CNN

August 29th, 2014

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 38 & 39

Fashion Season: Paris

fash
 
Airs in ‘International Desk’ at 1500 BST/1600 CET and 1800 BST/ 1900 CET
Wednesday 24 September
Thursday 25 September
Friday 26 September
Monday 29 September
Tuesday 30 September

In September, the world’s fashion houses gather in Paris for the Spring/Summer 2015 collections. CNN International is devoting a week of coverage around the event, sending host Myleene Klass behind-the-scenes to meet designers, models and bloggers, catching the latest fashion shows.

The series of reports will include a visit to the iconic French fashion house, Balmain, Klass speaks to its young creative director, 28 year old Olivier Rousteing, about the philosophy of the brand and his upcoming collection. Reports will also include a meeting with Etienne Russo, one of the premier fashion show producers, who, over the last 20 years, has worked with the top fashion houses in the world, including Lanvin, Miu Miu and Chanel. From the drawing board to the catwalk ‘Fashion Season: Paris’ follows Russo as he prepares for one of his biggest shows to date.

Klass will also meet the editor of Vogue China and President of LVMH in China, to discover which designers are making it big in the world’s largest luxury market. She’ll also speak to the fashion bloggers that are monetising being snapped on the streets at fashion week.

 

@KlassMyleene
cnn.com/style
 

Open Court

Teammates Roger Federer and Stan Wawrinka in February 2014 (Credit: Getty Images)
Teammates Roger Federer and Stan Wawrinka in February 2014 (Credit: Getty Images)
 
Thursday 18 September at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 20 September at 0830 BST/ 0930 CET and 2200 BST/ 2300 CET
Sunday 21 September at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 27 September at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 28 September at 0830 BST/ 0930 CET and 2200 BST/ 2300 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

This month, CNN’s monthly tennis show, ‘Open Court’ goes behind the scenes of the 103rd Davis Cup.

Programme host Pat Cash travels to Paris, for the France vs Czech Republic game and then to Geneva, Switzerland for the Switzerland vs Italy tie, to follow the tennis world’s biggest team championship to the finish.

The show reports on all the twists and turns of the ‘World Cup of Tennis’ as the likes of Roger Federer, Stan Wawrinka, Fabio Fognini, Jo Tsonga, Richard Gasquet, Tomas Berdych and Radek Stepanek compete for their countries.

 

cnn.com/tennis/
facebook.com/cnnopencourt
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash

Leading Women

Mindy Grossman and Cristeta Comerford (Credit: Getty Images)
Mindy Grossman and Cristeta Comerford (Credit: Getty Images)
 
Saturday 20 September at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Sunday 21 September at 0530 BST/ 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Wednesday 24 September at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 27 September at 0530 BST/ 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Sunday 28 September at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

‘Leading Women’ connects CNN’s audience to extraordinary women of our time. Each month, the programme meets two women at the top of their field, exploring their careers, lives and ideas.

Mindy Grossman became Chief Executive Director of e-commerce superpower, the Home Shopping Network in 2008, which, as of 2009, became one of the top 10 most trafficked digital commerce sites. She is the current holder of the 2014 ‘Fast Company’s Most Creative Person in Business’, and has been honoured with a place on the Forbes’ list, ‘Most Powerful Women in the World’, three times. Today, she oversees a retail portfolio including the HSN and Cornerstone brands that total a worth of $3.4 billion, with a shopping empire supplying everything from home furnishings to food.

In 2005, Cristeta Comerford made culinary history when she was appointed the White House Executive Chef by Laura Bush – the first female and the first minority to ever hold her post. Born in Manila, Philippines, Comerford first worked in America as a chef in Chicago and Washington DC. She was then hired by Walter Scheib, in 1995, as an assistant chef at the White House. Today, she works closely with the most well-known family in America, whether it be breakfast for four, or a state dinner with the Queen of England.

 

cnn.com/leading-women/
@CNNIwomen

Future Finance

‘Future Finance’ host Nina Dos Santos
‘Future Finance’ host Nina Dos Santos

 

Saturday 20 September at 1345 BST/ 1445 CET
Sunday 21 September at 0545 BST/ 0645 CET and 1945 BST/ 2045 CET
Wednesday 24 September at 1045 BST/ 1145 CET and 1745 BST/ 1845 CET
Saturday 27 September at 0545 BST/ 0645 CET and 1945 BST/ 2045 CET
Sunday 28 September at 1345 BST/ 1445 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

 

‘Future Finance’ showcases future trends related to the global financial system. Hosted by Nina Dos Santos, the show examines everything from a cashless society to high-speed trading, providing global insight into what’s on the horizon for consumers and businesses.

This month, the show takes a look at the ways in which money transfers are changing. Long running services like Western Union and Moneygram are being undercut by new fintech startups. One such firm, Azimo, promises to offer money transfer at a fraction of the prices of the traditional old-fashioned legacy players, saving customers millions of pounds in excess fees. Philanthropists have said that unlocking the high cost of remittances could provide a boom for developing economies.

The programme also discusses how to nurture economic talent in an uncertain economic landscape, where global growth is expected to average 3% per year for the foreseeable future, as opposed to 5% before the global economic crisis. This means that it will take 25 years for the economy to double in size – 10 years longer than it would if it was humming along at its pre-crisis rate. ‘Future Finance’ takes a look at what this means for a world where millions of people are either unemployed or struggling to make ends meet.

 

cnn.com/future-finance
@NdosSantosCNN

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Dr. Sanjay Gupta in Copenhagen, Denmark (Credit: Danielle Dellorto)
Dr. Sanjay Gupta in Copenhagen, Denmark (Credit: Danielle Dellorto)

 

Wednesday 17 September at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 20 September at 0530 BST/ 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Sunday 21 September at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Saturday 27 September at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Monday 28 September at 0530 BST/ 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

A person’s quest for happiness is much deeper that a temporary feeling of elation. It’s about achieving high level of life satisfaction. After all, feeling happy boosts a person’s mental and physical health. But what makes some people happier than others? What lessons can we learn from them?

This month, ‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ Gupta travels to Denmark – a country named the happiest in the world – to uncover the formula to achieve a high level of life satisfaction and happiness.

Gupta also examines the science of happiness. Are some people genetically hardwired to be happier than others? Can we trick our mind into being happy, even if we aren’t?

 

cnn.com/vital-signs
@drsanjaygupta
Tags
CNN