Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 23 & 24
Pete Docter at CinemaCon 2015 introducing Pixar's Inside Out/ Credit: Alberto E. Rodriguez / Getty
May 15th, 2015
11:49 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 23 & 24

CNN Ones to Watch

400432 02: American director Pete Doctor attends a promotional event for his new movie, "Monsters, Inc" February 1, 2002 in Madrid, Spain. Doctor stands behind the "Monster, Inc" character Mike Wazowski, a feisty and quick witted, one-eyed, green ''monster.'' (Photo by Carlos Alvarez/Getty Images)

Pixar's Pete Docter/ Photo by Carlos Alvarez/Getty Images

Friday 12 June at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET

Saturday 13 June at 1430 BST/ 1530 CET and 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 14 June at 0130 BST / 0230 CET

Monday 15 June at 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Tuesday 16 June at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET

Wednesday 17 June at 0430 BST / 0530 CET and 0930 BST/ 1030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

CNN International’s series which shines a light on the next big names in culture and the arts, ‘CNN Ones to Watch’, continues in June, with an episode dedicated to movie animation.

Animation has a unique position within film and can make anything seem possible. 'CNN Ones to Watch' explores the world of animation, meeting two masters of the art form, Pete Docter (pictured) and Sylvain Chomet, who both choose up-and-coming animation talent.

US animator and director Pete Docter is an integral figure at Pixar Studios in California. He is best known for directing Monsters Inc and Up; has been nominated for six Oscars, winning one in 2010 for Best Animated Feature. June 2015 sees the release of Docter’s next directorial project, Inside Out. Predicted by many to be of the year’s biggest blockbusters, the film takes audiences inside the mind of a happy, hockey-loving 11-year-old Midwestern girl called Riley, whose world is turned upside-down when she and her parents move to San Francisco.

In CNN's programme, Docter chooses a former Pixar art director and a 2015 Oscar nominee, Dice Tsutsumi as a One to Watch. Born in Tokyo, Tsutsumi left Pixar last year to begin an independent venture aiming to bring together two power houses of animation the US and Japan. Tsustsumi, has lived in the US for the past 23 years, and ‘CNN Ones to Watch’ is with him as he works on a new feature film that blends the best tools and techniques from both countries.

Sylvain Chomet’s animation is instantly recognisable. His images convey an exciting, colourful and deeply visual perspective on life, whether that is the Tour de France in The Triplets of Belleville or the city of Edinburgh in The Illusionist. CNN meets the twice Oscar nominated animator in Provence, France seeing him work on his new film, The Thousands Miles.

Chomet nominates a British animator Daisy Jacobs as a One to Watch. Jacobs, who trained at Central Saint Martin’s School of Art in London, won a Bafta in 2014 for her short film The Bigger Picture. After a successful Kickstarter campaign, she is now creating her new movie. ‘CNN Ones to Watch’ meets Jacobs to witness her innovative 2D stop motion technique close up.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/ones-to-watch

http://www.pixar.com/about/Upcoming

@PixarInsideOut

@DisneyPixar

@tonkohouse

@lifesizefilm

#CNN1s2watch

 

 Living Golf

Padraig Harrington with Shane O’Donoghue.

Padraig Harrington with Shane O’Donoghue.

Thursday 4 June at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET

Thursday 4 June at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET

Saturday 6 June at 0730 BST/ 0830 CET and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET

Sunday 7 June at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET 

Saturday 13 June 1730 BST/ 1830 CET

Sunday 14 June 0730 BST/ 0830 CET and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

‘Living Golf’ in June returns to golfing tradition. Although the game was invented in Scotland it’s not just the Scots who have a monopoly on the sport’s tradition and culture. Its Celtic neighbour, Ireland, boasts a past and passion just as vibrant.

‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue (pictured right) returns home to discover what makes golf such a part of the fabric of the Emerald Isle. He explores how the game has shaped the Irish and how they have shaped the game.

O’Donoghue meets Padraig Harrington (pictured left) on the outskirts of Dublin, the man who started Irish golf’s recent resurgence. Harrington is a three -time major winner and the show sees where it all started for him.

O’Donoghue also tours Ireland’s rugged North West coast, uncovering a few classic courses that are as picturesque as any in the world including Royal Portrush, which recently earned the right to stage The Open Championship again.

@CNNLivingGolf

@ShaneODonoghue

cnn.com/golf/

@padraig_h

 

Make, Create, Innovate

Eye Technology on Make, Create, Innovate/ Dan Kitwood / Getty

Eye Technology on Make, Create, Innovate/ Dan Kitwood / Getty

Thursday 4 June at 2100 BST/ 2200 CET

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ is a science and technology series that tells the stories behind the inventions and technological breakthroughs that are reshaping our world, profiling pioneers in the fields of health, space exploration, telecommunications, energy, manufacturing and many more.

This week’s segment draws similarities with themes from science fiction. In the 2002 movie Minority Report, Tom Cruise’s character tries to escape from the authorities and evade capture by receiving an eye-transplant in a world where eyes are scanned every second. In reality, this isn’t so far-fetched, thanks to eye-tracking technology developed by Swedish physicist John Elvesjo.

His technology is behind human ability to control some devices using eyes. This technology is being used to monitor how shoppers browse for clothes and other items, informing marketing, branding and lay-out. It’s also empowering those with disabilities, providing a way to interact and control the world around them.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/

@JElvesjo

 

Culinary Journeys

Gaggan Anand

Gaggan Anand

Friday 5 June at 1630 BST / 1730 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET

Saturday 6 June at 2030 BST / 2130 CET

Sunday 7 June at 0130 BST/ 0230 CET

Tuesday 9 June 1030 BST / 1130 CET

Wednesday 10 June 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

‘Culinary Journeys’ is a new series of monthly half-hour shows on CNN International, which explores a different destination through the dish or cuisine that has helped put it on the map; from gazpacho soup in Madrid to Doro Wett in Addis Ababa; all through the taste buds of the world’s most celebrated chefs

The latest episode of the series features Gaggan Anand (pictured), a chef who has seasoned his reputation in Bangkok, one of the world’s culinary capitals. His eponymous restaurant in the Thai capital reinvigorates Indian cuisine by incorporating modernist cooking techniques. This year his restaurant won the top spot at Asia’s 50 Best Restaurant awards.

Anand’s progressive take on Indian cuisine may make for a fine dining experience but he remains tied to the memories, tastes and smells of his home city of Kolkata. Street food, with its rich textures and flavours, is what fuels the chef's inspiration and creativity as he blends Kolkatan food staples with kitchen wizardry.

The Indian chef’s culinary journey takes him back home to Kolkata, where he explores and recreates one of West Bengal's most traditional dishes: the Daab Chingri curry. Anand also calls upon his trusted network of local chefs and vendors who show us what it takes to cook the very best.

#CNNFood

http://www.eatatgaggan.com/

@GAGGANBANGKOK

 

CNN Business Traveler 

Richard Quest takes a look at the American airline industry/ Credit: Kevork Djansezian / Getty

Richard Quest takes a look at the American airline industry/ Credit: Kevork Djansezian / Getty

Thursday 11 June at 0930 BST / 1030 CET

Friday 12 June at 0430 BST / 0530 CET

Saturday 13 June at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month’s 'CNN Business Traveller' is ‘Flying in the USA’. Host Richard Quest criss-crosses the country, road-testing the four major American carriers – American Airlines, Delta, Southwest and United.

Flying from hub to hub, Quest tries out each American carrier and meets the executives who are changing the face of the US domestic market finding out what each is doing to upgrade their fleets and improve the customer experience.

Also on the programme, James Williams visits the U.S. Air Force Academy meeting the latest round of cadets, who put him through ‘Top Gun training’, while Quest joins the Air Force’s ‘Thunderbirds’ F-16 Acrobatic Squadron. Here he takes the trip of a lifetime… faster than the speed of sound.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/business.traveller

@richardquest

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.