CNN International Programme Information Weeks 25 & 26
The Wimbledon Championships: Credit: David M. Benett / Getty
June 2nd, 2015
11:56 AM ET

CNN International Programme Information Weeks 25 & 26

Open Court

Goran Ivanisevic and Pat Cash - Credit: David M. Benett / Getty

Goran Ivanisevic and Pat Cash – Credit: David M. Benett / Getty

Thursday 18 June at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 20 June at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 21 June at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 27 June at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 28 June at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month’s ‘Open Court’ takes a look at the grass court season, with a preview of the most prestigious Grand Slam tournament in the world, the Wimbledon Championships.

Host Pat Cash reports from Wimbledon, due to start a week later this year, giving the best players in the tennis world an extra week to find their feet on the grass surface. As anticipation builds, ‘Open Court’ showcases the Women’s defending champion and Czech star, Petra Kvitová who is chasing her third Wimbledon title in five years. The show also meets one of the local estate agents charged with finding temporary homes in Wimbledon Village for some of the biggest names in the game.

Also this month, Cash faces off against 2001 Wimbledon winner Goran Ivanisevic in Stuttgart, Germany where the Mercedes Cup is taking place on grass for the first time.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

https://www.facebook.com/cnnopencourt

@Petra_Kvitova

@OfficialGoran

@cnnopencourt

@TheRealPatCash

#CNNOpenCourt

 

Make, Create, Innovate

Professor Ludwik Leible at his laboratory in Paris: Credit: STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN / Stringer

Professor Ludwik Leible at his laboratory in Paris: Credit: STEPHANE DE SAKUTIN / Stringer

Thursday 18 June at 2000 BST / 2100 CET

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business

CNN’s 'Make, Create, Innovate’ is a science and technology series that tells the stories behind the inventions and technological breakthroughs that are reshaping the world. The segment profiles pioneers in the fields of health, space exploration, telecommunications, energy, manufacturing and many more.

This episode reports on some new materials that are reimagining how objects are built. Host Nick Glass meets Ludwik Leibler (pictured), a Polish-born professor who spends his days dreaming up and creating new materials in his adopted homeland of France.

Professor Leibler has developed a new generation of plastic, one that can self-heal and is completely recyclable. He’s achieved this by adding a special ingredient; a catalyst that allows the molecular structure of the plastic to change whilst maintaining its shape and strength. Similar to the T-1000 in the Arnold Schwarzenegger movie, Terminator 2: Judgment Day, the plastic can re-form its shape after being damaged. Leibler hopes it will allow smartphones, cars and even airplanes to be able to self-heal.

He’s also taking this same approach and applying it to the human body; developing a stitch-less method to treat wounds and leave no scar in sight.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/

#MakeCreateInnovate

 

Leading Women

Carol Tomé, chief financial officer of Home Depot Inc., left, at a Home Depot store in Atlanta, Georgia, U.S: Credit: Bloomberg / Getty

Carol Tomé, chief financial officer of Home Depot Inc., left, at a Home Depot store in Atlanta, Georgia, U.S: Credit: Bloomberg / Getty

Wednesday 24 June at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 27 June at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Sunday 28 June at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

‘Leading Women’ each month meets women at the top of their field, exploring their careers, lives and ideas.

In June the programme profiles US business woman Carol Tomé (pictured left), CFO of the American retail giant, The Home Depot.

After joining The Home Depot in 1995, Tomé became chief financial officer in 2001 and in 2007 was named vice president of corporate services. Tomé discusses her rise at the company with CNN’s Isha Sesay, touching on family, what it’s like working at a Fortune 30 Company and her approach to work.

Also on the show this month is Blanca Treviño, president and CEO of Softtek an IT company founded in Monterrey, Mexico. Since she became CEO in 2000, Softtek has become the leading information technology services company in Latin America. Treviño, who in 2011 became the first women inducted into the IAOP Outsourcing Hall of Fame, speaks to CNN’s Gabriela Frias.

@IshaSesayCNN

@gfrias

 

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

The USNS Comfort, the hospital at sea.

The USNS Comfort, the hospital at sea.

Wednesday 17 June at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 20 June at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Sunday 21 June at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Saturday 27 June at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Sunday 28 June at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month on ‘Vital Signs’, Dr. Sanjay Gupta is on board the USNS Comfort as it docks in Kingston, Jamaica to deliver critical healthcare to people in need.

This floating hospital is one of the United States’ largest trauma facilities: 700 medical personnel; 5,000 stored units of blood; 12 operating rooms. This is not an average hospital, in fact it is the world’s largest floating hospital that is built inside a converted oil tanker.

The programme takes a behind-the-scenes look at how a highly-trained hospital staff can help when it takes to the high seas, meeting the nurses, doctors and surgeons dedicated to bringing life-changing services to patients all across the Caribbean, Central and South America.

cnn.com/vital-signs

@drsanjaygupta

 

Winning Post

The Belmont Stakes, New York: Credit: Al Bello / Getty

The Belmont Stakes, New York: Credit: Al Bello / Getty

Saturday 20 June at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Sunday 21 June at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Thursday 25 June at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Saturday 27 June at 0730 BST / 0830 CET 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Sunday 28 June at 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month, ‘Winning Post’ heads to New York, where host Francesca Cumani reports on super horse American Pharoah, who is on the cusp of an equine dream: winning the Triple Crown.

With the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes both won convincingly, only the Belmont Stakes stands between American Pharoah and its place in history. Speaking to Steve Cauthen, the last jockey to win all three races in one season, Cumani finds out why no horse has achieved the feat since 1978.

Before the big day, the programme visits Chantilly, for the Prix de Diane, for an inside look at how one of France’s biggest races is organised.

@francescacumani

@CNNWinningPost

CNN.com/winningpost

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.