CNN

May 22nd, 2014

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 24 & 25

Open Court

Andy Murray speaks with Christina Macfarlane

Andy Murray in conversation with Christina Macfarlane

 
Thursday 19 June at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 21 June at 0830 BST/ 0930 CET and 2200 BST/ 2300 CET
Sunday 22 June at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

This month ‘Open Court’ gears up for Wimbledon, the third Grand Slam of the season and oldest tennis tournament in the world, speaking to past and current champions.

Correspondent Christina Macfarlane (pictured, right) travels to Dunblane, Scotland, to interview the current Wimbledon men’s singles defending champion, Andy Murray (pictured, left). She visits Murray’s new hotel, the Cromlix House, and hears why he decided to get into the hotel business. There’s also time with Murray’s proud grandparents, Roy and Shirley, who can’t wait to watch their grandson defend his title.

‘Open Court’ host Pat Cash also meets four-time Grand Slam champion Maria Sharapova in Madrid, who speaks candidly about her shoulder problems, coaching change, and why she keeps playing – despite having enough money to last her and her family the rest of their lives. She looks back on her Wimbledon triumph in 2004, and talks about her parent’s influence.

Cash also meets 2001 Wimbledon champion Goran Ivanisevic for a hit and chat in London.

 
cnn.com/Open-Court
facebook.com/CNNOpenCourt
@CNNOpenCourt
@TheRealPatCash
@ChrissyMacCNN
@Andy_Murray
@MariaSharapova
@OfficialGoran
@Wimbledon
 

CNN Go

‘CNN Go’ in Amsterdam

‘CNN Go’ in Amsterdam

 
Wednesday 11 June at 1030 BST/1130 CET and 1730 BST/1830 CET
Saturday 14 June at 0530 BST/0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Sunday 15 June at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

This month, ‘CNN Go’ takes to the streets and canals of Amsterdam.

Olympic field hockey player, Floris Evers shows CNN cameras his perfect Saturday, with a stroll through the Noodermarkt; a giant slice of handmade apple pie at Winkel, and a picnic in scenic Vondelpark.

The programme also meets designer Lilian Driessen to discover the artistic side of Amsterdam, while gallery owners Diana Stigter and David Van Doesburg give the show a tour of one of the art gallery centres of the city, the Jordaan, and reveal why Foam photography museum is worth a visit.

‘CNN Go’ also indulges in Dutch food with Mark Schiefelbein from Dutchgrub.com: Dutch pancakes, French fries and beer – the complete Amsterdam street food diet.

Instragrammer Phil Yisrael also shows the programme his favorite picture perfect spots, including a horseback ride through the Amsterdam Bos park.

 
cnn.com/CNNGo
#CNNGo

The Circuit

The most successful Austrian driver of all time Niki Lauda

The most successful Austrian driver of all time, Niki Lauda

 
Saturday 14 June at 0930 BST/ 1030 CET and 1400 BST/ 1500 CET and 2030 BST/ 2130 CET
Sunday 15 June at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET
Monday 16 June at 0430 BST/ 0530 CET
Tuesday 17 June at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

‘The Circuit’ in June explores Austria’s Formula 1 heritage as the Austrian Grand Prix makes a comeback to the calendar after more than a 10 year break.

The show profiles Austria’s greatest F1 driver of all time, the three-time world champion Niki Lauda (pictured), and explores the changes made to the Red Bull Ring in preparation for hosting the grand prix, as host Amanda Davies is given a lap around the circuit.

The programme also explores how Austria’s most successful Formula One team Red Bull are laying the foundations for future dominance, by speaking with their Racing Advisor Dr Helmut Marko.

Toro Rosso team drivers Daniil Kvyat and Jean-Eric Vergne also tell ‘The Circuit’ about their hopes for replicating the success of Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo’s promotions to the first team.

 
cnn.com/The-Circuit
@AmandaJDavies
@Dany_Kvyat
@JeanEricVergne
 

Make, Create, Innovate

A new invention translates music into written score (Credit: Getty images)

An invention which translates music into written score (Credit: Getty images)

 
Thursday 19 June at 2100 BST/2200 CET
‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business

This edition of ‘Make, Create, Innovate’ reports from Sweden on the invention of a unique technology.

Launched by Swedish start-up DoReMIR Music Research, ‘Scorecloud’ is a series of programmes and apps that will instantly translate music into written score. Songs can be played, sung or hummed into a device, which directly converts them into musical notation, a ‘Google Translate’ for music of sorts. Once recorded, the melody can be played by different instruments and then shared via e-mail or social media, making it a powerful tool for musical collaboration.

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ interviews the inventor of ‘Scorecloud’, Sven Ahlback, who demonstrates his invention, and follows a group of students at the Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm as they use ScoreCloud to compose and create music.

 
cnn.com/Make-Create-Innovate
 
Tags
CNN