‘CNN Ones to Watch’ – Photography
Yann Arthus Bertrand
April 9th, 2015
05:48 AM ET

‘CNN Ones to Watch’ – Photography

 'CNN Ones to Watch' focuses on the rising stars of photography

 Friday April 10 at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET

 

  •  Yann Arthus-Bertrand chooses his “ones to watch” – Ireland’s Richard Mosse and France’s Nicolas Henry
  • Dutch photographer and director Anton Corbijn gives his thoughts on the art of photography

This month’s ‘CNN Ones to Watch’, airing on Friday April 10, explores a world of silent drama – the art of photography.

The French photographer Yann Arthus-Bertrand will be nominating our two “ones to watch”. Celebrated for his aerial images, which have captured Planet Earth like no one else before, Arthus-Bertrand’s book “Earth from Above” has sold over 300 million copies and his movie “Home” has been seen by 600 million worldwide. Arthus-Bertrand tells ‘CNN Ones to Watch’: “I think there is something that all photographers have in common – that we adore what we do. We often work alone, with many obstacles, no money, images that aren't published, but at the end of the day – we all share this profound passion for the profession we have.”

‘CNN Ones to Watch’ joins Arthus-Bertrand at work in the sky and in the studio, as he lays the finishing touches to a new documentary, “Human”, which he plans to release at Cannes Film Festival in May. His choice of rising stars reflects his passion for photojournalism and the power of a creative image.

Irish conceptual documentary photographer Richard Mosse is named by Arthus-Bertrand as a talent to watch. Already awarded the Deutsche Borse Photography Prize and exhibited at the Irish Pavilion of the Venice Biennale 2013, Mosse works in the Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo with a discontinued infrared camera – giving a shocking pink hue to the wild landscapes and scenes of human tragedy. CNN meets him in his New York studio as he lays the finishing touches to a new set of images. Mosse explains his approach to photography: “In all my work I'm mostly interested in the points of failure of documentary photography, and really about myself. The points of my own failure and where I can't express, and really to hit those boundaries and try to break apart my own medium, try to smash documentary photography to pieces to see how it was constructed… and then to put it together again in a new way, to surprise people.”

Arthus-Bertrand also selects French photographer Nicolas Henry as ‘one to watch’. Henry’s work incorporates staged photography and theatrical techniques to create large-scale productions with various props, sets and cinematic lighting. CNN meets Henry as he undertakes a new photograph: a comical scene in the Chateau de Longchamps, France. Arthus-Bertrand says of Henry: “He's more an artist than a photographer, and also he has a very big heart. He's very close to the people. For me, he's an activist like me in his work.”

‘CNN Ones to Watch’ also interviews renowned Dutch photographer and film director Anton Corbijn about his thoughts on the art of photography. His love of music has produced memorable images of many of the world’s most prominent artists – from U2, Depeche Mode and the Rolling Stones to Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen and David Bowie. His 60th birthday is being celebrated in The Hague by two retrospective exhibitions of his work. Corbijn tells CNN: “It's a really good time for photography, an amazing time for photography. There's so much stuff that goes out unfiltered you know, because everybody has a camera… but, yet, the galleries and museums are more open to photography than ever, so there is a lot of space for real photography too.”

 

‘CNN Ones to Watch’ airs at the following times on CNN International:

Friday April 10 at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1630 BST/ 1730 CET

Saturday April 11 at 1430 BST/1530 CET and 2030 BST/ 2130 CET

Sunday April 12 at 0130 BST/ 0230 CET

Monday April 13 at 0430 BST/ 0530 CET

Tuesday April 14 at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET

Wednesday April 15 at 0430 BST/ 0530 CET and 0930 BST/ 1030 CET

www.cnn.com/onestowatch

 

Dan Faulks

Director, Communications

CNN International

Tel: +44 (0) 20 7693 1362

Mob: +44 (0) 7554 439100

@danfaulksCNN

www.cnn.com/international


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.