April 3rd, 2014

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 16 & 17

Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta

Virginia from Haiti walks nearly two hours every day to fetch water

Vidjinia from Haiti walks nearly two hours every day to fetch water

 

Wednesday 16 April at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 19 April at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 20 April at 1330 BST / 1430 CET
Saturday 26 April at 1330 BST / 1430 CET
Sunday 27 April at 0530 BST / 0630 CET, and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

‘Vital Signs with Dr. Sanjay Gupta’ is CNN’s monthly programme which offers viewers a global look at the world of medicine, hosted by CNN’s Chief Medical Correspondent.

This month’s episode explores the story of water – both beautiful and dangerous – from the island nation of Haiti. Surrounded by water, Haiti offers scarce access to clean water for its population of nearly 10 million people, and the threat of water-borne diseases is prevalent. But the inspirational work of Haitians fighting to help their homeland is making an impact. From the capital of Port-au-Prince to remote rural villages, ‘Vital Signs’ gets a first-hand look at the determination of people searching for this precious resource.

The programme meets young girls like Vidjinia (pictured), who walk nearly two hours a day to fetch water for their families, and still make time to go to school. Dr. Sanjay Gupta also joins the heroes on the front lines using technology like reverse osmosis and chlorine purification to put the solutions to Haiti’s water crisis in the hands of those who need it most.

cnn.com/Vital-Signs

@DRSanjayGupta

Leading Women

Kathy Bloomgarden and Sarah Jessica Parker

Kathy Bloomgarden and Sarah Jessica Parker (Credit:Getty)

 
Wednesday 23 April at 1030 BST/1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 26 April at 0530 BST/0630 CET and 1930 BST/2030 CET
Sunday 27 April at 1330 BST/1430 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

This month, ‘Leading Women’ features Sarah Jessica Parker and Kathy Bloomgarden – two remarkable women who have excelled in vastly different fields.

Kathy Bloomgarden is a communications professional with over 30 years of experience with clients including Novartis, Infor, Kering, Citi, Mondelez, Microsoft and PepsiCo. Now CEO of Ruder Finn, Bloomgarden serves the global and local communication needs of over 250 corporations, governments and non-profits. Under her leadership, Ruder Finn has become one of the world’s largest privately-owned communications agencies, leading in China and on the digital market.She is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and has written the book, ‘Trust: The Secret Weapon of Effective Business Leaders’.

Starting out as a child actor in New York, Sarah Jessica Parker rose to international fame as Carrie, the lead character in HBO’s hit series ‘Sex and the City’. Parker played the character over six seasons and reprised the role in two hit movies based on the series. She has since continued to gain respect as a stage actor, movie actress and producer, appearing in several high profile films and stage plays. After developing a penchant for business while producing ‘Sex and the City’, Parker is now launching her latest venture: her own shoe range. Speaking to CNN’s Maggie Lake, the actress and entrepreneur tells ‘Leading Women’ of the fans she feels ‘honour-bound’ to in her career, and having a ‘dream job’.

cnn.com/LeadingWomen

@CNNiWomen

@MaggieLake

@SJP

@BloomgK

Open Court

World number 3, Stanislas Wawrinka (Credit: Getty)

World number 3, Stanislas Wawrinka (Credit: Getty)

 
Thursday 17 April at 1030 BST/1130 CET and 1730 BST/1830 CET
Saturday 19 April at 0830 BST/0930 CET and 2200 BST/2300 CET
Sunday 20 April at 1730 BST/1830 CET
Saturday 26 April at 1730 BST/1830 CET
Sunday 27 April at 0830 BST/0930 CET and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

April’s edition of ‘Open Court’, hosted by Pat Cash, comes from Switzerland, the small alpine country which boasts three grand slam singles champions – Roger Federer, Stan Wawrinka and Martina Hingis.

‘Open Court’ touches down in Geneva – as the Swiss team attempt to get one step closer to the Davis Cup. Cash speaks to world number 3 Stan Wawrinka, who stunned the world when he won the Australian Open in January. He’s now the number 1 player in Switzerland and would like nothing more than to win the Davis Cup for his country. ‘Open Court’ covers the Davis Cup tie and investigates how a country of hockey and winter sports fans are now filling tennis arenas.

The programme also catches up with tennis legend Martina Hingis. The grand slam champion has recently returned to the WTA tour –and is playing doubles with Wimbledon finalist Sabine Lisicki. Hingis tells ‘Open Court’ about life back on court – and her newest business venture in Barcelona.

The show also meets rising star Belinda Bencic, the Swiss 17-year-old who already has more than 10 sponsors – and recently scored big wins over two French veterans in Fed Cup play. Bencic is coached by her father at the Evert Academy in Florida – but it’s Martina Hingis’ mother who taught her to play tennis. ‘Open Court’ meets the player that 18-time grand slam champion Chris Evert says has the “X factor.”

cnn.com/OpenCourt

facebook.com/CNNOpenCourt

@CNNOpenCourt

@TheRealPatCash

@StanWawrinka

@MHingis

@Belinda_Bencic

*NEW*

The Circuit

Two-time World Champion, Fernando Alonso

Two-time World Champion, Fernando Alonso

 
Saturday 19 April at 0930 BST/ 1030 CET, 1400 BST/ 1500 CET and 2030 BST/ 2130 CET
Sunday 20 April at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET
Tuesday 22 April at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

‘The Circuit’ follows all the action of the 2014 F1 season, speaking to the sport’s biggest movers and shakers, revealing the logistics behind the world’s most popular circus and giving insight to the sport’s technical innovations.

‘The Circuit’s’ first new episode in the series is hosted from the Mercedes Headquarters in Stuttgart, Germany, and Brackley, UK. The programme meets Andy Cowell, the creator of Mercedes dominant 2014 engine, to uncover the secrets of Mercedes success in the early races.

Last year’s winner, and two-time World Champion, Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso is interviewed and talks about teammate Kimi Räikkönen, his first Grand Prix, and wanting more championships.

With the biggest rule changes in Formula 1 in a generation happening in 2014, including new engines and radical aerodynamic design changes, ‘The Circuit’ meets the Williams’ team’s technical chief, Pat Symonds and development driver, Susie Wolff, to get the lowdown on the latest changes to the F1 car.

The programme also takes a look at the economy behind F1, investigating whether Formula 1 is making money during the global downturn.

 

cnn.com/TheCircuit

@Alo_Official

@WilliamsRacing

@Susie_Wolff

Winning Post

Local traditions in Peru

Local traditions in Peru

 
Thursday 24 April at 1030 BST/1130 CET and 1730 BST/1830 CET
Saturday 26 April at 0830 BST/ 0930 CET and 2200 BST/ 2300 CET
Sunday 27 April at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Duration: 15 minutes
 

On this month’s ‘Winning Post’, CNN’s inside view of the history, logistics, cutting-edge technology and fashion of the most glamorous sport on the planet, horse-racing, host Francesca Cumani explores the long tradition of the sport and horse breeding in Latin America.

Each year, one race brings together nations, horses, jockeys, owners and trainers to battle it out for the winning prize – the Gran Premio Latinoamericano. And in 2014, the race offers for the first time the biggest prize in the region: half a million US dollars.

‘Winning Post’ shines a spotlight on host nation of Perú and their local race tracks and talks with some of the biggest names of the industry in the region. Some of the most important owners, trainers, jockeys and horses, following in the steps of champions like “Invasor”, the most famous horse from South America, are profiled.

Cumani also takes a look at the local tradition of the Peruvian Horse or Caballo Peruano de Paso, whose very distinctive smooth style of riding has captured people’s imagination and hearts not only in Perú, but across the globe.

cnn.com/WinningPost

facebook.com/WinningPost

@FrancescaCumani

Rugby Sevens Worldwide

Christina Macfarlane in Hong Kong

Christina Macfarlane in Hong Kong

 
Thursday 24 April at 1045 BST/1145 CET and 1745 BST/1845 CET
Saturday 26 April at 0845 BST/0945 CET and 2215 BST/2315 CET
Sunday 27 April at 1745 BST/1845 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

In April, ‘Rugby Sevens Worldwide’ is at the most important tournament of the season, Hong Kong Sevens, getting an inside look at the iconic tournament and speaking to some of the key people and players involved.

Host Christina Macfarlane meets Fijian rugby legend and the first Sevens Hall of Famer, Waisale Serevi, who recalls his favourite memories playing in Hong Kong while former HK Seven’s Captain Pieter Schats explains why the Hong Kong leg is far more than just a rugby tournament. Macfarlane also catches up with the President of the HK Rugby Football Union, Brian Stevenson, to learn about the history of the game and the role Hong Kong has played in establishing Sevens as one of the fastest growing sports in the world.

The programme also takes a look at the 40,000 Hong Kong Sevens fans who are an unforgettable part of the tournament with their wild and wonderful array of fancy dress costumes. Macfarlane tracks down a group of revellers on their way to the stadium for the most memorable leg of the HSBC World Series, to investigate what the connection is, between sevens rugby fans and their colourful party gear

cnn.com/Rugby-Sevens

@ChrissyMacCNN

@HSBCrugby

@Waisale_Serevi

#BRINGYOURGAME

#CNNRugby7s

Make, Create, Innovate

Host Nick Glass with the two inventors of Aquaporin technology

Host Nick Glass with the two inventors of Aquaporin technology

 
Thursday 24th April at 2100 BST/2200 CET
‘Make, Create, Innovate’ airs within Quest Means Business

‘Make, Create, Innovate’ is a fortnightly science and technology series that tells the stories behind the inventions and technological breakthroughs that are reshaping our world.

In this segment, host Nick Glass travels to Copenhagen to visit two Danish protein chemists who have developed a system to create ‘ultrapure’ water.

While clean water is key to our survival, there is a growing demand for ‘ultrapure’ water in the electronics, pharmaceutical and energy industry. In electronics, solutions with no particles in them are needed to clean tiny components such as semi-conductors or transistors, many of which now are one-hundredth of the width of a penny.

Chemists Jensen and Helix-Nielsen have developed a revolutionary new filter that allows only water molecules to pass through and nothing else. The result is ‘ultrapure water’, the market for which has exploded in the last 2-3 years to be worth an estimated $360 billion. With their new filter, the Aquaporin team hope they can satisfy the growing demand.

cnn.com/Make-Create-Innovate

Human to Hero

Swedish football player Olof Mellberg

Swedish football player Olof Mellberg

 
Wednesday 16th April at 1700 BST/1800 CET and 2230 GMT/2330 CET
Thursday 17th April at 0500 BST/0600 CET
Human to Hero’ airs within World Sport

In this week’s edition of ‘Human to Hero’, Swedish football veteran Olof Mellberg is profiled ahead of the World Cup 2014 in Brazil.

Having played the World Cup twice for the Swedish National team, Mellberg talks about his experience of playing in the 2002 World Cup in Japan, and in Germany in 2006. Mellberg reminisces about his favourite memories from the tournament, and speaks about who he thinks will win this year’s competition.

cnn.com/Human-to-Hero

#HumantoHero