World Sport Presents: Journey of the Gay Athlete
Speed skater, Blake Skjellerup
January 9th, 2014
08:16 AM ET

World Sport Presents: Journey of the Gay Athlete

One-hour original documentary on CNN featuring:

  • LA Galaxy footballer, Robbie Rogers
  • Phoenix Mercury basketball player, Brittney Griner
  • Speed skater, Blake Skjellerup

Character, camaraderie, integrity; attributes often touted in the world of sport. But in recent years, there’s one action that’s gradually being tested on the field and in the ring… tolerance. The topic of homosexuality and homophobia in sport seems to have run rampant among the world’s leading sporting federations.

In ‘World Sport Presents: Journey of the Gay Athlete’, a one-hour original documentary, CNN gets exclusive access to people on the frontlines fighting against homophobia in sport, to profile some of sport’s most courageous athletes and hear their stories of tackling sport's last taboo:

Professional footballer for the LA Galaxy, Robbie Rogers shares what it was like growing up gay on the pitch and delves into his greatest fears about coming out in the international world of football.

Brittney Griner, basketball player for the Phoenix Mercury, always knew she would be a professional athlete. But she didn’t always know how she to cope with being taunted and bullied as a teenager or how to navigate high school as a lesbian.

For years, speed skater Blake Skjellerup dreamed of representing New Zealand in the Olympics. To Blake, being gay meant his dream of competing on the international stage seemed almost impossible. He shares his thoughts on the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics and why he stands beside those opposing Russia’s gay propaganda laws.

‘World Sport Presents: Journey of the Gay Athlete’ can be seen at the following times on CNN International:

Saturday 11 January
0900 GMT / 1000 CET
2000 GMT / 2100 CET
 
 
Sunday 12 January
0300 GMT / 0400 CET
1100 GMT / 1200 CET

About CNN International

CNN’s portfolio of news and information services is available in five different languages across all major TV, internet and mobile platforms reaching more than 375 million households around the globe. CNN International, awarded “News Channel of the Year” by the Royal Television Society in March 2013, is the number one international TV news channel according to all major media surveys across Europe, the Middle East and Africa, the Asia Pacific region and Latin America. The CNN digital network is consistently one of the top news and current affairs destination on the web. CNN has 45 editorial offices and more than 1,100 affiliates worldwide through CNN Newsource. CNN International is part of Turner Broadcasting System, Inc., a Time Warner company.

Joel Brown, Senior Press Officer EMEA
+ 44 20 7693 0967
joel.brown@turner.com

Topics: Press Releases • World Sport
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.