May 24th, 2013

Preview: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 24 and 25

Girl Rising *Premiere*

National Girls School of Jacmel, GIna Nemirofsky; girls; uniform. Photo provided by 10x10 Educate Girls, Change the World, © 2011

National Girls School of Jacmel, GIna Nemirofsky. Photo provided by 10×10 Educate Girls, Change the World, © 2011

Saturday 22 June at 2000 BST / 2100 CET
Sunday 23 June at 0200 BST / 0300 CET and 1400 BST / 1500 CET
Duration: 2 hours

In June CNN International premieres the critically-acclaimed film, ‘Girl Rising’. 

‘Girl Rising’, filmed before the well-known girls’ education campaigner Malala Yousafzai was shot by the Taliban on her way home from school in Pakistan’s Swat Valley, follows several girls across the globe as they pursue an education. Like Malala, these girls – who come from Afghanistan, Egypt, Ethiopia, Haiti, Nepal, Peru and Sierra Leone – fight to overcome impossible odds to realise their dreams.  

Directed by Academy Award nominee Richard E. Robbins, the two-hour film features voice performances by Academy Award winners Cate Blanchett (Haiti), Anne Hathaway (Afghanistan) and Meryl Streep (Ethiopia), in addition to Salma Hayek (Peru), Chloë Moretz (Egypt), Selena Gomez (Sierra Leone) and Kerry Washington (Nepal).  

“This film gives visual corroboration to knowledge we already have: Educating women and girls has the most optimistic, positive effects on families, communities, and economies worldwide. If to see it is to know it, this film delivers hope; reasonable, measurable, tangible hope that the world can be healed and helped to a better future!”  – Meryl Streep  

“Many women around the world continue to struggle for equality in education. I hope Girl Rising raises the visibility on a global level for this fundamental issue.” –Salma Hayek 

“I not only believe in a girl’s right to an education, but I believe in the power of storytelling through film. I’m proud to be a part of Girl Rising.” – Cate Blanchett 

Over the coming months, and leading up to the United Nations-declared International Day of the Girl, on 11 October,  CNN International continues its focus on empowering girls with the launch of a distinctive new series, ‘A Girl’s World’, chronicling the lives of seven girls in seven countries.  

@10x10act
www.CNN.com/girlrising
#girlrising
 

CNN Business Traveller

CNN's Richard Quest in Cape Town. Credit: CNN

CNN’s Richard Quest in Cape Town. Credit: CNN

Thursday 13 June at 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Friday 14 June at 0530 BST / 0630 CET
Saturday 15 June at 0730 BST / 0830 CET and 1630 BST / 1730
Duration: 30 minutes 

‘CNN Business Traveller’ is in Cape Town this June to attend the annual IATA (International Air Transport Association) aviation conference, rubbing shoulders with the aviation elite as they share their insight on the future for the industry. Host Richard Quest (pictured) will interview some of the CEOs from major global airline and find out about the state of the global industry, with a particular focus on Africa aviation, its issues and potential solutions.

Quest will be finding out about the newest low cost airline, Fastjet, when he meets the company’s CEO, Ed Winter, to discuss whether the economy air travel model can work in Africa. CNN’s Johannesburg-based anchor and correspondent, Errol Barnett, gets to try out the low cost airline.

When it comes to air travel, no continent is more cumbersome than Africa.  Getting from A to B takes more time, changes, money and patience than anywhere else. ‘CNN Business Traveller’ will offer step-by-step advice for making African business trips more efficient with information on the latest apps and the most comfortable travel clothing.

The programme’s ‘Road Warrior’ for June is Graham Hughes.  Hughes is an adventurer, a film maker and he’s also a Guinness World Record holder for being the first person to travel to every country in the world, without getting on a plane. Hughes explains how he managed to criss-cross the planet’s second largest continent – on land alone.

@RichardQuest
@RosietomkinsCNN
@MallikaCNN
edition.cnn.com/businesstraveller
  

Open Court 

Andy Murray. (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)

Andy Murray. (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)

 Thursday 20 June at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 22 June at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 23 June at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes 

In June, ‘Open Court’ previews one of the tennis calendar’s most prestigious events, the Wimbledon Championships.  The event starts on 24 June and world number 2 seed, Andy Murray (pictured), is playing for more than his first Wimbledon title this year, being focused on his best friend Ross Hutchins’. Hutchins is a professional doubles player on the ATP tour, and a Davis Cup player, who went public with the news that he was battling Hodgkin’s lymphoma. 

‘Open Court’ also checks in with Goran Ivanisevic in Zagreb, Croatia.  The game’s most famous wildcard talks about what’s keeping him busy following his retirement from professional tennis.  World number 1 doubles player Bob Bryan is responsible for a social network phenomenon.  His one year-old, Micaela, is bringing the term “networking” to a whole new level.  She has 10,000 followers on Twitter, who are eager to see her being photographed with some of the best players in the game. ‘Open Court’ reveals the story behind Ivan Lendl’s refusal to hold the “tennis Twitter baby”.

cnn.com/opencourt
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash