August 14th, 2013

Preview : CNN International Programme Information Weeks 36 & 37

INDEX: Design to Improve Life

Float Beijing project being tested in China

Float Beijing project being tested in China

 
Friday 6 September at 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Saturday 7 September at 1400 BST / 1500 CET and 2130 BST /2230 CET
Sunday 8 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET
Monday 9 September at 0430 BST / 0530 CET and 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Tuesday 10 September 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Wednesday 11 September 0530 BST / 0630 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

CNN International will culminate its coverage of the INDEX awards with a special which will give an overview of the INDEX awards and highlight a range of initiatives which focus on SAVING OUR PLANET.

The biennial INDEX: Award is among the most prestigious and sought-after awards in the field of design. Awarded by INDEX: Design to Improve Life® a Danish non-profit organisation that inspires, educates and engages in designing sustainable solutions to global challenges , the awards are separated into five categories – body, work, home, play & learning and community.

Presented by CNN’s Atika Shubert, the special will feature design projects which are INDEX finalists or winner and delve into issues such as climate change, electronic waste, the environment, our health, intelligent and sustainable transport etc. The special will also focus on the bigger question surrounding design, how can it be stylish but also life-changing?

 

cnn.com/indexdesign
@indexaward
@atikaCNN
 
 
 

CNN Business Traveller

200180413-001

An example of a collaborative consumption office (credit Getty)


Thursday 12 September at 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Friday 13 September at 0530 BST/ 0630 CET
Saturday 14September 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

This month on ‘CNN Business Traveller’, Richard Quest moves in with the locals in Berlin investigating  the booming industry of ‘collaborative consumption’, and the increasing role it’s playing in business traveller’s lives.

Sharing hotels, houses, cars, bikes and offices – it’s the new way businesses are saving on expenses, and business travellers are getting a more authentic local experiences. The show speaks with the leaders of the global sharing industry, including HouseTrip, EasyNest, Love Home Swap and DriveNow to find out how this 26 billion dollar industry is set to grow, and how social media and the global financial crisis have launched a new travel revolution.

CNN’s Rosie Tomkins also explores the concept of ‘fractional ownership’ amongst the luxury yacht and private jet industries. September’s ‘Road Warrior’ is tennis superstar Serena Williams, who shares with Ayesha Durgahee how she ‘shares’ her travelling life with her hitting partner.

 

http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/business.traveller
@richardquest
@ayeshadurgahee
@serenawilliams
@RosieTomkinsCNN
 
 
 

The Art of Movement

Nick Glass interviewing two Cirque du Soleil performers

Nick Glass interviewing two Cirque du Soleil performers

 
 
Thursday 5 September at 0845 BST / 0945 CET
Friday 6 September at 0545 BST / 0645 CET
Saturday 7 September at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Saturday 14 September at 1230 BST / 1330 CET
Sunday 15 September at 0730 BST / 0830 CET
Duration: 15 minutes
 

Most people have heard about contortion, and a few have seen contortionists at work and been left open-mouthed by this combination of art, dance and gymnastics. How do these performers do it? How is it possible for a body bend in this way? This month’s ‘The Art of Movement’ searches for answers.

Going behind the scenes at two Cirque du Soleil shows in Las Vegas ‘The Art of Movement’ speaks to Mongolian contortionists, discovering the origins of the practise and looking at its popularity in the country today.

The Art of Movement’ also explores the science behind contortionism, exploring if there is something unique about the physiology of Mongolians that enables them to bend in such extraordinary ways.

 

cnn.com/artofmovement
@Cirque