July 19th, 2013

Preview 2012: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 32 & 33

Living Golf

US Open Champion Justin Rose. Credit: Robert Beck / Sports Illustrated

US Open Champion Justin Rose. Credit: Robert Beck / Sports Illustrated

Thursday 08 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 10 August at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 11 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 17 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Sunday 18 August at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

August’s edition of ‘Living Golf’ has an exclusive interview with US Open Champion Justin Rose, the first Englishman to claim the title since Tony Jacklin in 1970.

Rose now has a Major Championship to his name but the 24-year-old Rory McIlroy already has two. McIlroy shows ‘Living Golf’ just how he prepares for the most high-pressured tournaments in world golf.

The programme also takes a look at the Solheim Cup, the biggest and most dramatic tournament in the Women’s game. The programme is at the final qualifying event for the Solheim teams, the Women’s British Open, profiling rising star Charley Hull, who’s on the verge of becoming the youngest ever European player in Solheim history.

‘Living Golf’ also examines whether South Korea’s Inbee Park has a shot at becoming only the second player in the entire history of golf, after Bobby Jones, to win four Major championships in a year. A win at the Women’s British Open would give her that remarkable distinction.

 

cnn.com/livinggolf
@CNNlivinggolf
@ShaneODonoghue
 
 

World Sport Presents:  An Uneven Playing Field

Swimmer Nada Arakji was the first woman to represent Qatar at the Olympic Games

Swimmer Nada Arakji was the first woman to represent Qatar at the Olympic Games

 
Saturday 10 August at 0900 BST / 1000 CET and 2000 BST / 2100 CET
Sunday 11 August at 0300 BST / 0400 CET and 1100 BST / 1200 CET
Monday 12 August at 0200 BST / 0300 CET
Duration: 1 hour

At the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona, women were excluded from 35 countries’ teams, and seven Olympic sports did not include women. At the 2012 Olympics two decades later, both of these figures had declined to zero. Every sport featured both male and female competitors and as a result, the games were hailed as the ‘Women’s Games’.

One year after the London games, ‘World Sports Presents: An Uneven Playing Field’ investigates whether the promise of progress has actually been realised. In this special programme, CNN’s Amanda Davies meets with female Olympians including Sarah Attar and Nada Arakji, the first female Olympic athletes from Saudi Arabia and Qatar respectively. These sportswomen, along with others from Brazil, the UK and the US, give a first-hand account of what it means to be a female athlete competing at the highest professional level.

cnn.com/worldsport
@AmandaJDavies
@WorldSportCNN
 
 

The Art of Movement

CNN’s Christina MacFarlane receives a crash course in the workings of an F1 cockpit from test driver Marc Gene

CNN’s Christina MacFarlane receives a crash course in the workings of an F1 cockpit from test driver Marc Gene

 
Thursday 08 August at 0845 BST / 0945 CET
Friday 09 August at 0545 BST / 0645 CET 
Saturday 10 August at 0730 BST / 0830 CET andand 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Saturday 17 August at 1230 BST / 1330 CET
Sunday 18 August at 0730 BST / 0830 CET
Monday 19 August at 0400 BST/ 0500 CET
Duration: 15 minutes
 

From the visually beautiful to the technically awe-inspiring – The Art of Movement highlights the innovations in art, culture, science and technology which are helping to shape the modern world.

In August, the show focuses on the art and science behind Formula 1. The Formula 1 car is the pinnacle of motorsport design. Every one of its 80,000 components is engineered with one purpose: the pursuit of speed.

At the Goodwood Festival of Speed, CNN correspondent Christina MacFarlane explores the evolution of F1 design with 4-time F1 world champion Alain Prost, with a lesson from the Ferrari test driver Marc Genè on the control the driver has in dictating speed from the cockpit.

The programme is also taken behind the scenes at the Williams factory in Oxfordshire, England to find out how a F1 car is built and tested to optimise its performance.

cnn.com/artofmovement
@chrissymacCNN