CNN

July 18th, 2014

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 32 & 33

The Art of Movement

NASA astronauts prepare for zero gravity
NASA astronauts prepare for zero gravity
 
Thursday 7 August at 0845 BST/ 0945 CET
Friday 8 August at 0545 BST/ 0645 CET
Saturday 9 August at 0730 BST/ 0830 CET and 1630 BST/1730 CET
Sunday 10 August at 1130 BST/ 1230 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

Returning for a new series, ‘The Art of Movement’ goes to the edge of the universe to discover the innovation and technology that has led mankind’s journey into outer space. 45 years ago, dreams became reality when the first man walked on the moon. ‘The Art of Movement’ goes back to that historic day in 1969 with astronaut Buzz Aldrin, member of the Apollo 11 crew and second man on the moon, as he gives the programme a firsthand account of how the moon felt beneath his feet.

The show visits NASA to see how the next generation of astronauts are learning to perfect their movements for some of the most challenging space missions.

‘The Art of Movement’ also looks at the dangerous beauty of the largest object in our solar system, the sun. Host Kristie Lu Stout learns how its brilliant flares and eruptions can affect daily life on Earth, and shows the programme just how giant the leap has really been.

cnn.com/artofmovement
@TheRealBuzz
@NASA
@klustout

 

Living Golf

The 17th hole at the Kingsbarn Golf Course (credit: Getty Images)
The 17th hole at the Kingsbarn Golf Course (credit: Getty Images)
 
Thursday 7 August at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 9 August at 0830 BST/ 0930 CET and 2200 BST/ 2300 CET
Sunday 10 August at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 16 August at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

This month, ‘Living Golf’ takes a road trip through the heartland of links golf, exploring where and how golf started.

Host Shane O’Donoghue meets some fascinating characters en route from architects, photographers and golf commentators, to the players and caddies themselves, with a top five of worldwide links courses.

The programme’s golf-exploration journey starts at Leith Links, a park in Edinburgh where the first golf club was founded around a 5-hole course and the first rules of golf were drawn up. O’Donoghue travels up the coast from Edinburgh to Aberdeen through the Scottish Heartlands, visiting a number of courses on the way. These stops include legendary links courses such as Leven, Lundin and Crail, as well as the relatively modern course at Kingsbarn, one of the best links courses to be built in the UK for many years.

Players such as three-time Open champion Nick Faldo tell ‘Living Golf’ how they adapted their game to master the links course, while the programme also takes a behind-the-scenes look at the much anticipated and recently released Seve Ballesteros film, speaking with the film’s producer, Stephen Evans.

 
@CNNLivingGolf
@ShaneODonoghue
@NickFaldo006
cnn.com/golf/

The Circuit

Daniel Ricciardo and Christina Macfarlane
Daniel Ricciardo and Christina Macfarlane
 
Saturday 9 August at 0930 BST/ 1030 CET and 1400 BST/ 1500 CET and 2030 BST/ 2130 CET
Sunday 10 August at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET
Monday 11 August at 0430 BST/ 0530 CET
Tuesday 12 August at 0630 BST/ 0830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

This month, ‘The Circuit’ previews the Belgian Grand Prix at the historic Spa-Francorchamps circuit, where Christina Macfarlane speaks to Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo about his very successful start to his career.

The programme also follows the making of and delivery of champagne from vineyard to circuit, where it’s tradition for the winning driver to pop the champagne on the podium.

‘The Circuit’ also explores the history of Spa-Francorchamps with Formula 1’s leading photographer Darren Heath and goes behind the scenes of the making of McLaren’s animation series, ‘Tooned’, meeting the animation team and drivers Kevin Magnussen and Jenson Button.

 
cnn.com/motorsport/
@chrissymacCNN
@KevinMagnussen
@JensonButton
@danielricciardo

 

Make, Create, Innovate

Plastics: the last frontier of recycling
Plastics: the last frontier of recycling
 
Thursday 14 August at 2100 BST/2200 CET
‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business

In this ‘Make, Create, Innovate’, Nick Glass reports from Worksop, Nottinghamshire, on the efforts to re-use plastic waste, the last frontier of recycling.

Glass meets Mike Biddle, founder of MBA Polymers, a pioneering plastics recycling company. His technology has made large-scale plastics re-use viable – thanks to a system of making high-quality plastic pellets from large, complex, mixed sources of rubbish which can then be used to make new products. The source of this rubbish can be anything from old computers to junked cars.

Biddle’s company is based in California, but the programme catches up with Biddle at his UK plant in Worksop, Nottinghamshire, to learn about the dire need to save our planet from plastic waste.

 

cnn.com/make-create-innovate/
 
 
Tags
CNN