CNN

June 21st, 2013

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 28 and 29

CNN Business Traveller

The French ‘Patrouille de France’ perform aerobatics on the last day of the International Paris Air Show 2011 Credit: PIERRE VERDY/AFP/Getty Images

The French ‘Patrouille de France’ perform aerobatics on the last day of the International Paris Air Show 2011 Credit: PIERRE VERDY/AFP/Getty Images

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 11 July at 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Friday 12 July at 0530 BST / 0630 CET
Saturday 13 July at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In July, ‘CNN Business Traveller’ is at the Paris Air Show,  finding out about the very latest in aviation technology and what the future might hold for the industry.

Host Richard Quest takes a look around the show’s shopping area, where everything from engines, wheels, ejector seats, missiles, jets, helicopters and simulators are being showcased and sold.

Also this month, Quest is at London Heathrow Airport, where a Virgin Atlantic engineer takes him on a guided tour of one of the airline’s planes, inside and out, explaining the mechanics and science behind how these huge machines work. Quest also meets Virgin Atlantic’s new CEO, Craig Kreeger, to hear about his strategy and vision for the company going forward, and the airline’s newly launched ‘Little Red’ domestic service.

‘CNN Business Traveller’ also visits the Rolls Royce engine factory in Derby, England, where they monitor all their engines currently flying in real time. And, offering a rather unusual insight in to the future of aviation, CNN’s Ayesha Durgahee looks at what’s next in the development of on-board toilets.

@RichardQuest
@AyeshaDurgahee
edition.cnn.com/businesstraveller

World’s Untold Stories: Dementia Village

CNN Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta talks to Hogeway complex residents on site

CNN Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta talks to Hogeway complex residents on site

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Friday 12 July at 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Saturday 13July at 1400 BST / 1500 CET and 2130 BST / 2230 CET
Sunday 14July at 1030 BST /1130 CST
Monday 15 July at 0430 BST / 0530 CET and 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Tuesday 16 July at 1030 BST /1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Wednesday 17 July at 0530 BST /0630 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

The residents of the Hogewey complex in Weesp, the Netherlands never know exactly where they are, but they always feel right at home. And that’s precisely the idea. The cutting-edge village, located just outside Amsterdam, was built to house elderly patients suffering from severe dementia who don’t want to live out their final years in a nursing home.

The small village has all the amenities – a grocery store, barber shop, library – just like any other village. But here, every worker is a paid professional, on site to care for the residents in their daily lives. Some staffers live in the homes, assisting residents in cooking meals, organising social events, helping them take baths. Other employees include social workers, who make daily rounds to check in on their patients.

‘World’s Untold Stories: Dementia Village’ follows CNN Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta, as he travels to the complex, to tell one of the world’s most compelling untold stories. He speaks with one of the founders at Hogewey, Yvonne van Amerongen, to get the real story of how the project got started. Gupta also spends time with village residents as they go about their day, from sunrise to sunset, engaging with them as they cook meals, socialise, and run errands.

Dementia is a growing concern around the globe. According to a new report by the World Health Organisation, the number of people suffering from dementia is expected to double by 2030 and to triple by 2050. The increase comes as governments everywhere struggle to contain the runaway costs of health care.

edition.cnn.com/CNNI/Programs/untoldstories
@drsanjaygupta

Open Court

Sara Errani of Italy plays a backhand during her Women's Singles quarter-final match against Agnieszka Radwanska at the 2013 French Open at Roland Garros in Paris, France. (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)

Sara Errani of Italy plays against Agnieszka Radwanska at the 2013 French Open at Roland Garros  (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Thursday 18 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 20 July at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 21 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

On this month’s ‘Open Court’ – the afterglow of a fortnight to remember. Andy Murray is the first British men’s singles champion to win the tennis world’s most prestigious prize since Fred Perry. The show travels to Murray’s home town of Dunblane, Scotland to talk with Judy Murray –the woman who taught Andy and his brother Jamie how to play tennis. Viewers will find out how Dunblane is reacting to his first ever Wimbledon victory; hear from the man himself, and witness the media crush that met him on the day after his historic win.

Sticking with Wimbledon, the programme meets this year’s doubles champions, Bob & Mike Bryan. ‘Open Court’ catches up with the brothers in London and is introduced to Bob’s baby daughter, Micaela, who has her own tennis twitter account! See what the toddler is tweeting and hear why she’s the Bryan Brothers secret weapon on tour.

Also on the show, 2002 Wimbledon champion Lleyton Hewitt chats with fellow Wimbledon winner, ‘Open Court’ host Pat Cash on the sidelines of The All England Club. Plus, the greatest golfer of all time, Jack Nicklaus, tells Cash why tennis is one of his favourite sports.

cnn.com/opencourt
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash
facebook.com/cnnopencourt
Tags
CNN