Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 11 & 12
‘Open Court’ follows Serena Williams return to Indian Wells after 14 years (credit: Getty Images)
March 5th, 2015
07:56 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 11 & 12

Open Court

Serena Williams’ playing at the 2001 Indian Wells (credit: Getty Images)

Serena Williams playing at the 2001 Indian Wells (credit: Getty Images)

Thursday 19 March at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 21 March at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 2130 GMT / 2230 CET

Sunday 22 March at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 28 March at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Sunday 29 March at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 2230 BST / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

The Indian Wells Masters 1000 tournament attracts more than 400,000 fans to the desert in Southern California. It’s not one of the tennis world’s grand slam events, but it draws crowds on par with Wimbledon and Roland Garros.

Hosted by Pat Cash, ‘Open Court’ in March explores why American tennis fans are attending this event in record numbers, and why it’s growing while other U.S. tournaments have closed their doors.

Indian Wells will be marking its 40th anniversary in 2015, and all eyes will be on Serena Williams (pictured) as she makes her return.

Shortly after Williams won the Australian Open this January, the world number 1 announced that she would be ending her 14-year boycott of Indian Wells in a spirit of “forgiveness.” The move comes after suffering racist abuse at the tournament in 2001 during her final match. ‘Open Court’ is there as Williams returns, talking to those who were there in 2001, and also today’s fans who will be watching her.

‘Open Court’ also gives viewers a sense of what it’s like on and off court at Indian Wells, including going behind scenes for the ATP’s 2015 marketing campaign, introducing the state-of-the-art replay technology called “Free D” which has a component to it that resembles the Matrix.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

https://www.facebook.com/cnnopencourt

@cnnopencourt

@TheRealPatCash

@serenawilliams

@BNPPARIBASOPEN

#IndianWells

Leading Women

CEO of Astro Malaysia Rohana Rozan

CEO of Astro Malaysia, Rohana Rozhan

Wednesday 25 March at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 28 March at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1830 GMT / 1930 CET

Sunday 29 March at 1330 BST / 1430 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

CNN’s ‘Leading Women’ meet women at the top of their field, exploring their careers, lives and ideas.

This month, ‘Leading Women’ profiles Rohana Rozhan, the CEO of Astro Malaysia, and Ertharin Cousin, the head of the World Food Programme.

The CEO of Astro Malaysia, Rohana Rozhan (pictured) is in charge of producing over 9000 hours of original content a year ranging from radio broadcasts to hits on the silver screen. The company employs over 5000 people with a diverse mix of employees, and out of those 5000, 52 per cent are women. Rozhan tells ‘Leading Women’, “One of the things that we are very passionate about is that women have to be the best for the job, every job.”

Ertharin Cousin is ranked number 45th on the Forbes Magazine's List of The World's 100 Most Powerful Women and named in   the TIME 100 most influential people in the world list. She served under President Barack Obama as the United States Ambassador to the United Nations Agencies for Food and Agriculture from 2009 to 2012.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/business/leading-women

@CNNIWomen

Human to Hero

Boxer Wladimir Klitchko (credit: Getty Images)

Boxer Wladimir Klitchko (credit: Getty Images)

Wednesday 18 March at 1445 GMT / 1545 CET

Wednesday 25 March at 1445 GMT / 1545 CET

‘Human to Hero’ airs within World Sport

CNN’s ‘Human to Hero’ gets to the heart of what it means to be a sporting star, exploring the dedication, determination and inspiration involved for the world's best athletes.

On 18 March, ‘Human to Hero’ meets South African swimmer, Chad Le Clos. Chad is an Olympic gold medallist, who won Gold at London 2012 against the most awarded Olympian of all time, Michael Phelps. He is also a World and Commonwealth champion, currently holding the record for 50m and 100m butterfly. Le Clos is currently preparing for the Rio Games where he hopes to come on top again, keeping on track to becoming one of South Africa's most important athletes.

The following week 25 March, ‘Human to Hero’ profiles Wladimir Klitchko (pictured), the Ukrainian boxer who is a multiple time heavyweight champion. Klitchko is the second longest reigning heavyweight champion of all time, with the second most successful career grand total title defences of 22 (including his "super" title recognition). On top of that, he's also an Olympic champion, having won at Atlanta in 1996.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/sport/human-to-hero

@chadleclos

@Klitschko

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Dr. Sanjay Gupta with Shahzad Ahmed

Dr. Sanjay Gupta with Shahzad Ahmed

Wednesday 18 March at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 21 March at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1830 GMT / 1930 CET

Sunday 22 March at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Saturday 28 March at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET

Sunday 29 March at 0630 BST / 0730 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

This month’s "Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta," goes on a journey to the Middle East, examining what extremes people are going to in order to change their lifestyles and give themselves a second chance at a healthy life. The programme shows the valuable lessons people use in the fight against obesity and diabetes.

The show meets Shahzad Ahmed who was overweight, hypertensive, and diabetic. He realises he needs to turn his life around if he wants to see his young daughter grow up.

As obesity and diabetes continue to rise around the globe, it has reached epidemic level in the Middle East, where the luxurious lifestyle and booming wealth of the Gulf region have led to sedentary behaviors and an overabundance of food.

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/specials/vital-signs

@drsanjaygupta

 

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.