CNN

January 10th, 2014

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 4 & 5

World Economic Forum at Davos 2014

CNN business anchor Richard Quest will be reporting live from the WEF in Davos

CNN business anchor Richard Quest will be reporting live from the WEF in Davos

 
Monday 21 January – Friday 25 January – Coverage throughout the day
 
Davos Debrief
Saturday 1 February at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Sunday 2 February at 1130 GMT / 1230 CET, 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Monday 3 February at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

 

The global economy will be debated, dissected and deliberated upon once again at the annual meeting of the World Economic Forum held in Davos, Switzerland. With recovery from the 2008 financial crisis beginning to gather pace, this year’s event focuses on what role economics has to play in the reshaping of global society.

CNN business correspondents Richard Quest, Nina dos Santos and John Defterios, alongside Fareed Zakaria, will deliver live daily coverage from the heart of the Swiss mountain town, which is transformed each year for the summit.

With unique access to CEOs, financiers and politicians, CNN will be posing tough questions on topics such as youth unemployment and corporate responsibility, as well as asking whether the current model for global capitalism is fit for purpose.

For all the latest on Davos, follow CNN’s correspondents on the ground

 
@richardquest
@NdosSantosCNN
@FareedZakaria
@JDefteriosCNN

African Start-up

Artist and entrepreneur Ali Omar at his handbag studio in Lamu, Kenya

Artist and entrepreneur Ali Omar at his handbag studio in Lamu, Kenya

 
Thursday 24 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Friday 25 January at 1400 GMT / 1500 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET
Saturday 26 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Sunday 27 January at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET
Monday 28 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Tuesday 29 January at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 Minutes
 
 

‘African Start-Up’ is a new segment which profiles new SMEs (small and medium size enterprises) from across Africa, discovering how entrepreneurs on the continent are working to formulate business plans, raise capital and build prosperity in their communities.

For the first time some highlights from the weekly segments have been brought together in this half-hour special.

Entrepreneurs included are: Ali Omar, who was a fisherman from the Kenyan island community of Lamu. He started a handbag company by turning his old fishing materials and whatever washes up on shore into fashionable designs. He calls his company Ali Lamu and his artisans are family members, friends and fellow fishermen. He sells the creations as his small boutique on the island mostly to tourists. In hopes of attracting a bigger clientele, the company has now put its products online and even makes custom orders.

Also in this special are Chance Tubane and her brother Patience Nduawae, who wanted to create something which would connect people in their home country of Rwanda. They started an online classified ad directory, likened to the popular western website Craigslist. Having started the venture in 2011 they now estimate they have about nine thousand visitors a day. Even though the website has been successful so far, the pair haven’t been able to generate enough money to hire office space or additional staff. ‘African Start-up’ follows Chance and Patience as they pitch their business to local investors in the city of Kigali.

http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/AFRICA/african-start-up

Open Court

Former world number one and Australian Davis Cup captain Pat Rafter (Credit: Getty)

Former world number one and Australian Davis Cup captain Pat Rafter (Credit: Getty)

 
Thursday 23 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 25 January at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 26 January at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

This month’s edition of ‘Open Court’ is presented from Melbourne, home of the first slam of the year, the Australian Open. The show takes a look at the history of the first city of Australian tennis, visiting the historic Albert Park and Kooyong Park.

‘Open Court’ host Pat Cash meets up with fellow Australian and two-time grand slam champion, Pat Rafter. The former world number one is now focused on inspiring the next generation of players – he has been the Australian team Davis Cup captain for three years. Rafter gives Cash a master class, demonstrating his attacking game and storied drop shot, whilst also talking candidly about fellow Australian tennis stars Bernard Tomic & Lleyton Hewitt.

Also in the programme, retired 2011 Australian Open champion Kim Clijsters interviews former Serbian world number one Ana Ivanovic.

 
CNN.com/opencourt
Facebook.com/cnnopencourt
 
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash
@ClijstersKim
@AnaIvanovic

Aiming for Gold

Aiming for Gold titles
 
 
Saturday 25 January at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET
Sunday 26 January at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET
Thursday 30 January at 0600 GMT / 0500 CET and 0830 GMT / 0930 CET
Friday 31 January at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

For the first time in over 30 years, the Olympic Movement returns to Russia in February 2014. Thousands of competitors will head to Sochi for the Winter Games hoping to be champions in sports including ice hockey and cross-country skiing.

CNN’s monthly programme ‘Aiming for Gold’, hosted by Amanda Davies, looks at what it takes to compete at the highest level.

With the Games fast approaching, this show comes from Bad Gestein in Austria. The resort recently hosted the parallel slalom competition – an event that will make its Olympic debut at the Sochi Games. Davies speaks to the Austrian slalom team as well as Swiss ski jumping legend Simon Ammann before catching up one of ice hockey’s all-time greats, Phil Esposito.

 
@AmandaJDavies
cnn.com/sport
@Sochi2014

Leading Women

Lawyer and human rights activist Cherie Blair (left) and Intel Corporation’s president, Renée J. James (right)

Lawyer and human rights activist Cherie Blair (left) and Intel Corporation’s president, Renée J. James (right)

 
Wednesday 29 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 1 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 2 February at 1430 GMT / 1530 CET
Duration: 15 minutes
 

‘Leading Women’ connects CNN’s audience to extraordinary women of our time. Each month, the programme meets two women at the top of their field, exploring their careers, lives and ideas.

This month, it features two remarkable business women – a leading lawyer fighting for human rights and the head of a global conglomerate.

Lawyer Cherie Blair (pictured left), wife of former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, is an active campaigner on equality and human rights. She set up the ‘Cherie Blair Foundation for Women’ in 2008 to help women build small and growing businesses in developing and emerging markets.  In addition, Blair remains closely involved with numerous charities with a special emphasis on women and children. Blair also was an Ambassador for London 2012, supporting the bid to host the Olympics in the UK and was awarded a CBE in the 2013 New Year’s Honours List for services to women’s issues and to charity in the UK and Overseas.

Renée J. James (pictured right) is president of Intel Corporation and, with the CEO, is part of the company’s two-person Executive Office. During her 25-year career at Intel, James has spearheaded the company’s strategic expansion into providing proprietary and open source software and services for applications in security, cloud-based computing, and importantly, smartphones. James also is a member of President Obama’s National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee

 
Cnn.com/leadingwomen
@CNNIWomen
@CherieBlairFndn

Rugby Sevens Worldwide

The ‘fastest man in rugby’ Carlin Isles (Credit: Getty)

The ‘fastest man in rugby’ Carlin Isles (Credit: Getty)

 
Thursday 30 January at 1045 GMT / 1145 CET, 1745 GMT / 1845 CET
Saturday 1 February at 0845 GMT / 0945 CET, 2115 GMT / 2215 CET
Sunday 2 February at 1745 GMT / 1845 CET
Duration: 15 Minutes

Rugby Sevens Worldwide is a new CNN series bringing viewers the latest from one of the world’s fastest-growing games, and newest Olympic sports, Rugby Sevens.

This month’s edition, hosted CNN’s Alex Thomas, comes from Las Vegas, as America’s ultimate party town plays host to the Sevens World Series. Fijian Waisale Serevi, renowned as one of the greatest players in the history of Rugby Sevens, tells the programme how he is working with young talent in the US to spread awareness of the sport

The fastest man in the game, former sprinter Carlin Isles, has recently announced he’s signing to the Detroit Lions. Will Carlin’s new commitment to the NFL mean that Team US be able to retain their prize asset?

The programme also asks: which is the tougher sport – Rugby or American Football? Former NFL turned rugby player Miles Craigwell compares these two high impact sports.

 
cnn.com/ rugbysevens
@AlexthomasCNN
@Carlin_Isles
@Five2Eighty

Cold War

cold war logo

 
Saturday, 1 February at 1100 / 1200 GMT and 2000 / 2100 CET
Sunday, 2 February at 0200 GMT / 0300 CET
Duration: 1 hour

 

In a year which marks the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, CNN airs the critically acclaimed ‘Cold War’. Narrated by Kenneth Branagh series gives viewers a chance to see how the nearly half-century long military and ideological conflict between the United States and the Soviet Union changed the face of Europe and continues to define our world today.

In this edition, ‘Cold War’ takes viewers on a journey through the most dramatic events between 1947 and 1952, marked by the United States providing massive grants of aid to the war-ravaged countries of Europe in the form of the Marshall Plan. Stalin, concerned that the intent of the Marshall Plan is to weaken Soviet influence in Europe, prevents countries in its orbit from participating, and establishes the rival Council for Mutual Economic Assistance.

Talking to contemporary witnesses including Vladimir Yerofeyev, Gianni Agnelli and Giulio Andreotti, the programme also reports on the 1948 coup in Czechoslovakia and how the originally Soviet Union-aligned Yugoslav leader Marshal Tito eventually switches to receiving Marshall Aid Assistance.

 
www.CNN.com/ColdWar
#ColdWar
Tags
CNN