Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 21 & 22
May 1st, 2015
01:00 PM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 21 & 22

The Circuit

Canadian F1 Grand Prix - Race. Credit: Mark Thompson / Getty

Canadian F1 Grand Prix – Race. Credit: Mark Thompson / Getty

Friday 29 May at 1630 BST/ 1730 CET and 2330 BST/ 0030 CET

Saturday 30 May at 2030 BST/ 2130 CET

Sunday 31 May at 0130 BST/ 0230 CET

Tuesday 2 June at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET

Wednesday 3 June at 0430 BST/ 0530 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

May’s ‘The Circuit’ comes from Canada, with a preview of the Montreal Grand Prix being held in early June. The programme takes stock of how the season has gone so far, a season dominated by 2014 champion Lewis Hamilton, but also by the resurgence of Ferrari.

Ferrari have been on the podium in each the first four races of the season already, doubling their total from the 2014 season. Ferrari driver and youngest-ever racer to win the World Drivers’ Championship, Sebastian Vettel (pictured), sits down to talk to ‘The Circuit’. He reflects on his win at the Malaysian Grand Prix and how he is settling in at his new team. He is joined in conversation with Ferrari’s team principle Maurizio Arrivabene.

The programme also meets the man who designed the Canadian Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Quebec and gets a pit stop strategy from British Formula One racing team Lotus.

 cnn.com/the-circuit/

@AmandaJDavies

@chrissymacCNN 

#CNNTheCircuit

Open Court

 

Nadal lifting the trophy at Roland Garros in 2014. Credit: Clive Brunskill / Getty

Nadal lifting the trophy at Roland Garros in 2014. Credit: Clive Brunskill / Getty

Thursday 21 May at 1030 BST/1130 CET and 1730 BST/1830 CET

Saturday 21 May at 0730 BST/0830 CET and 2230 BST/2330 CET

Sunday 23 May at 1730 BST/1830 CET

Saturday 30 May at 1730 BST/1830 CET

Sunday 31 May at 0730 BST/0830 CET and 2230 BST/2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month CNN’s ‘Open Court’ travels to Paris to preview the French Open Roland Garros. Host Pat Cash explores the event which in recent years has been dominated by Rada Nadal. This year Nadal will be competing for his tenth tournament victory in eleven years.

Mats Wilander, one of the most successful players ever to compete at Roland Garros, is also featured in the show. Wilander won seven grand slam single titles in his career including three in Paris. Cash competed against the Swede during his playing days, and the two legends reunite for ‘Open Court’ to have a hit and chat about Wilander’s French Open memories.

The main court at Roland Garros is the Chatrier Court, but for some it is ‘the court that Rafa built’, a nod to his success in recent years. The programme looks into the man behind the court, French tennis player Philippe Chatrier, exploring his life and the court that was named after him.

@mwilander

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

https://www.facebook.com/cnnopencourt

@cnnopencourt

@TheRealPatCash

#CNNOpenCourt

Leading Women: Michelle Wie

 

Kristie Lu Stout interviews Michelle Wie for CNN's 'Leading Women'

Kristie Lu Stout interviews Michelle Wie for CNN's 'Leading Women'

Wednesday 27 May at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET

In May, CNN’s ‘Leading Women’ interviews American golfer Michelle Wie (pictured left). Wie is the current U.S. Women's Open Golf Champion and one of the world’s most recognisable female golfers.

Talking to CNN correspondent Kristie Lu Stout (pictured right), Wie discusses role models, how she handles criticism, and the future of women in golf.

She also touches on her first major win at the US Open in 2014 discussing the confidence and happiness it gave her. Wie is determined to win more majors and feels that with the right balance of motivation and hard work they will come.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/business/leading-women

@CNNIwomen 

@themichellewie

Make, Create, Innovate

 

Dr. Andy Hildebrand’s AutoTune has revolutionised music recording. Credit: Tim Whitby / Stringer

Dr. Andy Hildebrand’s AutoTune has revolutionised music recording. Credit: Tim Whitby / Stringer

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business

CNN’s 'Make, Create, Innovate’ is a science and technology series that tells the stories behind the inventions and technological breakthroughs that are reshaping the world. The segment profiles pioneers in the fields of health, space exploration, telecommunications, energy, manufacturing and many more.

This episode takes a look at AutoTune, a technology that has revolutionised the music industry. Developed by Dr. Andy Hildebrand in 1997 the AutoTune system essentially corrects the pitch of a singer’s voice and improves the quality.

Hildebrand previously worked at Exxon, searching for oil reserves through a technique known as signalling processing. After tiring of the oil and gas industry, he returned to his first love; music studying a MA in music composition.

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ meets Dr Hildebrand who shares inside knowledge on the system he created, who explains how it was influenced by his previous career in the oil and gas industry through his knowledge of signalling processing.

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/

#MakeCreateInnovate

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

 

Donor Stuart Philips in Massachusetts in to surprise Celia

Donor Stuart Philips in Massachusetts in to surprise Celia

Wednesday 20 May at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET

Saturday 23 May at 0630 BST/ 0730 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET

Sunday 24 May at 1330 BST 1430 CET

Saturday 30 May at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET

Sunday 31 May at 0630 BST/ 0730 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month’s ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ explores the complex and elaborate global world of blood donation.

Blood stem cells and bone marrow donations are needed for those with blood cancer and blood disorders. ‘Vital Signs’ looks at how these donations save lives across the world and meets some of those who are involved in the process.

James Harrison is one of these people. Harrison lives on Australia’s central coast and loves long walks, stamp collecting, and also donating blood. He has donated life-saving blood nearly every week for the last 60 years. This endeavour has earned him the nickname of “the man with the golden arm”. Rare blood donations from people like Harrison are credited with saving the life of more than two million babies.

Stuart Phillips (pictured right) lives in Woking, in the UK and is also a donor. In 2012, Phillips provided lifesaving bone marrow for Celia Hutchinson (pictured middle) of Boston, Massachusetts. The two are now in regular contact with one another, but until now have never met. In this episode they do, as Phillips flies to Massachusetts in a bid to surprise the unsuspecting Celia.

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/specials/vital-signs

https://twitter.com/drsanjaygupta

http://www.anthonynolan.org/

http://bethematch.org/

Winning Post

 

The 2014 Kentucky Derby. Credit: Bill Frakes / Getty

The 2014 Kentucky Derby. Credit: Bill Frakes/ Getty

Thursday 28 May at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET

Saturday 30 May at 0730 BST/ 0830 CET and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET

Sunday 31 May at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET

This month ‘Winning Post’ heads to Louisville, Kentucky home of the Kentucky Derby. Known as the ‘most exciting two minutes in sport’ the event is a blend of tradition, big money and huge crowds.

The ‘Bluegrass State’ of Kentucky has held the tournament since 1875 and has long been on the bucket list of racing fans around the world. Host Francesca Cumani travels to Louisville to report on the parties, talk to the trainers and to hang out backside at the event.

@francescacumani

@CNNWinningPost

CNN.com/winningpost

 

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.