February 11th, 2013
07:15 AM ET

'Mozambique or Bust' – a CNN Freedom Project documentary debuts Friday, Feb. 15

Narrated by Academy Award winner Mira Sorvino

**First airs: Friday, 15 February at 1130 US/ET ** 1630 GMT ** 1730 CET**

Coming to CNN International this month, ‘Mozambique or Bust’ is an extraordinary story of how a housewife, Kimba Langas; a truck driver, Rick Youngquist; a businessman, Paul Jarzombek, and a pastor, Dave Terpstra, joined the fight against modern-day slavery in Africa with an unconventional weapon: bras.

In February 2012, the CNN Freedom Project highlighted the efforts of “Free the Girls,” a small Denver-based charity that collected donated bras in the U.S. for sex trafficking survivors to sell in the used clothing markets of Mozambique. Bras are a luxury item there, and selling them provides the survivors with a sustainable income.

When CNN first reported the story, “Free the Girls” had collected more than 20,000 bras but could not afford to ship them to Africa.  Paul Jarzombek, COO at LR International, saw the story and took action, his shipping company travelled the bras from Chicago to Maputo for free, triggering a chain reaction of additional kindness and goodwill.

‘Mozambique or Bust’ is narrated by Academy Award-winning actress Mira Sorvino, UNODC Goodwill Ambassador to Combat Human Trafficking. Through this, she promotes and participates in information and prevention campaigns to educate the general public and target audiences on human trafficking, helping disseminate information to the public about UNODC's work.

Mike McCarthy, senior vice president for programming, CNN International, said: “This is a story about how jobs and entrepreneurship can help keep vulnerable women independent as they continue their journeys away from sex trafficking.  These four people demonstrate how anyone can make a difference in the fight against human trafficking – in their own communities, or half a world away.   We are especially pleased that Mr. Jarzombek was moved to his extraordinary generosity after seeing our reports on CNN, and we’re extremely pleased that Mira Sorvino has helped us tell this story.  Her longtime commitment and understanding of the issues inform her narration in ways we hope will inspire others who see this program.”

‘Mozambique or Bust’ airs at the following times on CNN International:

Friday 15 February

1130 US ET / 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Saturday 16 February

0900 US ET / 1400 GMT / 1500 CET

1630 US ET / 2130 GMT / 2230 CET

Sunday 17 February

0530 US ET / 1030 GMT / 1130 CET

1130 US ET / 1630 GMT / 1730 CET

Monday 18 February

0330 US ET / 0830 GMT / 0930 CET

Tuesday 19 February

0530 US ET / 1030 GMT / 1130 CET

1230 US ET / 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Wednesday  20 February

0030 US ET / 0530 GMT / 0630 CET

 

About The CNN Freedom Project

Launched in 2011, the CNN Freedom Project shines light on the efforts of individuals and organisations working to fight the injustices of forced labour, sex trafficking, unauthorised organ harvesting, and other forms of human trafficking in the United States and around the world.

From debt bondage in India to sex trafficking rings in Southern California and African slaves in the Sinai dessert, the CNN Freedom Project has generated more than 300 stories of modern-day slavery from across five continents. The CNN Freedom Project relies on documentary and investigative journalism and has had a huge impact since the initiative was launched. Many notable figures have partnered with the Freedom Project since its launch, including Anil Kapoor, Demi Moore, Common, Mira Sorvino and Emmanuel Jal.

The Freedom Project blog offers resources encouraging viewers worldwide to take a stand against the organized trade in exploitation of children.

Related links:
The CNN Freedom Project blog – http://thecnnfreedomproject.blogs.cnn.com/
The CNN Freedom Project on Twitter – http://twitter.com/cnnfreedom
The CNN Freedom Project on Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/CNNFreedom

Topics: CNN • CNN Freedom Project • Press Releases
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.