CNN

April 16th, 2014

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 18 & 19

Inside the Middle East

A Bedouin in the Wadi Rum desert holds an oryx, a white antelope

A Bedouin in the Wadi Rum desert holds an oryx, a white antelope

Wednesday 7 May at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 10 May at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Sunday 11 May at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

This month, ‘Inside the Middle East’ explores the “vast, echoing and God-like” desert of Wadi Rum, a stunning expanse of windswept valleys and gorges made famous 100 years ago by the visit – and subsequent writings – of British army officer T.E. Lawrence.

Wadi Rum, located near Jordan’s border with Saudi Arabia, is a world heritage site popular with tourists for its rugged natural beauty and ancient culture of resident Bedouins, nomadic shepherds who still live off the land.

‘Inside the Middle East’ explores Wadi Rum by going on patrol with the ‘Camel Corps’, a legion of Bedouin police riders who have worked with Jordan’s government for decades to maintain security and protect visitors in the desert.

The programme also discovers how Jordan’s nomadic culture is evolving, meeting three generations of Bedouins who explain their traditions and heritage through food – among them, zarb, a cooked sheep that is marinated and roasted in a large pit in the sand.

‘Inside the Middle East’ looks at the future of Wadi Rum, visiting a unique conservation project to reintroduce the Arabian oryx into the desert. The oryx, a white antelope once declared extinct, is now flourishing in the protected area.

 
@CNNIME
#CNNIME
cnn.com/InsidetheMiddleEast

Living Golf

Matteo Manassero (Credit: Getty)

Matteo Manassero (Credit: Getty)

Thursday 8 May at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 10 May at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST/ 2300 CET
Sunday 11 May at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In this month’s ‘Living Golf’ in an exclusive report, Matteo Manassero, a four-time winner on the European Tour by the age of 20, looks at why players are breaking through at a younger and younger age. Manassero is the youngest ever player to win on the European Tour and, until last year’s heroics by the 14-year-old Guan Tianlang, was the youngest ever to make the cut at The Masters, aged 16. Now 21, he speaks to those identifying and developing young talent, examining why age records keep getting broken and asking just how low they can go.

Manassero plays a round with show host Shane O’Donoghue, discussing his defence of the European Tour’s flagship BMW PGA later this month and his hopes for the rest of the season.

The programme also takes a look at the return of golf investment to the Emirates. After several years of stagnation, the Emirates is seeing a resurgence in investment in both new and old projects. ‘Living Golf’ gets access to the new Donald Trump course in Dubai, scheduled to open next year.

In the first of a brand new series of ‘Hotshots’, the most successful ever woman in the game and ten-time Major winner, Annika Sorenstam gives Shane O’Donoghue the first in a series of lessons at her academy in Florida.

 
@CNNLivingGolf
@ShaneODonoghue
@ManasseroMatteo
@ANNIKA59
Cnn.com/LivingGolf

One Square Meter

The Coliseum

The Coliseum

Tuesday 29 April at 1600 BST/ 1700 CET
One Square Meter airs Tuesdays in Global Exchange within Connect the World.

‘One Square Meter’ explores the leading architectural designs, city plans and demand for property investment in emerging markets.

This week, John Defterios visits Rome. The Italian capital welcomes over ten million tourists every year, who flock to marvel at one of the wonders of the ancient world. But Rome is groaning under the weight of a $1.23 billion debt burden and the upkeep of one of the city’s oldest tourist attractions has become crippling.

Defterios speaks with Rome’s Mayor, Ignazio Marino, about his dynamic plans to preserve all of Rome’s antiquities. A former pioneering transplant surgeon, Marino is trying to save the city’s treasures for world heritage, and in a bold move, has petitioned Italian business leaders and travelled around the world to secure international investment.

‘One Square Meter’ also meets Italian fashion mogul Diego Della Valle, owner of Tod’s Group, to discuss how he is also collaborating with the mayor in order to help protect the Coliseum.

 
cnn.com/One-Square-Meter
@JDefteriosCNN

Make, Create, Innovate

Luigi Cassar and Gian Luca Guerrini

Luigi Cassar and Gian Luca Guerrini

 
Thursday 8 May at 2100 BST/2200 CET
‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ is a science and technology series that tells the stories behind the inventions and technological breakthroughs that are reshaping our world.

This week host Nick Glass reports from Italy, where the world’s fifth largest producer of concrete, Italcementi, has developed self-cleaning concrete.

Concrete is one of the most commonly used construction materials and is a favourite among 21st Century architects due to its bright appearance and reliability. An issue they have to face, however, is the constant need to clean the concrete over time, an expensive process. This is where Luigi Cassar and his team at Italcementi stepped in. Glass meets the team that developed a concrete that can clean itself using only sunlight. A fantastic by-product of this process is that the concrete also combats pollution in the air. The concrete has been used in projects across the world, most notable the DIVES church project in Rome and the Air France HQ at Charles de Gaulle Aiport.

 
cnn.com/make-create-innovate/
@Italcementi

Human to Hero

Cafu and Sergei Baltacha

Cafu and Sergei Baltacha

As the FIFA 2014 World Cup in Rio, Brazil draws closer, ‘Human to Hero’ will profile former football legends.

‘Human to Hero’ airs within World Sport

 
Sergei Baltacha – Wednesday 30th April at 1700 BST/1800 CET and 2230 BST/2330 CET
 

Sergei Baltacha won 45 full caps while playing for his country, the former Soviet Union. After a successful run with Dynamo Kiev, making almost 300 appearances, and winning the Cup Winner’s Cup in 1986, the Soviet Top League and Soviet Cup four times, Baltacha moved on to Ipswich, becoming the first ever Russian to play in England. At International level, Baltacha won Olympic Bronze in 1980, played the 1982 World Cup in Spain and played the final against Netherlands in the European Championships in 1988.
Greeting the cameras at Charlton’s stadium ‘The Valley’, Baltacha tells ‘Human to Hero’ about the main changes from playing for the Soviet Union, as well as his club and country career.

 

Cafu – Wednesday 7 May at 1700 BST/1800 CET and 2230 BST/2330 CET

Cafu invites ‘Human to Hero’ into his home in São Paulo to talk about his beginnings as a football player in Brazil, through to his move to Europe.
Cafu made history playing for São Paulo, Roma and Milan, winning league titles with all of them, as well as winning the Champions League in 2007 with Milan. The most internationally capped male Brazilian player in history, he is also the only player to have appeared in three World Cup finals, having won two, in 1994 and 2002.
Currently an ambassador for the World Cup in Brazil, Cafu also attends to his duties as chairman of his own foundation.

 
cnn.com/human-to-hero
#HumantoHero
@officialcafu

 

Tags
CNN