Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 27 & 28
Maisie Williams at the 65th Berlinale International Film Festival: Credit: Vittorio Zunino Celotto / Getty
June 16th, 2015
11:31 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 27 & 28

CNN Ones to Watch

Director Anthony Chen winning the Camera d’Or in 2013Vittorio Zunino Celotto / Getty

Director Anthony Chen winning the Camera d’Or in 2013/ Vittorio Zunino Celotto / Getty

Friday 10 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET

Saturday 11 July at 1430 BST / 1530 CET and 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 12 July at 0130 BST / 0230 CET

Monday 13 July at 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Tuesday 14 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Wednesday 15 July at 0430 BST / 0530 CET and 0930 BST / 1030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

CNN International’s series which shines a light on the next big names in culture and the arts, ‘CNN Ones to Watch’, continues in July, with an episode dedicated to film.

The programme opens at the centre of the cinematic calendar, the Cannes Film Festival. This the most prestigious film festival in the world, drawing an influential and famed audience, which Executive Editor of Variety and ‘CNN Ones to Watch’ contributor Steven Gaydos describes as the biggest megaphone in the world.

Taking her first steps towards the famous red carpet at Cannes this year was young Singaporean director Kirsten Tan, invited to meet producers and financiers to help get her first feature film off the ground. Anthony Chen, who won Singapore’s first ever film honours at Cannes when he took home the prestigious Camera d’Or in 2013, chooses Tan as his One to Watch.

Variety’s Gaydos is also an award-winning screenwriter for films including Road to Nowhere, winner of the 2010 Venice Film Festival Golden Lion Prize. He nominates Maisie Williams (pictured) as a One to Watch in the world of film.

Williams is already well-known to the global audience of the HBO’s Game of Thrones as the feisty young girl Arya Stark. Being a small part of a big production is one thing; taking the lead in a smaller one is another. ‘CNN Ones to Watch’ follows Maisie’s first steps from TV into film, witnessing her presented as a Shooting Star to Natalie Portman at the Berlin Film Festival. The programme also hears from her co-star and producer Jessica Biel.

 

http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/ones-to-watch

#CNN1s2watch

@Maisie_Williams

https://instagram.com/jessicabiel/

 

Human to Hero

Vincent Kompany: Credit: Alex Livesey / Getty

Vincent Kompany: Credit: Alex Livesey / Getty

Wednesday 1st July at 1230 BST / 1330 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

‘Human to Hero’ airs within World Sport

CNN’s ‘Human to Hero’ gets to the heart of what it means to be a sporting star, exploring the dedication, determination and inspiration involved for the world's best athletes.

This episode features footballer Vincent Kompany (pictured), captain of both Manchester City and the Belgium national team. In 2012 Kompany lead Manchester City to their league title since 1968 and in the process earned himself the Premier League player of the year award; not bad for a player who scored an own goal in his first professional game for Anderlecht.

Kompany dedicates his success to his parents: his father a Congolese immigrant and his mother a union leader. He tells ‘Human to Hero’ that it was his parents who taught him the value of generosity and who encouraged him to watch videos of Pele.

The 29-year-old defender talks candidly to CNN about his own experiences of racism and what life is like at the top of the beautiful game.

@VincentKompany

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/sport/human-to-hero

#CNNHumantoHero

 

 Living Golf

‘Living Golf’ host Shane O'Donoghue at the Old Course, St Andrews

‘Living Golf’ host Shane O'Donoghue at the Old Course, St Andrews

Thursday 2 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 4 July at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 5 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET 

Saturday 11 July 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 12 July 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month, ‘Living Golf’ previews the 144th Open Championship from the historic St Andrews, Scotland reflecting on champions of the past.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of Nick Faldo’s second open victory at the Old Course. Faldo, who won three Opens, speaks to ‘Living Golf’ host Shane O'Donoghue (pictured) ahead of the Open.

‘Living Golf’ examines the legendary pairing of Old and Young Tom Morris, the first father and son superstars of golf. The show explores how their story inspired the author Kevin Cook’s book ‘Tommy’s Honour’, which is also soon to be a motion picture. Both Scotsmen won four Open’s each.

Also in July, the programme profiles five-time champion Tom Watson, who like Faldo will be making his final Open appearance at St Andrews. The show sees how he is taking inspiration from the links courses of Scotland into his own golf course design work.

@CNNLivingGolf

@ShaneODonoghue

cnn.com/golf/

 

 

Culinary Journeys

Chef Kevin Gillespie

Chef Kevin Gillespie

Friday 3 July at 1630 BST / 1730 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET

Saturday 4 July at 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 5 July at 0130 BST/ 0230 CET

Tuesday 7 July 1030 BST / 1130 CET

Wednesday 8 July 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

‘Culinary Journeys’ continues in July, with a programme featuring Kevin Gillespie (pictured), a chef who has built a reputation for creating refined and rustic dishes rooted in the American South. Gillespie is a four-time James Beard Award nominee who takes his culinary inspiration from his grandmothers’ cooking and farm-raised, artisan-prepared ingredients.

Gillespie’s restaurant, Gunshow in Atlanta, opened in 2013 and is inspired by Brazilian churrascaria-style dining and Chinese dim sum. Gillespie’s passion for traditional, open flame grilling sets him on a Culinary Journey to Buenos Aires, Argentina. Steeped in the culture of the Argentinian Gaucho, Gillespie travels across the Buenos Aires countryside to explore the Asado method of grilling meat.

Along his journey, he has an intimate lunch with world renowned Argentine chef Francis Mallmann to discuss what it takes to prepare the perfect open flame asado.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/travel/journeys

#CNNFood

@topchefkevin

http://www.chefkevingillespie.com/


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.