June 10th, 2013

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 26 and 27

A Girl’s World

AGW - credit Getty, Danita Delimont

Classroom in Kabul, Afghanistan – Credit: Getty / Danita Delimont

Starting Monday 24 June, ‘A Girl’s World’ will air in Connect the World at 2100 BST / 2200 CET; CNN Newsroom at 0600 BST / 0700 CET; CNN NewsCenter with Monita Rajpal at 1130 BST / 1230 CET 

‘A Girl’s World’ is a distinctive new series chronicling the lives of seven girls in seven regions.

The programme offers an intimate look at the unique challenges and opportunities this generation of girls face on a daily basis, exploring education, culture, environment, community, faith and family through the eyes of 16-year-old girls.

Starting 24 June, ‘A Girl’s World’ introduces seven girls from Argentina, Germany, Hong Kong, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey and the United States, all with untold – yet familiar – stories.

Equipped with handheld cameras, these girls tell their stories in their own words, providing viewers with an inside look at their motivations, obstacles and dreams. While their lives might be different, they have much in common.

‘A Girl’s World’ culminates with a special week of programming on CNN International leading up to the United Nations-declared International Day of the Girl, on 11 October.

Leading Women

LW - Tina Brown & Chanda Kochhar

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday 26 June at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 29 June at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 30 June at 1330 BST / 1430 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

This month, ‘Leading Women’ focuses on two women widely acknowledged in their industries for their intelligent innovations – one in publishing and the other in banking.

Tina Brown (pictured, left)  is a renowned journalist and editor. Under her leadership, ‘The New Yorker’, ‘Vanity Fair’ and ‘Tatler’, became the well-known publications that they are today. Credited for her concise writing style and named as 1988 Editor of the Year by Advertising Age Magazine, Brown’s management style has been likened to “an iron foot in a Manolo Blahnik pump”. Since 2010, Brown has been the editor-in-chief of The Daily Beast and Newsweek Global, exploiting her editorial nous to become a leading light in the fast-paced world of digital publishing.

Chanda Kochbar (pictured, right) is the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of ICICI Bank Limited, India’s largest private sector bank. She began her career with the company in 1984 and has since risen to the very top of the company. Throughout her time at ICICI, Kochbar has implemented numerous innovative changes to the Indian retail banking industry which have directly contributed to the company becoming a market leader. Kochbar, who is also widely acknowledged for her leadership, has been named a ‘Woman of Power’ by the Asian Business Leadership Forum and received the Padma Bhushan Award, the third highest civilian honour by the Government of India, for her services to the banking sector.

CNN.com/leadingwomen
 

Winning Post

Francesca Cumani visits Frankel in his new breeding shed home

Host Francesca Cumani visits Frankel in his new breeding shed home

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Thursday 27 June at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 29 June at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 30 June at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

Royal Ascot is arguably the world’s most recognisable race meeting, and home to enormous hats, ‘My Fair Lady’ style.  But it also brings together some of the best racing in the world, all taking place under the watchful eye of Queen Elizabeth II, who arrives every day by carriage from Windsor Castle.

In July, ‘Winning Post’ sizes up the competitors in this year’s race, which features another stellar international cast of superstars from around the globe. Those stars don’t come much bigger than 2013 Dubai World Cup champion Animal Kingdom. He will be attempting to become the first Kentucky Derby to win at Royal Ascot when he contests the Queen Anne Stakes on opening day. Last year, the focus at Queen Anne Stakes was on one horse, Frankel, but since he retired undefeated at the age of four, he’s found an even more lucrative career in the breeding shed. Host Francesca Cumani visits him in his new home.

Also this month, ‘Winning Post offers a roundup of the best action from June’s other major race meeting, the Prix de Diane.

facebook.com/CNNwinningpost
@francescacumani

Living Golf

 The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers Muirfield - venue for the 2013 Open (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)

The Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers Muirfield – venue for the 2013 Open (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 04 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 06 July at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 07 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 13 July at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Sunday 14 July at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2230 BST/ 2330 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In July, ‘Living Golf’ previews the Open Championship at Muirfield, the oldest Major in the world, this year being hosted by the oldest golf club in the world.

The programme talks to past Muirfield Open champions Ernie Els, Sir Nick Faldo and Gary Player, and looks at the unique history of the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers. ‘Living Golf’ also heads to Jersey, from which tiny island two men, Harry Vardon and Ted Ray, emerged to win Open Championships at Muirfield; Vardon going on to win five more to set a record that no player has equalled in the following century.

Nine-time Major Champion Gary Player won his first Major at Muirfield, the Open of 1959. CNN’s Errol Barnett travels with him to South Africa and gains rare access to his private stud farm to find out about his other passion beyond golf – horses, and evaluates one of the greatest careers in the game.

Also this month, ‘Living Golf’ goes behind the scenes as work starts on building a new course at the home of golf, St Andrews.  One of the developers explains why membership at one hundred thousand pounds is ‘a steal’.

cnn.com/livinggolf
@CNNlivinggolf
@ErrolCNN
@ShaneODonoghue

 

Going Green: Earth

GG - Philip Cousteau rubbish

Philippe Cousteau in Cite Soleil, one of the most impoverished neighborhoods in Haiti – CNN/Jessica Ellis

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Theme week of reports and coverage: Monday 01 July – Friday 05 July
 
30 minute special airs:
Friday 05 July at 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Saturday 06 July at 1400 BST / 1500 CET and 2130 BST / 2230 CET
Sunday 07 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET
Monday 08 July at 0430 BST / 0530 CET and 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Tuesday 09 July at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Wednesday 10 July 0530 BST / 0630 CET
 

Haiti was once called the ‘Jewel of the Caribbean’ for its thriving tropical forests. Now it is one of the most deforested nations in the world with less than two per cent of its original tree-cover remaining. For most Haitians, to think of the environment is not an option. The majority of the population still depends on trees to use as charcoal for cooking and their energy needs. The result – on average, 30 million trees are cut down each year. For a small island nation the degradation is startling but not all hope is lost.

CNN special correspondent Philippe Cousteau spends a week in Haiti for Going Green’s special feature: Earth’. From inside one of the capital’s most impoverished slums to rural farmlands out in the countryside, Cousteau follows local people proving flourishing gardens can be cultivated even in the harshest conditions and that millions of trees can be planted for profit and protection.

He discovers first-hand how Haiti’s dried up landscape not only can grow but can replenish and empower its people, people who have mostly been written-off and forgotten. For many in Haiti a greener, brighter future is in the seeds they hold, and hope is growing.

 

edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/environment/
@pcousteau