03:44 PM ET, October 28th, 2014

  Network Brings Magic Wall to Viewers’ Fingertips Empire State Building to Display CNN’s Election Results   With the U.S. Senate up for grabs, CNN’s Election Night in America will provide viewers with the most comprehensive coverage and up-to-the-minute election results from all the key states and races across the country and from the Election […] Full Post

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 8 and 9
CNN's Richard Quest meets a cocoa farmer from the Ivory Coast, a country which leads in the production and export of the crop (Cocoa-nomics: A CNN Freedom Project Documentary)
February 6th, 2014
12:53 PM ET

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 8 and 9

Open Court

Former number 1 tennis player Amelie Mauresmo

Former women's world number 1 tennis player Amelie Mauresmo

 
Thursday 20 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 22 February at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 23 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 1 March at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Sunday 2 March at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

This month’s ‘Open Court’ takes viewers to France – the country with more male tennis players in the ATP top 100 than all other grand slam nations combined.

In search of the answer to why France is ahead of the competition, ‘Open Court’ talks to French tennis stars Richard Gasquet, Gael Monfils and Gilles Simon on the sidelines of their Davis Cup tie in La Roche-sur-Yon. In Paris, host Pat Cash meets up with top French players on the sidelines of Marseille.

Also in the February's show, a rare interview with former women's world number 1 Amelie Mauresmo and director of the WTA Paris indoor tournament. The two-time grand slam champion tells 'Open Court' about her goals for the tournament and what it is like to attract the world’s top players. Maria Sharapova, meanwhile, talks about what it is like to compete at Mauresmo's tournament.

The programme’s French theme continues with the life and times of Rene Lactose – the 1930 tennis legend who has made a lasting impression on the fashion world. Lacoste is credited with the creation of the polo shirt and also the crocodile logo that can be seen on Lacoste merchandise to this day.

 
CNN.com/opencourt
Facebook.com/cnnopencourt
 
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash
@LACOSTE
 

Life After War

The Zaatari refugee camp on the Jordan-Syria border is home to over 125,000 people

The Zaatari refugee camp on the Jordan-Syria border is home to over 125,000 people (Courtesy: Bharati Naik)

 
Friday 21 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Saturday 22 February at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET, 1400 GMT / 1500 CET and 2130 GMT / 2230 CET
Sunday 23 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET
Monday 24 February at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET and 0830 GMT / 0930 CET
Tuesday 25 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Wednesday 26 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET
Duration: 30 Minutes

More than 400,000 Syrian refugees have fled the country since the civil war began, making the long walk to safety in Jordan, with hundreds still crossing the open desert every day. All of these displaced people pass through the Zaatari refugee camp, now a bustling community of over 125,000 residents.

In a special programme, ‘Life After War’, CNN correspondent Atika Shubert spends a week in the camp to discover how, amid the hardship and struggle, the residents of Zaatari are creating a place to call home.

Guided by Zaatari’s ‘mayor’, the UN camp coordinator Killian Kleinschmidt, Shubert visits the tents and prefabricated shelters which house the camp’s residents and workers, and takes in the market stalls, superstores and aid distribution points which service what has now technically become the fifth largest city in Jordan. Shubert speaks to a busy wedding planner and one of the camp’s oldest residents, great-grandfather Jabaari, before meeting Safah, a six-year old girl who lost her leg to government bombing in Damascus.

In ‘Life After War’ CNN gives viewers an unprecedented insight into the lives of the Syrians inhabiting one of the largest refugee camps in the world.

 
Zaatari Interactive Map
 
@AtikaCNN
 
 

Fashion Season: Paris

Host of ‘Fashion Season: Paris’, TV personality Myleene Klass (Credit: Getty)

Host of ‘Fashion Season: Paris’, TV personality Myleene Klass (Credit: Getty)

 
Reports daily in 'News Stream' and 'Connect the World'
Monday 24 February – Saturday 1 March 1300 GMT / 1400 CET and 2000 GMT / 2100 CET
 
Half-hour special
Saturday 1 March at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET and 2130 GMT / 2230 CET
Sunday 2 March at 1000 GMT / 1100 CET, 1530 GMT / 1630 CET
Monday 3 March at 0130 GMT / 0230 CET, 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 Minutes

In early spring every year Paris, arguably the style capital of the world, plays host to a week-long showcase of new fashion trends attended by crowds of designers, buyers, models and writers.

‘Fashion Season: Paris’, hosted by TV presenter and musician Myleene Klass, takes a look beyond the catwalk, meeting the characters behind the couture and exploring the business of the multi-billion pound fashion industry.

Each day throughout the week CNN will feature a different story from Paris Fashion Week. Reports include: a behind-the-scenes look at one of the most prestigious fashion schools in Paris; interviews with designers Isabel Marant and Dries Van Noten; street-style blogger Face Hunter, and the creative director of one Paris’ oldest fashion houses Balmain, Olivier Rousteing.

Viewers can keep up with all the latest from ‘Fashion Season: Paris’ on social media by following the hashtag #CNNFashion on Instagram and Twitter.

 
#CNNFashion
@KlassMyleene
@facehunter
@esmodparis
@Balmain
@DriesVanNoten
@isabelmarant
 
 
 

Rugby Sevens Worldwide

Host of this month’s ‘Rugby Sevens Worldwide’, Jonah Lomu (credit Getty)

Host of this month’s ‘Rugby Sevens Worldwide’, Jonah Lomu (Credit: Getty)

 
Thursday 27 February at 1045 GMT / 1145 CET, 1745 GMT / 1845 CET
Saturday 1 March at 0845 GMT / 0945 CET, 2215 GMT / 2315 CET
Sunday 2 March at 1745 GMT / 1845 CET
Duration: 15 Minutes

Rugby Sevens Worldwide is CNN's series bringing viewers the latest from one of the world's fastest-growing games, and newest Olympic sports, Rugby Sevens.

This month the programme comes from Wellington, New Zealand where rugby is more than a game – it’s in the blood. Guest hosted by All Blacks legend and former sevens player, Jonah Lomu, the show explores how the Kiwi’s love of rugby developed and how it has become a national obsession.

Lomu takes viewers on a guided tour of New Zealand’s capital, visiting the some of the local spots closest to his heart and those which played a special role in his development as one of the best players in the history of rugby.

Also on this edition of Rugby Sevens Worldwide is Sir Gordon Tietjens, coach of the New Zealand team and a legend in his own right, having won four gold medals in the Commonwealth Games and several IRB Sevens Titles.

 
cnn.com/rugby
@JONAHTALILOMU
 

Cocoa-nomics: A CNN Freedom Project Documentary

How far are the world’s biggest chocolate producers prepared to go to eradicate slavery from their supply chains?

How far are the world’s biggest chocolate producers prepared to go to eradicate slavery from their supply chains?

 
Thursday 27 February at 2100 GMT / 2200 CET
Friday 28 February at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET and 1030 GMT / 1130 CET
Saturday 1 March at 1400 GMT / 1500 CET and 2330 GMT / 0030 CET
Sunday 2 March at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Monday 3 March at 0100 GMT / 0200 CET, 0430 GMT / 0530 CET and 0830 GMT / 0930 CET
Wednesday 5 March at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 Minutes

Two years ago, CNN Freedom Project documentary ‘Chocolate’s Child Slaves’ exposed the plight of young Africans forced to harvest the beans that make the chocolate we eat around the world. Many of the children made to work in the cocoa plantations in countries like Ivory Coast are forced to work long hours in appalling conditions, most have never even tasted chocolate.

Now CNN host Richard Quest has returned to the plantations, with José Lopez, the Executive Vice President of Nestle, to find out if anything has changed and to see if chocolate producers are willing and able to eradicate slavery from their industry. Quest follows the supply chain, from bean to bar, examining the collective efforts to reform the cocoa industry – the fundamental socio-economic solutions needed to secure a sustainable future for cocoa farming and the chocolate industry.

As the global demand for chocolate rises, so does the threat to the supply of cocoa; this is a pivotal time in the development of the cocoa economy in West Africa – for the industry, the next generation of cocoa farmers and for chocolate lovers.

 
cnn.com/freedom
facebook.com/CNNFreedomProject
 
@CNNFreedom
@richardquest
@Nestle
#CNNFreedom
 
 

Leading Women

Goldman Sachs’ Global Head of Human Capital Management Edith Cooper (left) and the Head of Louis Dreyfus Holding, Margarita Louis-Dreyfus (right)

Goldman Sachs’ Global Head of Human Capital Management Edith Cooper (left) and the Head of Louis Dreyfus Holding, Margarita Louis-Dreyfus (right)

 
Wednesday 26 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 1 March at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 2 March at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

Each month, ‘Leading Women’ profiles two extraordinary women of our time. This edition of the programme features Edith Cooper and Margarita Louis-Dreyfus – two remarkable women who have made it to the top of their field.

After joining Goldman Sachs in 1996, Edith Cooper (pictured left) has gradually climbed the career ladder by becoming both the investment bank’s Global Head of Human Capital Management in 2008 and an Executive Vice President in 2011. She also assumed responsibilities as Vice Chair of the Partnership Committee and is a member of the Management Committee. In addition, Edith Cooper serves on the Kellogg School of Management Global Advisory Board and on the Board of Directors of the Brown University Sports Foundation.

Margarita Louis-Dreyfus (pictured right) has been Chairperson of the Supervisory Board of the Louis Dreyfus Holdings B.V. since March 2011, on which she has served since September 2007. She has also been a Member of the Supervisory Board of Louis Dreyfus Commodities Holdings B.V. since April 2011 and was appointed Deputy Chairperson in 2013. On top of that, she is founder and President of the Paris-based Louis Dreyfus Foundation.

Margarita Louis-Dreyfus was married to Robert Louis-Dreyfus, who passed away in 2009. She is the mother of three children.

 
Cnn.com/leadingwomen
 
@CNNIWomen
 
 

Cold War

South Korean infantrymen tend to their wounded fellow soldier, 1952 (credit: Getty)

South Korean infantrymen tend to their wounded fellow soldier, 1952 (Credit: Getty)

 
Saturday, 1 March at 1100 GMT / 1200 CET and 2000 GMT / 2100 CET
Sunday, 2 March at 0200 GMT / 0300 CET
Duration: 1 hour

In a year which marks the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, CNN is reairing the critically acclaimed ‘Cold War’. Narrated by Kenneth Branagh, the series gives viewers a chance to see how the nearly half-century long military and ideological conflict between the United States and the Soviet Union changed the face of Europe and continues to define our world today.

This edition retells the events of 1950 when, with Soviet military support, communist North Korea invaded US-backed South Korea, and pushed unprepared American troops back to Pusan. The UN responded by sending an expeditionary force to liberate Seoul and advance into the North. China’s leader Mao Zedong, troubled by a western incursion into the region, responded by sending Chinese troops to fight against the UN. It was the opening act of a conflict which was to last three years and cost the lives of over 2.5 million people. For the first time the Cold War had become hot.

 
www.CNN.com/ColdWar
 
#ColdWar

Topics: CNN • Press Releases
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.