March 19th, 2015
09:36 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 14 & 15

Culinary Journeys

IMG_3873

Dominique Crenn at Atelier Crenn (Credit: Chuck Thompson CNN)

Friday 3 April at 1630 BST/ 1730 CET and 2330 GMT/ 0030 CET

Saturday 4 April 2030 BST/ 2130 CET

Sunday 5 April 0130 BST/ 0230 CET

Tuesday 7 April 1030 BST/ 1130 CET

Wednesday 8 April 0430 BST/ 0530 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

‘Culinary Journeys’ is a new series of monthly half-hour shows on CNN International, which explores a different destination through the dish or cuisine that has helped put it on the map; from gazpacho soup in Madrid to Doro Wett in Addis Ababa; Khao chae in Thailand to pierogies in Krakow.

The second episode of the series features French Chef Dominique Crenn (pictured), who is as skilled with prose as she is with a knife. The only woman to run a Michelin two star restaurant in North America, Crenn calls the food served in her San Francisco kitchen, Atelier Crenn, “poetic culinaria”.

Known for her innovation and creativity, Dominique Crenn begins this culinary journey by immersing her tastebuds in Basque gastronomy. She explores the food culture of the region and meets a pioneering force in Spanish cooking, the Arzak family. Elena Arzak, noted as one of the best chefs in the world, co-heads a 3 star Michelin restaurant with her father, Juan Mari Arzak. For over 100 years, the family run restaurant has helped redefine Basque cuisine. Crenn joins Arzak in her research laboratory in San Sebastian to re-invent marmitako, a traditional fish stew.

https://twitter.com/dominiquecrenn

https://twitter.com/ateliercrenn

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/travel/journeys

 

Living Golf

Bubba Watson

'Living Golf’ meets Bubba Watson

Thursday 2 April at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET

Saturday 4 April at 0730 BST/ 0830 CET and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET

Sunday 5 April at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET 

Duration: 30 Minutes

 In April, ‘Living Golf’ focusses on the rich history of the Augusta National, the home of the upcoming Masters. The programme features personal access to those who have left their mark on the event which takes place this month.

Three-time champion Nick Faldo and defending champion Bubba Watson (pictured) explore the changes The Masters has had to make in recent years. These two greats of golf discuss how The Masters has had to move with the times, expanding its pristine canvas in order to keep up with the distances players are hitting the ball.

Also in the show is two-time champion Bernhard Langer, who first won The Masters in 1985 at the age of 27. The German golfer was among a group of Europeans who challenged US dominance of Augusta during the 1980s. ‘Living Golf’ looks at how Langer’s meticulous and unique approach to the game helped him succeed at Augusta.

The programme also features Steve Williams, one of the game’s most successful caddies. Having won four Masters with Tiger Woods and Adam Scott, few people know more about what it takes to win on golf’s most hallowed turf.

https://twitter.com/ShaneODonoghue

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/golf/

 

CNN Business Traveller

488586965

Havana, Cuba (Credit: Getty Images)

Thursday 9 April at 0930 BST/ 1030 CET

Friday 10 April 0430 BST/ 0530 CET

Saturday 11 April 0530 BST/ 0630 CET and 1630 BST/ 1730 CET

Duration: 30 Minutes

In December 2014, President Obama announced his desire to improve US diplomatic relations with Cuba. This included the relaxation of the 54 years old embargo. This month, for the first time ever, ‘CNN Business Traveller’ is heading to Cuba.

Cuba bursts with colourful vintage cars and old-time Americana charm, with its capital Havana serving as a time capsule of the late 50s – the last time Cuba imported goods from the US. As the walls fall down on the 54-year-old embargo, will American tourism and capitalism rise on the island?

Host Richard Quest travels through old Havana, exploring the existing landscape and how it might change: what corporations will set up shop? What spots are the hoteliers eyeing? Which airlines will fly in? Quest speaks to the people that are about to change the face of Cuba even trying his hand at rolling classic Cuban cigars, as a popular cigar company opens up about their own potential gains in the US market.

https://twitter.com/richardquest

http://www.cnn.com/specials/travel/business-traveller


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.