CNN

August 14th, 2014

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 36 & 37

CNN Equestrian

Jodie Kidd hosts ‘CNN Equestrian’

Jodie Kidd hosts ‘CNN Equestrian’

 
Saturday 13 September 1830 BST/ 1930 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

‘CNN Equestrian’ offers viewers an event-side seat at the world’s premier equestrian events, across the various disciplines of the FEI (Fédération Equestre Internationale) – jumping, dressage, eventing, driving, endurance, vaulting and reining  –  presented by television personality, international fashion model and equestrian expert Jodie Kidd.

In the first of four special programmes, ‘CNN Equestrian’ host Jodie Kidd travels to Caen, France, to report on all the action from the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games. Kidd interviews top competitors, and showcases the unique skill, athleticism and elegance of horse and rider teams.

 

cnn.com/equestrianism

@RealJodieKidd

The Art of Movement

CNN special correspondent Philippe Cousteau travels to Puerto Rico for ‘The Art of Movement’

CNN special correspondent Philippe Cousteau travels to Puerto Rico for ‘The Art of Movement’

 
Thursday 4 September at 0845 BST/ 0945 CET
Friday 5 September at 0545 BST/ 0645 CET
Saturday 6 September at 0730 BST/ 0830 CET and 1630 BST/1730 CET
Sunday 7 September at 1130 BST/ 1230 CET
Duration: 15 minutes
 

This month ‘The Art of Movement’ explores the many wonders of the millions of living creatures and organisms moving through our oceans every day. Some create amazing visual displays and others hold secrets that can improve human life.

CNN Special Correspondent Philippe Cousteau travels to Laguna Grande in Puerto Rico, to one of the few places on earth where parts of the ocean light up because of movement in the water – a phenomenon called ‘bioluminescence’.

The programme also examines jellyfish swimming the waters of Japan, that have the ability to live forever.

 

cnn.com/artofmovement

@pcousteau

Living Golf

American golfer Tom Watson speaks to ‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue

American golfer Tom Watson speaks to ‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue

 
Thursday 4 September at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 6 September at 0830 BST/ 0930 CET and 2200 BST/ 2300 CET
Sunday 7 September at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

This month ‘Living Golf’ previews the greatest team event in golf, the Ryder Cup.

The show begins in Louisville, Kentucky, at the PGA Championship where host Shane O’Donoghue interviews Tom Watson. The United States captain is under intense pressure to win the Cup for the US for the first time since 2008 and the programme takes a look at the media scrutiny surrounding him. ‘Living Golf’ also talks to journalists, pundits and experts to see how they think the Cup and the captain will go.

While there, O’Donoghue catches up with the man of the moment and the player no US player wants to play in Gleneagles, PGA champion Rory McIlroy.

‘Living Golf’ also studies the history of the Ryder Cup and how it all started with a friendly match between USA and Great Britain at Gleneagles in 1921.

At Wentworth, the programme catches up with two players already on their respective teams, Rickie Fowler and Martin Kaymer. They’re playing in the Gary Player Invitational Pro-Am but both are already thinking about more serious matters in late September.

The programme also studies the Gleneagles PGA Centenary course in detail, meeting ex-Ryder Cup captains, Sam Torrance and Curtis Strange, as they take us around the course and reveal where the match could be won and lost.

 
@CNNLivingGolf
@ShaneODonoghue
cnn.com/golf/
@McIlroyRory
@TomWatsonPGA

The Circuit

The Ferrari headquarters in Maranello, Italy (Credit: Getty Images)

The Ferrari headquarters in Maranello, Italy (Credit: Getty Images)

 
Saturday 6 September at 0930 BST/ 1030 CET and 1400 BST/ 1500 CET and 2030 BST/ 2130 CET
Sunday 7 September at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET
Monday 8 September at 0430 BST/ 0530 CET
Tuesday 9 September at 0630 BST/ 0730 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 
In September, ‘The Circuit’ is hosted at Ferrari’s headquarters in Maranello for an Italian special.

The programme explores the secrets behind the Italian marque’s longevity in Formula 1 including a behind the scenes tour of the Ferrari stables. ‘The Circuit’ also speaks with Team Principal Marco Mattiacci and takes a look at the logistics of Formula 1, tracking the journey of Pirelli’s tyres from their Istanbul factory to the Monza circuit.

 

cnn.com/motorsport

CNN Go

A rice field in Bali

A rice field in Bali

 
Wednesday 10 September at 1030 BST/1130 CET and 1730 BST/1830 CET
Saturday 13 September at 0530 BST/0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Sunday 14 September at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

This month ‘CNN Go’ travels to beautiful Bali. The programme goes beyond the daily tourist trail and looks at why this island has beckoned so many to its shores.

Legendary Indonesian surfer Rizal Tanjung shows ‘CNN Go’ where he first fell in love with the waves and lets the cameras get a close up look at the world famous pipe of Padang Padang.

Artist Natisa Jones shows the more mellow side of the island in Sanur and takes the programme up into the green fields of Ubud to try the famous pig dish ‘babi guling’ and gives the show an insight into Bali’s new art scene.

Chef Chris Salans from Ubud’s top restaurant, Mozaic, takes ‘CNN Go’ into the rice fields to give the programme a taste of inspiration for his menu, while sunglass designer Suki shows the cameras where the hip and beautiful hang out at Potato Head beach club.

 
cnn.com/cnngo

Make, Create, Innovate

The JET tokamak at Culham Centre (Credit: Culham Centre for Fusion Energy)

The JET tokamak at Culham Centre (Credit: Culham Centre for Fusion Energy)

 
Thursday 11 September at 2100 BST/2200 CET
‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business
 

In this ‘Make, Create, Innovate’, host Nick Glass visits the Culham Centre for Fusion Energy in Oxford, UK.

Here, scientists are creating a star as a source of potential power. They simulate the conditions you find at the centre of the Sun inside a massive donut-shaped chamber called a Tokamak (the largest in the world).

They heat the inside to 200 million degrees Celsius, pump in two types of hydrogen and at this heat and pressure the molecules slam together creating huge amounts of heat and energy. This heat is then used to heat water to create steam that will power a turbine.

The project is a tested and proven power source and the Culham Centre are now building a commercial power plant in the south of France.

 
cnn.com/make-create-innovate/

 

 
 
Tags
CNN