August 2nd, 2013

Preview 2012: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 34 & 35

The City Theme Week

It is predicted that within the space of two generations seven out of ten people will live in urban areas - how will the cities of the future handle this enormous challenge? (Credit: Getty)

It is predicted that within the space of two generations seven out of ten people will live in urban areas – how will the cities of the future handle this enormous challenge? (Credit: Getty)

 
(Airs within CNN’s ‘News Stream’ and ‘Connect the World’)
19 – 23 August at 1300 BST/ 1400 CET and 2100 BST / 2200 CET
 

The current scale and pace of urbanisation is unprecedented in human history – by 2050 it is estimated that 70 per cent of the world’s population will like in cities. Cities use three quarters of the world’s energy whilst also producing two thirds of the greenhouse gases. Pressure on services, infrastructure and resources is already massive and will only continue to grow.

The need to build smarter, cleaner and healthier cities is an urgent one and CNN’s ‘The City’ investigates how the challenge is being answered around the world. In five cities around the world, Houston, Seoul, Rotterdam, Johannesburg and Rio de Janeiro, five mayors share their vision for the city of the future. These city leaders are each part of the C40 Mayors group, an organisation committed to tackling climate change.

Open Court

Billie Jean King at Wimbledon in 1982 (Credit: Getty)

Billie Jean King at Wimbledon in 1982 (Credit: Getty)

 
Thursday 22 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 24 August at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 21 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

August’s edition of ‘Open Court’ is a US Open preview special. In 2013 Novak Djokovic and Victoria Azarenka won the Australian Open, Rafa Nadal and Serena Williams won the French Open and Andy Murray and Marion Bartoli won Wimbledon. But who will prevail on the hard court? Host Pat Cash presents the show from New York where preparations are already underway.

This September marks the 40th anniversary of the historic Billie Jean King vs Bobby Riggs ‘Battle of the Sexes’ match at the US Open. King prevailed and this was a turning point in sports equality. ‘Open Court’ talks to Jean King about her incredible tennis career and the innovative new ways she is finding to help promote the sport.

Also, the programme meets up with Jim Courier and John McEnroe on court. These two legends of the game focus on the big four of men’s tennis and explain exactly why they believe Djokovic, Murray, Nadal & Federer are so tough.

The show also meets golfing great and avid tennis fan Jack Nicklaus. Cash catches up with Nicklaus on the sidelines of Wimbledon and hears how Nicklaus’ backyard courts have attracted some of the biggest names in the game and why the golf swing is very similar to the basics of tennis.

cnn.com/opencourt
facebook.com/cnnopencourt
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash
 

INDEX: Design to Improve Life® Theme Week

Xiaowei Wang (left) and Deren Guler (right), the designers of Float Beijing, digitised kites which can monitor the environment and one of the shortlisted designs for the INDEX: awards

Xiaowei Wang (left) and Deren Guler (right), the designers of Float Beijing, digitised kites which can monitor the environment – one of the shortlisted nominations for the INDEX: awards

 
(Airs within CNN’s ‘Connect the World’)
Monday 26 – 30 August at 2100 BST / 2200 CET

The biennial INDEX: Award is among the most prestigious and sought-after awards in the field of design. Awarded by INDEX: Design to Improve Life® a Danish non-profit organisation that inspires, educates and engages in designing sustainable solutions to global challenges , the awards are separated into five categories – body, work, home, play & learning and community.

Each night, CNN will feature at least one of the shortlisted finalists for the awards.

The finalists for INDEX: Award address global challenges such as the future of food, energy and the environment, mobility, habitation, healthcare initiatives – all with a focus on improving lives and a mass social impact, all over the world.

 

Leading Women

CEO and President of Campbell Soup Company Denise Morrison and CEO and President of The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America Deanna M. Mulligan

CEO and President of Campbell Soup Company Denise Morrison and CEO and President of The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America Deanna M. Mulligan

 
Wednesday 28 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 31 August at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 01 September at 1330 BST / 1430 CET
Duration: 15 minutes
 

This month ‘Leading Women’ focuses on two phenomenal women who wield immense power and influence in in two very different industries – one in the mutual life insurance industry and the other in the consumer food industry.

Denise Morrison (pictured left) is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Campbell Soup Company. The NYSE listed company, which she joined in 2003, is a global manufacturer and marketer of high-quality consumer food products. In addition to her role at Campbell Soup Company, Denise serves on the board of the Grocery Manufacturers Association and is a founding member of the Healthy Weight Commitment Foundation, an initiative of manufacturers and retailers who aim to combat obesity in not only the marketplace, but also workplaces and schools.

Deanna M. Mulligan (pictured right) is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Guardian Life Insurance Company of America which is a Fortune 300 mutual life company. She joined the company in 2008 as Executive Vice President where she was responsible for the company’s Individual Life & Disability business. In 2011 she was named Chief Executive Officer.  Mulligan holds an MBA degree from Stanford Graduate School of Business and has served on the boards of several not-for-profit organisations, including Project Renewal and the Red Cross of Greater New York.

 
CNN.com/leadingwomen
 
 
 

Winning Post

CNN sports correspondent Alex Thomas undertakes jockey training at the British Racing School, Suffolk

CNN sports correspondent Alex Thomas undertakes jockey training at the British Racing School, Suffolk

 
Thursday 29 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 31 August at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 01 September at 1530 BST / 1430 CET
Duration: 15 minutes
 

This month’s edition of ‘Winning Post’ focuses on Glorious Goodwood – the most stylish event in UK horseracing calendar. It’s not just parasols and Pimm’s though; the Sussex race meeting regularly attracts the best horses from around the world.

The showpiece race is the Group 1 Sussex Stakes which has been won for the past two years by the now-retired Frankel. This year, Dawn Approach will be attempting to cement his reputation as the best post-Frankel runner when he lines up in the same race. But is the secret to his success written in his genes? ‘Winning Post’ investigates a new genetic test that could revolutionise the way racehorses are prepared for competition.

Also running at Goodwood, in the Nassau Stakes, is 1,000 Guineas winner Sky Lantern. Host Francesca Cumani spent the morning with her trainer, Richard Hannon Sr, and his son-in-law and Sky Lantern’s jockey, Richard Hughes.

Also in the programme, CNN’s sports correspondent Alex Thomas asks what it takes to be a jockey, by going behind the scenes at the British Racing School.

facebook.com/CNNwinningpost
@francescacumani