Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 7&8
This month’s ‘Open Court’ interviews Richard ‘The Flying Dutchman’ Krakicek (Credit: Getty Images)
February 6th, 2015
11:54 AM ET

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 7&8

Open Court

‘Open Court’ features wheelchair tennis player Esther Vergeer (Credit: Getty Images)

‘Open Court’ features wheelchair tennis player Esther Vergeer (Credit: Getty Images)

Thursday 19 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 21 February at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 22 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 28 February at 1730 GMT /1830 CET

Sunday 1 March at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

The Rotterdam ATP/500 tournament is one of the mainstays of the ATP tour.  This year’s tournament has attracted some of the biggest names in the game – Andy Murray, Stan Wawrinka, Milos Raonic, Tomas Berdych, and Grigor Dimitrov.  But who will be left standing on finals day?

This month’s ‘Open Court’ has rare access to one of the ATP’s most popular tournaments, including a backstage pass to this year’s grand finale.  The programme is there from start to finish talking to the players, coaches, and giving an insight as to what goes on well before the players walk out on court. 

The Rotterdam tournament is also at the forefront of wheelchair tennis. ‘Open Court’ host Pat Cash introduces viewers to the story of Esther Vergeer, the Dutch athlete, who is known to be the “Roger Federer” of her sport.  After retiring two years ago, she has been working to grow wheelchair tennis. She appears on the programme as the wheelchair tennis tournament unfolds next to the ATP event.

Join ‘Open Court’ for a special Dutch edition of ‘Open Court’ from Rotterdam, which includes a tour of the city with 1996 Wimbledon champion Richard ‘The Flying Dutchman’ Krajicek

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

https://www.facebook.com/cnnopencourt

https://twitter.com/cnnopencourt

https://twitter.com/TheRealPatCash

https://twitter.com/esthervergeer

https://twitter.com/richardkrajicek

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

 This month Dr.Sanjay Gupta visits the world’s Blue Zones and meets people living to 100 years old

This month Dr.Sanjay Gupta visits the world’s Blue Zones and meets people living to 100 years old

Wednesday 18 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 21 February at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Sunday 22 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Saturday 28 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Sunday 1 March at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

This month’s ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ explores questions that affect all of us – what if you could actually slow the aging process and live longer?  Would you be willing to change your lifestyle today if you knew it could add years on to your life? How important is where we live compared to how we live when it comes to aging well?

The programme tries to unlock the secrets of living longer by learning from those who have lived the longest.

Dr. Sanjay Gupta visits some of the world’s Blue Zones. The Blue Zones are hotspots, where people live longer and healthier than the rest of the world. Dr. Sanjay Gupta travels to Loma Linda in California and Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica. He also visits the beach towns south of Los Angeles, which are putting Blue Zone solutions to work.

Visiting these places, Dr. Sanjay Gupta meets the centenarians who have some simple lessons on the art of aging and he finds out what the chances are of living to 100.

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/specials/vital-signs

https://twitter.com/drsanjaygupta

Leading Women

Chairperson of the State Bank of India, Arundhati Bhattacharya

Chairperson of the State Bank of India, Arundhati Bhattachary

 

Wednesday 25 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 28 February at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Sunday 1 March at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

CNN’s ‘Leading Women’ meets women at the top of their field, exploring their careers, lives and ideas.

This month, ‘Leading Women’ profiles Arundhati Bhattacharya, the Chairperson for the State Bank of India, and Ann Cairns, who is the president of International Markets for MasterCard Worldwide.

Arundhati Bhattacharya is the first female chairperson of the subcontinent’s largest lender and was named the 36th most powerful woman in the world by Forbes.

Bhattacharya talks to ‘Leading Women’ about how, in 2006, she saw herself at a crossroads as she decided to leave her job and her promising career to ensure a better quality of education for her daughter. Her mentor and a former bank chairman Mr. MS Verma told her “not to give it up”.

And she didn’t. In 2013, Bhattacharya became the youngest person to take the reins to the centuries old bank.

In her 38 years with the State Bank of India, Bhattacharya has held a variety of positions all across India. These different positions have helped her to value these jobs as a necessary learning experience.

Looking to the future, Bhattacharya is all about keeping with the ever changing business landscape in India, transforming a centuries-old bank, making it relevant to India’s future generations. For Bhattacharya change is the only constant.

‘Leading Women’ also meets Ann Cairns, who is the president of International Markets for MasterCard Worldwide. Cairns has had many types of careers – before her time at MasterCard Worldwide, she started her career as a research scientist, and even spent time in offshore engineering. In the late 1980s she moved into banking, then into restructuring before joining MasterCard in 2011 as the head of international business. Cairns’ job involves around 60% of the company’s revenue and covers all countries outside the US.

 Cnn.com/leadingwomen

@CNNIWomen

Winning Post

‘Winning Post’ travels to Doha, Qatar (Credit: Getty Images)

‘Winning Post’ travels to Doha, Qatar (Credit: Getty Images)

Thursday 26 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 28 February at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET

Sunday 1 March at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

This month, ‘Winning Post’ heads to Qatar to see how the country’s horse racing industry has evolved during the past four decades. This year, Qatar Racing Club will be celebrating its 40th anniversary since The Racing and Equestrian Club (REC) was established. With this anniversary,‘Winning Post’ explores how the nation has embraced horse racing as a sport.

Located in New Rayyan, Doha, Qatar Racing Club has a mission of developing thoroughbred and pure bred Arabian horse racing events, organising Arabian horse shows and encouraging horse owners to develop horse breeding. ‘Winning Post’ host Francesca Cumani travels to the races in Doha, where she talks to some of the country’s most influential figures from the racing world.

@francescacumani

@CNNWinningPost

CNN.com/winningpost

Human to Hero  

Italian Footballer Alessandro Del Piero

Italian Footballer Alessandro Del Piero

Sebastien Ogier:

Wednesday 18 February at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET, 1345 GMT / 1445 CET, 1545 GMT / 1645 CET , 2230 GMT / 2330 CET and 2345 GMT / 0045 CET

Thursday 19 February at 0535GMT / 0635 CET

Alessandro Del Piero:

Wednesday 25 February at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET, 1345 GMT / 1445 CET, 1545 GMT / 1645 CET , 2230 GMT / 2330 CET and 2345 GMT / 0045 CET

Thursday 26 February at 0535GMT / 0635 CET

CNN’s ‘Human to Hero’ gets to the heart of what it means to be a sporting star, exploring the dedication, determination and inspiration it takes to be one the world's best athletes. In February, the programme meets two men reclaiming their sports in different ways.

Sebastien Ogier is a 31-year-old French Rally driver, currently competing for the VW team in some of the most incredible circuits. After the sport was dominated many years by his compatriot Seb Loeb, Ogier has now become the man to beat after winning back to back world titles. From winning his first race back in 2010, to titles in 2013 and 2014, Ogier hopes to reclaim the title for a third time this season.

Also in February, ‘Human to Hero’ meets 40-year-old Italian football legend Alessandro Del Piero, who was part of the winning World Cup team in 2006. He won Italian footballer of the year in 1998 and 2008 and the Golden Foot Award in 2007. During his long and successful career, he has played for Padova, Juventus, Sydney FC and most recently took part in the newly launched Indian Super League, playing for the Delhi Dynamos.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/sport/human-to-hero

@SebOgier

@delpieroale

Make, Create, Innovate

A transistor from the 1960s (Credit: Getty Images)

A transistor from the 1960s (Credit: Getty Images)

Thursday 26 February at 2100 GMT / 2200 CET

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ is a science and technology series that tells the stories behind the inventions and technological breakthroughs that are reshaping our world.

This episode explores the transistor ‘Memristor’. The backbone of the electronic revolution of the 50s and 60s through to today is the evolution of the transistor. The transistor is a small component that acts like a switch turning electric current on and off, where the classic binary computer code of 0 for ‘off’ and 1 for ‘on.’

The memristor is the next stage in the evolution, a component that can switch between 0, 1, and 2,3,4,5 and so on. It gives the ability to transfer and store much more information and it is much, much smaller. With these properties the memristor has the potential to develop a computer chip that can act like the human brain.

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ looks at how the chip could have a disruptive effect on future electronics as transistors did in the 1940s.

http://edition.cnn.com/specials/tech/make-create-innovate

 


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Comments are closed.