CNN

September 12th, 2014

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 40 & 41

CNN Business Traveller

The Skt Petri Hotel in Copenhagen (Credit: Skt Petri Hotel)

The Skt Petri Hotel in Copenhagen (Credit: Skt Petri Hotel)

 
Thursday 9 October at 0930 BST/1030 CET
Friday 10 October at 0630 BST/0730 CET
Saturday 11 October at 0730 BST/0830 CET and 1630 BST/1730 CET
Sunday 12 October at 1130 BST/1230 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

Travelling is all about experiencing culture, and today, hotels are not only about functionality, but also beauty. In this month’s ‘CNN Business Traveller’, host Richard Quest takes a tour of the Nordic countries, with their distinctive take on design, to discover the importance of art to the traveller.

Quest begins in Copenhagen, where the SKT Petri Hotel (pictured) encapsulates simplistic Danish design, before continuing on to the Thief in Oslo. Here, Petter Stordalen, one of Scandinavia’s most recognisable entrepreneurs, and CEO of Nordic Choice Hotels, takes the programme for a tour – with a visit to the hotel’s inbuilt art museum, and a meeting with the hotel’s very own art historian.

Quest also uncovers the artistic benefits of staying with a smaller hotel chain, with the leader of ‘Small Luxury Hotels of the World’ telling the programme, why, creatively, small hotels can offer the customer more.

 
cnn.com/business.traveller
@richardquest

Inside the Middle East

Arabia’s last remaining leopards are one of the most critically endangered animals in the world (Credit: Hadi Al Hikmani and Oman Office for Conservation of the Environment)

Arabia’s last remaining leopards are one of the most critically endangered animals in the world (Credit: Hadi Al Hikmani and Oman Office for Conservation of the Environment)

 
Wednesday 1 October at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 4 October at 0530 BST/ 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Sunday 5 October at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Saturday 11 October at 0630 BST/ 0730 CET
Sunday 12 October at 0530 BST/ 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

This month, ‘Inside the Middle East’ explores southern Oman’s Dhofar Mountains and the ancient port city of Salalah.  The Arabian desert near Salalah is one of the hottest, most inhospitable places on the planet.  But every year, the region’s annual khareef – or monsoon – transforms normally arid land into one of the greenest places in the Middle East.

In the heart of the khareef, the programme meets two young Omani researchers on a trek to photograph and document Dhofar’s unique natural environment.  The team, led by Hadi Al Hikmani, is racing to conserve Arabia’s last remaining leopards (pictured), one of the most critically endangered animals in the world.

‘Inside the Middle East’ also meets Dhofar’s traditional highlanders, the ‘jebali’, nomads who live in the mountains of southern Oman.  The programme experiences their distinct culture unique to the region, and one of their most well-known meals: freshly-grilled camel meat cooked on hot stones.

In downtown Salalah’s bustling souq, the perfume capital of Arabia, the show meets an American entrepreneur working to preserve the region’s historical trade of frankincense, an aromatic resin that has been used as incense since before the Bible.

 

@CNNIME
#CNNIME
cnn.com/middle.east/
@cnnmiddleeast
 

Fashion Season: Paris

Klass hosts ‘Fashion Season: Paris’, here seen in February 2014 (Credit: Getty images)
Myleene Klass hosts ‘Fashion Season: Paris’ (Credit: Getty images)

 

Friday 3 October at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Saturday 4 October at 1430 BST / 1530 CET and 2030 BST / 2130 CET
Sunday 5 October at 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Monday 6 October at 0930 BST / 1030 CET
Tuesday 7 October at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

In this half-hour special, ‘Fashion Season: Paris’ wraps up CNN’s theme week dedicated to Paris Fashion Week, hosted by Myleene Klass (pictured), who meets designers, models and bloggers, and takes in the latest fashion shows.

Going behind-the-scenes at the busiest and most stylish week of the year in the French capital, the programme meets China’s biggest catwalk model, Liu Wen, who in five years, has risen from an unknown teenager to become the fifth highest-earning model in the world, following campaigns with Calvin Klein and Hugo Boss.

‘Fashion Season: Paris’ also visits the iconic French fashion house Balmain to speak with the brand’s young creative director Olivier Rousteing, and meets Etienne Russo as he prepares for one of his biggest shows to date.

Reports also include an interview with the editor of Vogue China, Angelica Cheung as well as a look at the fashion bloggers who are making fashion week a lucrative business.

 

@KlassMyleene
cnn.com/style

 

Human to Hero

Kelly Slater, widely recognised as the most successful surfer of all time (Credit: Getty images)
Kelly Slater, widely recognised as the most successful surfer of all time (Credit: Getty images)

 

Kelly Slater: Wednesday 1st October at 1700 BST/1800 CET and 2230 BST/2330 CET
Emelie Forsberg: Wednesday 8th October at 1700 BST/1800 CET and 2230 BST/2330 CET
 
‘Human to Hero’ airs within World Sport

 

‘Human to Hero’ gets to the heart of what it takes to be a sporting star, exploring the discipline, dedication and determination involved, as well as the sources of inspiration for the world’s best athletes.

Kelly Slater (pictured) is an American professional surfer who has dominated competitive surfing for the past two decades, to become the most successful champion in the history of the sport. Crowned ASP World Tour Champion a record 11 times, Slater is both the youngest and the oldest, to win the title. Originally from Florida, Slater made his surfing debut at the tender age of five and was poised for the pro ranks by the age of 18, quickly signing with Quicksilver. He has also largely been credited with redefining the sport, with a new approach to surfing.  An accomplished guitarist and golfer, Slater also appeared as a recurring character on the global hit 1990’s TV show ‘Baywatch’.

An inhabitant of the Swedish city of Tromso, deep inside the polar circle, Emelie Forsberg is an avid lover of mountains and nature, having trekked, skiied, and climbed since a very young age. Forsberg made her debut running trails, and has since become one of the most promising young stars of the extreme sport known as ‘sky running’; the practice of long-distance mountain running above 2000 metres of altitude over difficult terrain. At 27, she is now seen as the face of a new era for the sport, where young runners are dominating.

 

@kellyslater
cnn.com/human-to-hero

Living Golf

This month ‘Living Golf’ attends the Evian Championship in France (Credit: Getty Images)
This month ‘Living Golf’ attends the Evian Championship in France (Credit: Getty Images)
 
Thursday 2 October at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 4 October at 0830 BST/ 0930 CET and 2200 BST/ 2300 CET
Sunday 5 October at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 11 October at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Sunday 12 October at 0830 BST/ 0930 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

 

In October, ‘Living Golf’ profiles the recent rise in popularity of women’s professional golf.

As top players congregate for the Evian Championships, host Shane O’Donoghue travels to the French city of Evian-les-bains to take an in-depth look at the past, present and future stars in the game.

He speaks to golf legend Annika Sorenstam, at the championship to present the inaugural Rolex Annika Major Award to the best player in the Grand Slams this year.

With the growth of the game creating major, marketable names, ‘Living Golf’ finds out what opportunities await female professionals, and how much social media has helped. With the average age on tour getting younger and younger, the programme also looks at a few of tomorrow’s stars to find the possible pitfalls they must avoid, including Lydia Ko and Cheyenne Woods.

 

@CNNLivingGolf
@ShaneODonoghue
cnn.com/golf/
@Lko424
@Cheyenne_Woods

 

Make, Create, Innovate

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ takes a look at the burgeoning eye laser surgery sector (Credit: Getty Images)
‘Make, Create, Innovate’ takes a look at the burgeoning eye laser surgery sector (Credit: Getty Images)
 
Thursday 9 October at 2100 BST/2200 CET
‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ tells the stories behind the inventions and technological breakthroughs that are reshaping our world, profiling pioneers in the fields of health, space exploration, telecommunications, energy, manufacturing and many more.

Nick Glass hosts ‘Make, Create, Innovate’ from Heidelberg, Germany, with a report examining changes in laser eye surgery; a burgeoning sector with thousands of operations every year.

‘Make Create Innovate’ speaks to Professor Josef Bille, the man who pioneered the use of lasers, producing groundbreaking innovations to map the eye and treat imperfections.  For over 40 years, Bille has worked on methods for correcting irregularities in the cornea, and has even had the operation done on himself first.

 

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/
Tags
CNN