August 29th, 2013

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 38 & 39

Leading Women

Charity chairwomen Melinda Gates (left) and Helene Gayle (right)

Charity chairwomen Melinda Gates (left) and Helene Gayle (right)

 

Wednesday 25 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 28 September at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 29 September at 1330 BST / 1430 CET
Duration: 15 minutes
 

This month ‘Leading Women’ focuses on the chairwomen of two world-leading charitable organisations, whose humanitarian work has helped to improve lives of people around the world.

Melinda Gates (pictured left) is co-chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Along with Bill Gates, she shapes and approves the foundation’s strategies, reviews results, and sets the overall direction of the organisation.

While involved in all the organisation’s endeavours, Gates has stated that empowering women in developing countries to decide whether and when to have a child is a critical driver of her work at the foundation. In July 2012, Gates affirmed here commitment to this idea, when she announced her foundation’s goal of delivering contraceptives to 120 million women in developing countries worldwide by 2020.

Helene Gayle (pictured right) is president and CEO of CARE USA, a leading international humanitarian organization with approximately 10,000 staff, whose poverty fighting programmes reached 82 million people in 87 countries last year.

Since joining CARE in 2006, Dr. Gayle has led efforts to reinforce CARE’s commitment to empowering girls and women to bring lasting change to impoverished communities. Under her leadership, CARE has strengthened its focus on the connection between long-term poverty and the environment. Gayle has exploited CARE’s corporate and NGO partners to significantly expand the charity’s reach across the globe.

CNN.com/leadingwomen
 

Open Court

Tennis superstars Ivan Lendl, John McEnroe, Bjorn Borg, Jimmy Connors (left to right) at a No.1s ATP’s Heritage Event in New York

Tennis superstars Ivan Lendl, John McEnroe, Bjorn Borg, Jimmy Connors (left to right) at a No.1s ATP’s Heritage Event in New York

Thursday 19 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 21 September at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 22 September at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

On this month’s edition of ‘Open Court’, host Pat Cash travels stateside to wrap up the results and talk to the US Open champions.

The programme also catches up with several former number one players who attended the ATP’s Heritage Event in New York. The historic reunion features greats including Bjorn Borg, John McEnroe and Jimmy Connors as well as modern masters such as Novak Djokovic, Rafa Nadal and Lleyton Hewitt.

Arthur Ashe won the US Open in 1968 and even now, 45 years on, there are many reminders of his legacy throughout Flushing Meadows. ‘Open Court’ talks to Ashe’s widow Jeanne about her husband’s impact on the game.

Also on the programme, Taylor Townsend, one of tennis’ rising stars. She was the top ranked junior in the world a year ago and now she’s trying to make a name for herself in the adult game. ‘Open Court’ talks exclusively with Taylor & her mother, who is already seeking advice from the parents of Serena & Venus Williams.

Finally, the show attends a New York Mets baseball game with Wimbledon and US Open doubles champion Vania King as she performs her version of the American national anthem. King talks to ‘Open Court’ about her love of singing and how she manages the demands of her tennis career.

cnn.com/opencourt
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash
facebook.com/cnnopencourt

The Gateway

Ferries docking at the Port of Dover, gateway to the English Channel

Ferries docking at the Port of Dover, gateway to the English Channel

 

Thursday 26 September 1045 BST / 1145 CET and 1745 BST / 1845 CET
Saturday 28 September at 0845 BST / 0945 CET and 2215 BST / 2315 CET
Sunday 29 August at 1745 BST / 1845 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

On September’s edition of ‘The Gateway’, the programme takes a look at a short stretch of sea that represents very big business. On a typical day over 500 ships from all corners of the globe navigate the English Channel. The 21 miles (or 34 kilometres) of water separating England and France is the busiest shipping lane in the world.

Huge merchant vessels carrying every category of cargo imaginable – from iron ore to wheat, crude oil to sugar – sail amongst fishing vessels, pleasure craft and less orthodox traffic such as swimmers.

With a body of water as busy as this, it’s no wonder that the world’s very first traffic separation scheme was implemented here in 1972: this created two ‘lanes’ of traffic that ships must follow to avoid collisions on this maritime motorway. Vessels travelling north must use the French side, whilst the English side is used for travelling south.

With the help of modern technology, their progress – and any contravention – is tracked 24/7 by the Dover Channel Navigation Service. We go behind-the-scenes of their operations and get an understanding of how they enforce order in the shipping lanes.

In addition to the intensive east-west traffic, the strait is crossed by ferries linking Dover to Calais. ‘The Gateway’ goes aboard the Pride of Britain – known as the ‘Superjumbo of the English Channel’, to follow the journey that 12 million people make every year, through Europe’s busiest ferry terminal.

Edition.cnn.com/thegateway

Expedition: Sumatra

Phillipe Cousteau , host of ‘Expedition: Sumatra’, treks through the Sumatran rainforest

Phillipe Cousteau , host of ‘Expedition: Sumatra’, treks through the Sumatran rainforest

 

Saturday 21 September at 1400 BST / 1500 CET and 2130 BST / 2230 CET
Sunday 22 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Monday 23 September at 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Tuesday 24 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Wednesday 25 September at 0530 BST / 0630 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

‘Expedition: Sumatra’ follows CNN special correspondent and environmental adventurer Philippe Cousteau and his team on an unprecedented trek through the breathtaking Sumatran rainforest.

Over the last two decades, the island of Sumatra in Indonesia has lost half its rainforest, pushing endangered species and indigenous peoples to the edge of extinction. In this special series, CNN investigates the cause of this mass deforestation and examines what is at stake if its pace is not checked.

In this episode Cousteau and his team visit the Frankfurt Zoological Society’s Orangutan Centre, deep in the remote Sumatran rainforest. The centre’s staff work with endangered Sumatran orangutans from the illegal pet trade, rehabilitating the creatures and reintroducing them into the wild.

‘Expedition: Sumatra’ is a powerful and sometimes surprising series, which reveals why the carbon-absorbing rainforest of this tropical island is so important and why urgent measures must be taken to preserve it.

@pcousteau