12:12 AM ET, November 19th, 2014

CNN Heroes: An All Star Tribute Hosted by Anderson Cooper Airs Sunday, December 7 at 8PM ET Pen Farthing, a former Royal Marine Sergeant, who reunites soldiers with the stray dogs they befriend while serving in Afghanistan, was named the 2014 CNN Hero of the Year by Anderson Cooper at the eighth-annual CNN Heroes An All-Star […] Full Post

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 6 & 7
The rangers of the Odzala National Park, Congo patrol the Mambili River for Ivory poachers in 'Arwa Damon Investigates: Ivory War' (Credit: Brent Swails)
January 22nd, 2014
12:14 PM ET

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 6 & 7

Inside the Middle East

Sara Sidner meeting critically acclaimed Lebanese filmmaker Mahmoud Kaabour

Sara Sidner meeting critically acclaimed Lebanese filmmaker Mahmoud Kaabour

 
Wednesday 5 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 8 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 9 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET
Saturday 15 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET
Sunday 16 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Duration: 30 Minutes

 

‘Inside the Middle East’ is hosted by Sara Sidner in February and takes viewers on a trip across the United Arab Emirates.

Mention Dubai and the image usually conjured is one of exclusive hotels, expensive restaurants and air-conditioned shopping malls. This is, however, only one side of the city. Sidner and the ‘Inside the Middle East’ team visit Dubai’s rustic residential quarter where many of the men who staff these high-end ventures live. She meets Lebanese filmmaker Mahmoud Kaabour, director of the documentary ‘Champ of the Camp’, which offers a rare and touching insight into Dubai's large population of migrant workers, men who rarely get any media attention.

The programme journeys to the northern Emirates to meet a former pearl diver, who describes the gruelling challenges of the job which was once the lifeblood of this region. Whilst diving for pearls is no longer an economic necessity in the region, free diving has become a popular sport and Sidner speaks to a young Emirati who is training to become a champion.

The show also visits Liwa Oasis, located in the emirate of Abu Dhabi, where an annual 4×4 drag race draws young Emiratis, Saudis, Qataris and Kuwaitis to one of the most remote places in Arabia.

 
 
CNN.com/Insidethemiddleeast
@CNNIME
@sarasidnerCNN

 

Living Golf

The Dubai Desert Classic celebrates its 25th anniversary this year

The Dubai Desert Classic celebrates its 25th anniversary this year

 
Saturday 8 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Sunday 9 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Wednesday 12 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 GMT
Saturday 15 February at 0530 GMT/ 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 16 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

 

Living Golf this month comes from golf capital of the Middle East, Dubai. The programme takes a look at the history and highlights of the Dubai Desert Classic tournament, which this year celebrates its 25th anniversary

Host Shane O’Donoghue speaks to Henrik Stenson, the stand-out star of last year’s European and US Tours. Stenson, the first-ever joint winner of The Race To Dubai and the Fedex Cup, discusses how he overcame personal adversity to have the greatest year of his career.

Living Golf also gets a shot-making master class from Major Champion Martin Kaymer. Three times a winner on the Desert Swing and the 2010 winner of the Race to Dubai, Martin demonstrates how best to control the ball out of sand.

 
@CNNLivingGolf
@ShaneODonoghue
Cnn.com/livinggolf

 

Arwa Damon Investigates: Ivory War

The hunters become the hunted as Arwa Damon joins the rangers of the Odzala National Park, Congo on the trail of ivory poachers (Credit: Brent Swails)

The hunters become the hunted as Arwa Damon joins the rangers of the Odzala National Park, Congo on the trail of ivory poachers (Credit: Brent Swails)

 
Friday 7 February at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Saturday 8 February at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET, 1400 GMT / 1500 CET and 2130 GMT / 2230 CET
Sunday 9 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Monday 10 February at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET
Tuesday 11 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Wednesday 12 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

 

They are the new face of conservation in Congo – an elite team of 76 rangers, many former poachers themselves. They not only patrol one of the earth's last remaining Eden's, trained by hardened ex-special forces soldiers, they hunt down the poachers and ambush the traffickers.

CNN senior international correspondent Arwa Damon heads out with the rangers of Odzala National Park to investigate what's fuelling the illegal trade in Ivory. Damon discovers that the fight to save Africa's last remaining forest elephants is becoming increasingly violent and the costs are increasingly clear. The trade in ivory may be global, but out here, the fight is deeply personal.

 
@arwaCNN

 

CNN Business Traveller

Aeroflot, Russia’s national airline, is currently undergoing privitisation (Credit: Getty)

Aeroflot, Russia’s national airline, is currently undergoing privitisation (Credit: Getty)

 
Thursday 13 February at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET
Friday 14 February at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET
Saturday 15 February at 0830 GMT / 1030 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Sunday 16 February at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

 

As the world's athletes gather in Sochi for the 2014 winter games, CNN Business Traveller visits Moscow.

In the Russian capital Richard Quest visits a new heliport designed to avoid the worst of the city’s traffic, takes a communist sight-seeing tour, and tries his hands at cosmonaut training with the Russian Federal Space Agency.

It’s not all fun and distractions though, as Quest discovers a conflicted aviation industry in the world’s largest country. National carrier Aeroflot is privatising, a total lack of low-cost carriers is hindering national travel and lingering concerns over air safety continue to plague the industry. Quest talks to the CEO of Aeroflot to discover just how the landscape is changing.

Also in the programme, Rosie Tomkins discovers that Russia is now the second fastest growing outbound travel market, with cities around the world now looking for innovative ways to persuade this significant new demographic to part with their roubles.

 
http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/business.traveller
@richardquest
@RosieTomkinsCNN

 

Cold War

Following a Soviet blockade of Berlin’s American, British and French controlled sectors the western allies began dropping supplies by plane

Following a Soviet blockade of Berlin’s American, British and French controlled sectors the western allies began dropping supplies by plane


 
Saturday, 15 February at 1100 / 1200 GMT and 2000 / 2100 CET
Sunday, 16 February at 0200 GMT / 0300 CET
Duration: 1 hour

 

In a year which marks the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, CNN airs the critically acclaimed ‘Cold War’. Narrated by Kenneth Branagh series gives viewers a chance to see how the nearly half-century long military and ideological conflict between the United States and the Soviet Union changed the face of Europe and continues to define our world today.

This fourth episode of the series focuses on the chain of events which would eventually lead to the division of Germany into two nation states, one capitalist and one communist.

In the immediate aftermath of the Second World War the United States prioritised the revival of the German economy, an approach opposed by the Soviet Union. Stalin reacted to the introduction of the Deutsche Mark by closing checkpoints and blockading roads and railways leading into the French, British, and American administrated sectors of Berlin.

To keep the city from starvation, the western allies began ferrying in supplies by plane an operation which became known as the ‘Berlin Airlift’. The Soviets meanwhile orchestrated a successful putsch against the Berlin municipal government, which resulted in a separation of the eastern and western halves of the city which would last over 40 years.

 
www.CNN.com/ColdWar
#ColdWar

Topics: CNN • Press Releases
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.