CNN

March 21st, 2014

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 14 & 15

Living Golf

Masters champion Ben Crenshaw

Masters champion Ben Crenshaw

 
Thursday 3 April at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 5 April at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 6 April at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 12 April 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Sunday 13 April 0830 BST/ 0930 and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In this month’s programme, ‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue takes a roadtrip from California to Georgia to preview the first Major of the year, the US Masters in Augusta.

In California O’Donoghue meets Ben Crenshaw, who won his first of two Masters 30 years ago, and the host reminisces about the Augusta tournament with former Champions Tom Watson, Bernhard Langer, Sandy Lyle and Mark O’Meara.

Also in April, in a rare interview, O’Donoghue speaks with the man who runs the Masters, the Augusta National chairman, Billy Payne.

‘Living Golf’ also takes a look at the life and work of Alister Mackenzie, the British golf course architect who designed the Augusta National course. 2012 Champion Bubba Watson also offers some tips on improving drive.

 
@CNNLivingGolf
@ShaneODonoghue
Cnn.com/LivingGolf
 
 

Inside the Middle East

Egyptian alt-rockers ‘Cairokee’

Egyptian alt-rockers ‘Cairokee’

 
Wednesday 2 April at 1030 BST/ 1130 CET and 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 5 April at 0530 BST/ 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Sunday 6 April at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Saturday 12 April at 1330 BST/ 1430 CET
Sunday 13 April at 0530 BST/ 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

In this month’s ‘Inside the Middle East’ the show visits Egypt, Dubai and Israel.

In Egypt, Reza Sayah meets Egyptian alt-rockers Cairokee, whose song ‘Sot al Horeya’ became known as the ‘soundtrack of the revolution’ in 2011. Famously captured on video, singing about dictatorship and freedom to adoring crowds in Tahrir Square, the band is gaining fans these days – despite the fact that their lyrics support neither of Egypt’s two main political currents.

In Dubai, the programme visits an art gallery with a special mission. With more than two million refugees fleeing Syria since the outbreak of war, the gallery helps Syrian artists find a job, move their art across borders, and provide their families with visas for the UAE. The recent influx of Syrian painters – and other artists from countries with conflicts – is diversifying the Dubai art scene as well as boosting the market.

In Israel, Nic Robertson visits the resting grounds of wild birds on their annual migration from the northern to the southern hemisphere. Each year, hundreds of thousands of cranes, eagles and egrets flock to the Hula Valley, a historic midway point for migrating birds. With more than 500 species returning each year near the Sea of Galilee, northern Israel has become not just a bird watchers paradise but a place of ornithological discovery.

 

@CNNIME
@NicRobertsonCNN
@SayahCNN
cnn.com/InsidetheMiddleEast
 

CNN Go

The Navigli neighbourhood of Milan

The Navigli neighbourhood of Milan

 
Wednesday 9 April at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 12 April at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST/ 2030 CET
Sunday 13 April at 1330 BST / 1430 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

This month, ‘CNNGo’ visits Italy’s fashion capital, Milan. Home to some of the world’s greatest designers, Milan is a parade ground for Italian style but as ‘CNNGo’ reveals, there’s plenty of hidden gems in this elegant city.

Model and actress Eva Riccobono escorts the programme around Milan Fashion Week- from the catwalk of Giorgio Armani, to the top restaurants of the city’s glamorous centre.

Fashion bloggers Fillippo Fiora and Filippo Cirulli also provide insight into what the ‘Made in Italy’ trademark is all about, delving into the wonderful world of designer Piero Fornasetti and visits the workshop of Francesco Maglia, one of the world’s most exclusive umbrella makers.

Milan is not only a world renowned centre for style, but is also one of Italy’s culinary capitals. Chef and television personality Alessandro Borghese takes the programme on a culinary tour of Navigli, named for the canals that run through the historic neighbourhood.

When the sun has set, ‘CNNGo’ explores the notorious Milanese night scene with DJ Matteo Ceccarini and photographer Alan Gelati.

cnn.com/CnnGo
 

The Art of Movement

Base jumper at Chamonix Valley (credit: Getty)

Base jumper at Chamonix Valley (credit: Getty)

 
Thursday 3 April at 0845 BST/ 0945 CET
Friday 4 April at 0545 BST/ 0645 CET
Saturday 5 April at 0730 BST/ 0830 CET and 1630 BST/ 1730 CET
Sunday 6 April at 1130 BST/ 1230 CET
Saturday 12 April at 1230 BST / 1330 CET
Sunday 13 April at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 0400 BST/ 0500 CET

 

This month’s, ‘The Art of Movement’ meets the men and women who haven’t given up of the idea of human-powered flight.

In Chamonix, host Nick Glass meets ‘the fastest woman in the skies’, Ellen Brennan. Jumping off the tops of mountains, Brennan wears nothing more than a suit with bat-like wings, relying on gravity to inflate her suit and create enough lift to temporarily fly, before opening her chute to land. Nick Glass follows as Brennan attempts her most challenging jump to date and discovers how the technology of the suit is enabling longer, safer and greater movement in the air.

Glass also reports from Northampton, England where he meets David Barford, a Formula One engineer who has made racing car engines for Jenson Button and Michael Schumacher. In his garage, Barford is developing a unique human-powered plane and the cameras follow as he takes his pedal plane down the runway and, hopefully, into the skies.

 

Cnn.com/TheArtofMovement

African Start-Up

Skinny Sbu Socks (Credit: instagram.com/skinnysbusocks)

Skinny Sbu Socks (Credit: instagram.com/skinnysbusocks)

 
African Start-Up airs in Connect the World
Wednesday 9 April at 1600 BST/1700 CET

‘African Start-Up’ follows entrepreneurs in various countries across the continent to see how they are working to make their dreams become reality.

In this edition, Sibusiso Ngwenya describes how he created the definitive urban male sock brand Skinny Sbu Socks in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Ngwenya, who refers to himself as the Celebrity Sock Advisor, initially got the idea when he had difficulty finding a pair of trousers that would fit his tall frame and cover his socks. When he decided to make a fashion statement with his socks instead, the foundations for Skinny Sbu Socks were laid. Soon it seemed as if the population of Johannesburg had Ngwenya on speed-dial to provide them with fashionable socks for red carpet events.

Cnn.com/AfricanStartUp
#africanstartup

Inside Africa

Xhosa men on the Eastern Cape (Credit: Getty)

Xhosa men on the Eastern Cape (Credit: Getty)

 
Friday 4 April at 1730 BST/ 1830 CET
Saturday 5 April at 1130 BST/ 1230 CET and 1830 BST/ 1930 CET
Sunday 6 April at 0430 BST/0530 GMT and 0630 BST/0730 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

This edition of ‘Inside Africa’ explores the rich diversity of the Eastern Cape in South Africa. From the beach to the buffalo and other wildlife, the Eastern Cape Province has most of the country’s tourist attractions in one location.

The programme examines the Xhosa people, a tribe whose majority live on the Eastern Cape. The show finds out how the province inspired one Xhosa man to become a knitwear designer.

The Eastern Cape is also famous for Mohair, a luxurious textile similar to cashmere, and ‘Inside Africa’ takes a look at how it’s made.

Also, the show visits an anti-rhino poaching unit in the province, who are fighting to stop the slaughter of wildlife animals. Can the poaching war ever be won?

Cnn.com/InsideAfrica
@CNNInsideAfrica

CNN Marketplace Africa

The assembly line at the Volkswagen plant in Uitenhage (Credit: Getty)

The assembly line at the Volkswagen plant in Uitenhage (Credit: Getty)

 
Friday 4 April at 1945 BST / 2045 CET
Saturday 5 April at 0315 BST/ 0415 CET, 0615 BST/ 0715 CET and 1615 BST/ 1715 CET
Sunday 6 April at 0115 BST/ 0215 CET, 0715 BST / 0815 CET and 1615 BST/ 1715 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

In this edition of ‘Marketplace Africa’, the programme visits ‘Africa’s Detroit’: Uitenhage, in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. This car-manufacturing hub hosts global players such as Volkswagen and GM who, by operating and manufacturing in the area, are creating jobs in one of South Africa’s poorest provinces.

Whilst Africa is known for exporting raw material and importing finished goods, ‘Marketplace Africa’ explores the implications of exporting finished goods such as cars for the nation’s economic growth.

Cnn.com/MarketplaceAfrica
Tags
CNN