CNN

November 25th, 2013

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 50, 51 & 52

The Prize for Peace: Nobel 2013

The Nobel Prize presentation ceremony in Sweden

The Nobel Prize presentation ceremony in Sweden

Tuesday 10 December at 1600 GMT / 1700 CET

Duration: 1 hour

Every year on the anniversary of the death of Alfred Nobel, CNN focuses on peace and those who strive to achieve it through its coverage of the Nobel Peace Prize.

Since 1995, CNN’s Jonathan Mann has hosted the exclusive award interview live from Oslo, Norway, and this year he will be meeting members of the weapons watchdog, the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons, the chosen recipients of the prize. As always, the interview will air live on CNN International from Oslo Town Hall.

 @JonathanMannCNN

CNN Freedom Project: Every Day in Cambodia

Academy-award winning actress and Freedom Project advocate Mira Sorvino (left) meets a rescued victim of child sex trafficking in Cambodia

Academy-award winning actress and Freedom Project advocate Mira Sorvino (left) meets a rescued victim of child sex trafficking in Cambodia

Saturday 14 December at 0900 GMT / 1000 CET and 2000 GMT / 2100 CET

Sunday 15 December at 0200 GMT / 0300 CET and 1100 GMT / 1200 CET

Duration: 1 hour

Now in its third year, the CNN Freedom Project is a campaign aimed at ending modern-day slavery by amplifying the voices of the victims, highlighting success stories and helping unravel the criminal enterprises trading in human life.

In the Cambodian region of Sway Pak sex tourists will pay hundreds of dollars for sex with prepubescent virgins. Though the practise is illegal and the national anti-trafficking police unit is now under new, hard-line leadership, dozens of girls – some as young as five or six years old – are trafficked each day.

‘Every Day in Cambodia’ focuses on the work of American activist Don Brewster, as he campaigns for the rescue of these girls and the capture of their abusive traffickers.

Academy-award winning actress, UN Goodwill Ambassador and Freedom Project advocate Mira Sorvino visits Cambodia and beyond, speaking to Brewster and some of the survivors of the Sway Pak trafficking ring. Sorvino urges governments to prosecute those who participate or enable child sex slavery.

@CNNFreedom

@MiraSorvino

Facebook.com/CNNFreedom

cnn.com/freedom

Defining Moments 2013

Drone video reveals dramatic scale of devastation the Philippines

Drone video reveals dramatic scale of the devastation in the Philippines

Saturday 28 December 0900 GMT / 1000 CET

Sunday 29 December 1400 GMT / 1500 CET

Wednesday 1 January 0700 GMT / 0800 CET and 1300 GMT / 1400 CET and 1900 GMT / 2000 CET

Thursday 2 January 0100 GMT / 0200 CET

Duration: 1 hour

2013 has been a year of devastation, courage and triumph; from the Boston bombings, the destruction left in the wake of Typhoon Haiyan, and the courageous activism of Malala Yousafzai, CNN has witnessed every breath-taking second. In a programme dedicated to reflecting on the stories that have made this year remarkable, Becky Anderson hosts ‘Defining Moments 2013’.

As the world’s news leader and RTS News Channel of the Year, CNN has been at the frontlines of each of the year’s major news events. With unparalleled access, the network has reported quickly, accurately and impartially on stories from around the world.

2013 brought many incredible political shifts around; the global super powers flexed their muscle in unexpected ways. Christiane Amanpour sat down with a newly elected Iranian President Hassan Rouhani. Revelations of NSA phone hacking threatened to undermine long-time allies. In Egypt, the ruling president Mohammed Morsy was swept from power in the midst of a violent protest, whilst in Syria a bloody civil war rumbled into its second year.

There was also cause for optimism, as the world’s growing affection for a newly elected Pope points to an evolution for the Catholic church, and a quick glimpse of a future King captured the hearts of the world as the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge welcomed Prince George into the world.

 @BeckyCNN

Tags
CNN