December 19th, 2013

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 1,2 & 3

Inside the Middle East

Influential Cairo-based artist Ahmed Al attar

Influential Cairo-based artist Ahmed Al attar

 
Wednesday 8 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 11 January at 0630 GMT / 0730 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 12 January at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET
Saturday 18 January at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET
Sunday 19 January at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Duration: 30 Minutes

Hosted by CNN’s Leone Lakhani, this month ‘Inside the Middle East’ explores how art, music and food are all influenced by the bustling streets of Cairo, the largest city in the Middle East.

Over the past decade, a new genre of music has taken Cairo by storm. It’s called electro-chaabi, a distinctly Egyptian blend of hip hop, techno dance, and Arabic folk music. Now the genre is going mainstream, and the young Egyptians producing this music are quickly becoming stars. ‘Inside the Middle East’ meets with some of the original electro-chaabi musicians – Sadat, Alaa 50, and Amr Haha – in the impoverished outskirts of Cairo, where the sound first took root.

Cairo has had a thriving contemporary art scene for years; but since Egypt’s revolution over two years ago, there has been an explosion of new work. Lakhani meets Ahmed Al Attar, one of Egypt’s most influential artists, to learn how and why artistic expression plays such a large role in times of social and political change.

The programme also takes a taste tour of traditional Egyptian street food, from falafel to fava beans, and meets the man behind hip new Cairo café Zooba – a new gourmet concept where food cart meets a la carte.

 
http://edition.cnn.com/CNNI/Programs/middle.east/
@LeoneCNN
@CNNIME
 
 

The Art of Movement

Sir David Brailsford, manager of Team Sky has worked to revolutionise British cycling (credit: Getty)

Sir David Brailsford, manager of Team Sky has worked to revolutionise British cycling (credit: Getty)

 
Thursday 9 January at 0845 GMT / 0945 CET
Friday 10 January at 0545 GMT / 0645 CET
Saturday 11 January 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Sunday 12 January 1130 GMT / 1230 CET
Saturday 18 January 1230 GMT / 1330 CET
Sunday 19 January 0730 GMT / 0830 CET
Duration: 15 Minutes
 

In January, ‘The Art of Movement’ host Nick Glass explores world of cycling and the increasingly efficient relationship between humans and bikes. The programme talks to cycle champions about the techniques they exploit in the quest for speed, as well as the bike engineers whose aerodynamic research findings are employed to shave off those valuable seconds in both track and road events.

In Majorca, Glass joins Team Sky as they train for the 2014 cycling season, meeting the team manager Sir David Brailsford who explains how he was worked to revolutionise British cycling over the past decade. The programme also catches up with Bradley Wiggins and Chris Froome, to find out how they prepare for the Tour de France – arguably sport’s greatest endurance test.

The last two winners of the Tour’s coveted yellow jersey have ridden Pinarellos. ‘The Art of Movement’ visits the Venetian headquarters of the makers of these ultra–light carbon framed machines to find out what gives their bikes the cutting edge in this highly competitive sport.

 
cnn.com/artofmovement
@TeamSky

Living Golf

Veteran Argentinian golfer, Roberto de Vicenzo

Veteran Argentinian golfer, Roberto de Vicenzo

 

 

Thursday 9 January at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 11 January at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 12 January 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 18 January 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Sunday 19 January 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET
Duration: 30 Minutes
 

In January’s ‘Living Golf’, host Shane O’Donoghue travels to Rio De Janiero – the city which will host golf’s return to the Olympics in 2016 – where the pressure is on to build a course worthy of hosting the games’ first golf tournament in over a century.

The programme also visits Argentina, meeting the legendary Roberto de Vicenzo, now over 90 years old and arguably still the most famous South American golfer in the world. With the Open Championship returning to Hoylake in 2014, de Vicenzo relives his greatest ever triumph there in 1967 and, of course, one of the most famous scorecard mistakes in the history of the game, at the 1968 Masters Tournament.

 
cnn.com/livinggolf
@shaneodonoghue

CNN Business Traveller

Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport is home to one of the world’s largest airlines, Delta (credit: Getty)

Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport is home to one of the world’s largest airlines, Delta (credit: Getty)

 
Thursday 16 January at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET
Friday 17 January at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET
Saturday 18 January at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Sunday 19 January at 1130 GMT / 1230 CET
Duration: 30 Minutes
 

The first ‘CNN Business Traveller’ of 2014 goes behind the scenes at Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, the world’s busiest, showing viewers exactly what makes it work.

Quest takes a look at everything from pilot training to air traffic control, even attempting to land a plane, albeit from the safety of a flight simulator.

Many of the planes landing at Hartsfield-Jackson belong to one of the world’s largest airlines, Delta, based in Atlanta. The programme visits one of the company’s vast maintenance hangars, which operate 24 hours a day to keep Delta’s fleet of nearly 800 planes in the air. Delta CEO Richard Anderson tells Quest what makes Atlanta’s airport unique.

 
@RichardQuest
Cnn.com/businesstraveller
@Atlanta_Airport
@Delta