

@DC2forlife

@Seahawks

 

The Circuit 

The Hungaroring Circuit, Budapest, Hungary. (Photo by Pascal Rondeau/Getty Images)

The Hungaroring Circuit, Budapest, Hungary. (Photo by Pascal Rondeau/Getty Images)

Friday 24 July at 1630 BST / 1730 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET

Saturday 25 July at 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 26 July at 0130 BST / 0230 CET

Tuesday 28 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET

Wednesday 29 July at 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month, CNN’s ‘The Circuit’ comes from Hungary, with a preview of the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Taking place at the end of July the Hungarian Grand Prix was the first to be hosted behind the Iron Curtain almost thirty years ago, in 1986. Host Amanda Davies is joined in Budapest by last year’s winning team, Red Bull, to explore the unique history of this race.

The Red Bull team, fronted by drivers Daniel Ricciardo and Danil Kvyat, show Davies how to exit a Formula One cockpit in the required five seconds. Davies also gets a chemistry lesson in F1 fuel with Ferrari, at the Hungaroring circuit in Mogyrod, Hungary.

 cnn.com/the-circuit/

@AmandaJDavies

#CNNTheCircuit

@redbullracing

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.