Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 42 & 43
Looking out over the lush Sicilian landscape (‘Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown’)
September 27th, 2013
11:08 AM ET

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 42 & 43

Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown

Anthony Bourdain undertakes some foraging a key element of Danish cooking

Anthony Bourdain (right) undertakes some foraging a key element of Danish cooking

 
Copenhagen
Friday 11 October 1600 BST / 1700 CET
Saturday 12 October 2000 BST / 2100 CET
 
Sicily
Friday 18 October 1600 BST / 1700 CET
Saturday 19 October 2000 BST / 2100 CET
 
Duration: 1 hour

The Emmy winning ‘Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown’ continues its second series in October. ‘Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown’ follows world-renowned chef, bestselling author and award-winning broadcaster Anthony Bourdain as he visits little-known areas of the globe, celebrating their rich cultural diversity by exploring food and dining rituals.

Known for his curiosity, candour and acerbic wit, Bourdain ignores the well-trod tourist trails and takes viewers to destinations well off the beaten path.

In the fourth episode of this series, Bourdain explores the food and natural beauty of Copenhagen, the economic and cultural centre of Denmark. Home to famed chef Rene Redzepi and his brainchild Noma – regarded by critics as one of the world’s best restaurants – Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown delves into the city’s cuisine and the new Nordic creativity that is inspiring chefs the world over.

The following week, Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown explores the Sicilian way of life, which emphasises the importance of family and food. Bourdain makes his home base at the Villa Monaci, on the outskirts of Catania and meets with enthusiastic, fast-talking locals who introduce him to the best that the infamous Italian island has to offer.

Cnn.com/partsunknown
 
@CNNPartsUnknown
@Bourdain

Open Court

World number 4 David Ferrer (Credit: Getty / Sports Illustrated)

World number 4 David Ferrer (Credit: Getty / Sports Illustrated)

 
Thursday 17 October at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 19 October at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 20 October at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

 

In October’s show, ‘Open Court’ travels to the Malaysian capital of Kuala Lumpur for a show with a distinctly Asian flavour.

The world’s best men's and women's tennis players are gathered on the continent, playing in tournaments and exhibitions in Beijing, Tokyo, Bangkok, Shanghai & Kuala Lumpur. For many fans in the region it is their only opportunity to catch their favourite tennis stars in action.

Host Pat Cash catches up with word number four David Ferrer on the sidelines of the Malaysian Open. The 2013 French Open finalist is regarded as the fittest player on tour, so how will Cash cope when he meets Ferrer in the gym?

The show also meets Switzerland's Stan Wawrinka, the world number 10 who is currently having his best ever year ever on tour. How does Cash fare when faced with Wawrinka's signature one-handed backhand or his infamous bullet serve?

‘Open Court’ also stops off for some lunch, investigating nutrition on tour. Novak Djokovic swears by a gluton-free diet, but are other players following suit?

CNN.com/opencourt
Facebook.com/cnnopencourt
 
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash
 
 
 

Aiming for Gold

Aiming for Gold titles
 
 
Saturday 19 October at 1230 BST / 1330 CET
Sunday 20 October at 0730 BST / 0830 CET
Thursday 24 October at 0600 BST / 0500 CET and 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Friday 25 October at 0530 BST / 0630 CET
Saturday 26 October at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

 

For the first time in over thirty years, the Olympics return to Russia in February 2014. Thousands of competitors will head to Sochi hoping to be champions in sports including ice hockey and cross-country skiing. CNN's monthly programme ‘Aiming for Gold’, presented by Amanda Davies, looks at what it takes to compete at the highest level.

On this month’s show, Davies meets players from the formidable Chicago Blackhawks ice hockey team – looking at how close teammates will meet as deadly enemies, when they play for their respective national teams during the games.

The programme also visits the town of Maranello, home of Ferrari, to see how the world’s best-known motoring company are lending their expertise to the Italian bobsleigh team.

Also on ‘Aiming for Gold’ CNN’s Christina Macfarlane tries to stay upright and on piste, turning her hand to freestyle skiing with the British team.

CNN.com/aimingforgold

@AmandaJDavies
@chrissmacCNN
 
 
 

Leading Women

CEO of Trend Micro, Eva Chen, (left) and Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme, Helen Clark

CEO of Trend Micro, Eva Chen, (left) and Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme, Helen Clark

 
Wednesday 23 October at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 26 October at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

This month ‘Leading Women’ focuses on the two exceptional female leaders working in the fields of computer technology and international development.

Acknowledged as a ‘Woman of Vision’ by Information Security magazine, Eva Chen (pictured left) is CEO and co-founder of world-leading software security company, Trend Micro. Eva was responsible for conceptualising and delivering the Network VirusWall – a first-of-its-kind outbreak prevention appliance that protects multiple network segments and servers.

Helen Clark (pictured right) is Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme, the first woman to lead the organization. She is also the Chair of the United Nations Development Group. Previously Clark served for nine years as Prime Minister of New Zealand, serving three successive terms from 1999 to 2008, during which she engaged widely in policy development and advocacy across the international, economic, social and cultural spheres.

Cnn.com/leadingwomen
 
@CNNIWomen
@HelenClarkUNDP
 
 
 

The Gateway

A cruise ship enters Hong Kong’s Kai Tak harbour terminal (Credit: Getty / Bloomberg)

A cruise ship enters Hong Kong’s Kai Tak harbour terminal (Credit: Getty / Bloomberg)

 
Thursday 24 October 1045 BST / 1145 CET and 1745 BST / 1845 CET
Saturday 26 October at 0845 BST / 0945 CET and 2215 BST / 2315 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

 

On October’s edition of ‘The Gateway’ the programme examines Hong Kong, exploring how the ever-evolving relationship between the city and mainland China, is affecting transport in the region.

A recent report revealed that only around 64% of flights from Hong Kong flights were turned around on time. The inefficiency is blamed on an increase in air traffic from China which, it’s claimed, is pushing the airport to the limits of its capacity. ‘The Gateway’ looks at how Hong Kong is pushing for a third runway and have already begun construction on a huge midfield expansion project which, it is believed, is the key to help keep things running on time.

As Hong Kong cements its position as an essential, functioning part of China and its economy, ensuring that transport between the two is as seamless as possible has become a top priority. The programme looks at how air, bus, rail and boat services are working to make commuting between the two areas as painless as possible.

‘The Gateway’ also looks at how Hong Kong has capitalised on its position as the gateway to Asia with a new cruise ship terminal. The former Kai Tak airport, famous for its close-shave city landings, has been transformed into a cruise ship terminal and the show gets a first-hand look at this newest Hong Kong hub.

Cnn.com/gateway
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.