03:33 PM ET, October 6th, 2014

“ROOTS: OUR JOURNEYS HOME” kicks off Sunday, October 12th, with a two-hour primetime special airing Tuesday, October 21st at 9 pm ET Storytelling is at the core of what CNN does, and in a week-long series beginning Sunday, October 12th, thirteen of the network’s prominent hosts and anchors set out on a journey to find […] Full Post

August 13th, 2013
08:25 AM ET

‘Weed: Dr. Sanjay Gupta Reports’

guptas

Once considered a more underground activity, marijuana has become increasingly popular over the years, resulting in legalisation to grow, sell and smoke it in states like Colorado and Washington. Cannabis has become one of the most controversial topics in America, but just decades ago it was a legitimate medication on U.S. formulary. No matter the circumstance, the debate over marijuana still exists and one question remains the same: is marijuana bad for you or, could it actually be good for you?

In ‘Weed’, a one hour documentary, CNN’s chief medical correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta spends nearly a year traveling the globe to shed light on the debate.

While it is part of a lifestyle for some, it is a lifeline for others including five-year-old Charlotte Figi. Charlotte suffers from a rare condition called Dravet’s syndrome, making her prone to up to 300 seizures per week. Like many people who use marijuana for medicinal purposes, parents Paige and Matt Figi tried every other option before resorting to this type of prescription. Dr. Gupta follows their journey.

Gupta takes viewers to Colorado where weed dispensaries and pot cafes have become the norm. Dealers, doctors, users – Gupta meets with various people, like the Figis, offering a raw insight to what’s been dubbed “The Green Rush.” He also talks to experts about whether marijuana can be addictive—and whether it can contribute to long-term damage in the brain.

Gupta’s final stops are in Tel Aviv and Jerusalem where he meets with some of the pioneers behind marijuana study, offering access to decades of innovative and cutting-edge research.

‘Weed: Sanjay Gupta Reports’ airs at the following times on CNN International:

Saturday 24 August 0900 BST / 1000 CET
2000 BST / 2100 CET

Sunday 25 August 0300 BST / 0400 CET
1100 BST / 1200 CET

Monday 26 August
0200 BST / 0300 CET
For more information, please contact:

Joel Brown
Senior Press Officer
CNN Europe, Middle East & Africa
Tel: + 44 20 7693 0967
joel.brown@turner.com


Topics: CNN
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.