CNN

January 9th, 2015

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 3&4

Leading Women

CNN anchor Gabriela Frias interview with Christine Lagarde

Wednesday 28 January at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1730 GMT/ 1830 CET

Saturday 31 January at 0630 GMT/ 0730 CET and 1930 GMT/ 2030 CET

Sun 1 February at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET

Duration: 15 minutes
In a special interview, ‘Leading Women’ CNN has unique access to IMF Managing Director Christine Lagarde in Washington DC, Peru and Chile. Lagarde talks to CNN anchor Gabriela Frias about why women can lead an organisation through a crisis; using her role on the world stage to change the global workforce; why she ­doesn’t want to be President of France and how she is coping with the ongoing political fraud case.

Lagarde is considered one of the world’s most powerful women. Forbes placed her in 5th position in their 2014 list for the most powerful women in the world. A woman of many firsts, Lagarde was the first woman to chair the global law firm Baker and McKenzie, the first female finance minister of France and the first woman to lead the IMF.

She talks to ‘Leading Women’ about the significance of being the first female leader of the IMF: “That’s the reason why I think I want to do a good job, because I don’t want to let my female colleagues around the globe down. I don’t want them to turn around to me and say, you know, ‘why did you make a mess out of it?’ So I feel an added burden and an added responsibility as a result of that.”

The special will be broadcast on CNN International on Wednesday January 28th at 1130 CET and 1830 CET

Programme Trailer

Cnn.com/leadingwomen

@CNNIWomen

 

Open Court

Stan Wawrinka with the Men’s Australian Open Cup 2014 (Credit: Getty Images)

Stan Wawrinka with the Men’s Australian Open Cup 2014 (Credit: Getty Images)

Thursday 22 January at 1030 GMT/ 1130 CET and 1730 GMT/ 1830 CET

Saturday 23 January at 0730 GMT/ 0830 CET and 2230 GMT/ 2330 CET

Sunday 24 January at 1730 GMT/ 1830 CET

Saturday 31 January at 1730 GMT/1830 CET

Sunday 1 February at 0730 GMT/ 0830 CET and 2230 GMT/ 2330 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

‘Open Court’ travels down under for the Australian Open 2015, as the world’s best women’s and men’s tennis players get ready for the first tennis grand slam of 2015 in Melbourne.

Pat Cash hosts the show and interviews past Australian Open winners, including champion Li Na. She first made headlines when she became the first ever Asian to win a grand slam singles title, before creating more headlines in October when she chose to retire from tennis. What’s next for one of the biggest pioneers in the 2014 sport?

Cash also meets with 2014 champion Stan Wawrinka, who will be defending his title. Wawrinka tells ‘Open Court’ he sees Serbian Novak Djokovic as favourite to win in 2015.

In the programme, Cash also speaks to Australia’s current number one player 19-year-old Nick Kyrgios. He broke onto the tennis scene last year, when he knocked out world number one Rafa Nadal at Wimbledon, but can he now live up to the hype surrounding him?

‘Open Court’ meets retired seven-time grand slam winner including four Australian Opens – Evonne Goolagong Cawley, as she opens up about her childhood within her Aboriginal family, which shaped her life, inspiring her success on court.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPORT/tennis/

https://www.facebook.com/cnnopencourt

https://twitter.com/cnnopencourt

https://twitter.com/TheRealPatCash

 

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Dr. Sanjay Gupta testing out NASA’s equipment

Dr. Sanjay Gupta testing out NASA’s equipment

Wednesday 21 January at 1030 GMT/1130 CET and 1730 GMT/1830 CET

Saturday 24 January at 0630 GMT/0730 CET and 1930 GMT/2030 CET

Sunday 25 January at 1430 GMT/ 1530 CET

Saturday 31 January at 1330 GMT/1430 CET

Sunday 1 February at 0630 GMT/0730 CET and 1930 GMT/2030 CET

‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ will looking at a laboratory that is teaching more than ever known about disease, muscle and bone health, and eyesight. The lab has an environment that impacts the human body in ways never seen before. This month’s ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ will be exploring the International Space Station, and the impact that space has on the human body.

Dr. Sanjay Gupta tries to understand the diets and nutrition that are the most critical elements of keeping the astronauts healthy on International Space Station for extended periods of time. ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ will travel to NASA, where he’ll be eating freeze-dried food in NASA’s test kitchen and testing out zero-gravity exercise.

‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ will be looking at how medical research in space is benefiting life on Earth with a brain surgery robot in Calgary. The surgeon-controlled robot called “neuroArm” is pushing the boundaries of robotics in neurosurgery. “NeuroArm” was made by the same Canadian company that makes the robotic arm on the International Space Station.

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/specials/vital-signs

https://twitter.com/drsanjaygupta

 

Tags
CNN